Skip to content
Game DesignSchools
West Virginia University logo

West Virginia University · School of Art and Design

Game Design

Master of Arts in Game Design

Master'sMAGame DesignDedicated degreeOnline

Overview

30-credit online, asynchronous MA in Game Design with 8-week courses; half of the credits go to a thesis sequence in which each student designs and builds a playable game prototype.

Official program title
Game Design
Exact award
Master of Arts in Game Design
Source: catalog.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Discipline
Degree type
Dedicated degree
School and department
Source: catalog.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Morgantown, WVFor an online program this is where the school is based — not a residency requirement, and not proof that students in every state may enroll.
Emphasis
Studio / portfolio emphasis
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Why this program is listed

Dedicated MA in Game Design, offered online.

Source: catalog.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list dedicated game degrees and officially named game concentrations at institutionally accredited US schools. Eligibility rules

Format, length and attendance

Delivery, campus attendance, schedule and study intensity are separate facts, each shown only as the school states it. Online coursework does not by itself mean there is no residency, exhibition, internship or proctored exam.
Delivery
Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.
Source: catalog.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
No required physical attendance (verified)The institution states that the program can be completed without coming to campus.
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Class schedule
Synchronous / asynchronous not verified
Study intensity
Flexible pace
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
18-24 months; normally completed within two years
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Credits
30 credit hours
Source: catalog.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

In-person requirements as published

  • Residency Optional

    ART 608 Game Design Residency is one of two options for six elective hours (with ART 507 Focus Module Electives); format/location not stated.

    Source: catalog.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

What the school publishes about the program's game design, programming, art and production content. Tools and engines are listed only when the school names them — a program not listed as teaching Unity or Unreal may still use them, but we have not verified it.

Game Design, Game Theory and Game Production courses, a four-part thesis sequence (concept and research, design and project plan, project launch, production) and six hours chosen from the Game Design Residency or focus module electives.

Game design topics

Production and team projects

  • ART 505S Game Production: coding, game programming and audio production using multiple game engines.
    Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Capstone

  • Capstone: a functional, playable game prototype, normally by the end of year two; students defend the proposal and final prototype.
    Source: catalog.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Thesis

  • Thesis sequence: Concept & Research, Design & Project Plan, Project Launch, Production (6 credits).
    Source: catalog.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tools and engines named by the school

  • Unreal Engine or Unity Engine; Maya or Blender for 3D modeling; Figma.
    Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Academic calendar

  • Four accelerated terms per year (Early Fall, Late Fall, Early Spring, Late Spring); 8-week courses.
    Source: catalog.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published details

  • Accelerated BA in Game Design and Interactive Media / MA in Game Design (141 total hours, 9 shared).
    Source: catalog.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Hardware and software requirements

Hardware
Published high-performance system requirements: MacBook Pro M3 with 16GB memory and 512GB SSD minimum, or Windows 10 64-bit machine with 32GB memory, 14th gen Intel Core i9 or AMD Ryzen 7 or better, 512GB storage and an 8GB graphics card.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions and portfolio

Required, optional and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Portfolio

Portfolio required

Up to 5 representative samples with a total viewing duration of no longer than 60 minutes (interactive projects, game prototypes, game components, graphic imagery, virtual environments, character studies, photographs or video documentation).

Format: Submitted to the WVU School of Art & Design after the Graduate School application

Official portfolio instructions

Source: catalog.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.75 — Minimum undergraduate GPA of 2.75 (holistic review; lower GPAs considered case by case).
Source: catalog.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transfer credit
OptionalUp to nine graduate transfer credits.
Source: catalog.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose / letter of intent, 500-800 words.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation.
Source: catalog.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume/CV.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
RequiredApplication fee (amount not stated on program pages).
Source: catalog.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances. How to prepare a game design portfolio

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the intake the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and costs

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Online cost per credit hour$777per credit · academic year not printedEstimated tuition$23,310 = 30 credits × $777 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Understanding tuition and equipment costs

Scholarships, assistantships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for students at this level. “Guaranteed” only when the school says every eligible student receives it. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Scholarships guide

Program-specific funding: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and authorization

Institutional accreditation covers the school. Programmatic accreditation is shown only when it is named for this program — it is never transferred from another department or degree.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

None verified for this program. Game design degrees do not require one specific specialized accreditation.

State authorization for online students

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside West Virginia.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last checked October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.wvu.edu/graduate/collegeofcreativeartsandmedia/art/gamedesign/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. online.wvu.edu/programs/masters-degrees/game-design-ma — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Suggest an update · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and primary field. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

American University logo

American University

Game Design

Master'sMA

Master of Arts in Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: Washington, DC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus. · Full-time and part-time
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio optional
Duration: 2 years · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $2,163 per credit · All students — Graduate students, per credit hour (on-campus and most online programs) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program
New York University logo

New York University

Game Design (MFA)

Master'sMFA

Master of Fine Arts in Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: New York, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus. · Full-time
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: two years, full-time · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $41,451 per term · All students — Tisch graduate, 12 to 18 credits, per term (estimate based on 2025-2026 rate) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Full Sail University

Game Design

Master'sMS

Game Design Master of Science

Field: Game Design
Administering location: Winter Park, FLInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: 48 weeks · 41 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $35,000 entire program · All students — Online, Game Design Master of Science, program tuition (October - December 2026 table; $854 average per credit hour)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

GameDesignSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with West Virginia University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.