Skip to content
Game DesignSchools

Online Game Design Schools

This is the full directory of online game degrees we have verified — not a ranking. A program appears only when the institution itself offers the degree online. For a researched shortlist, see Top Online Game Design Schools.

Game design and game development degrees first, then related fields (programming, art, interactive media, game studies); alphabetical by school within each group. Not a ranking. What we list

Academy of Art University logo

Academy of Art University

Game Design

Bachelor'sBFAFirst-year entry

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: San Francisco, CAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio not required (stated)
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,682 per credit · International — Undergraduate, international students, per unit (Fall 2026-Summer 2027) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: January 25, 2027 · Spring 2027
View program

Champlain College

Interactive Game Design (online)

Bachelor'sBSTransfer entry

Bachelor of Science in Interactive Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: Burlington, VTInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required. · Flexible pace
Campus attendance: No required physical attendance (verified)
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: 3 years, 4 months (With 2 courses per term) · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $342 per credit · All students — Online undergraduate tuition, Fall '26 - Summer '27 · 2026-2027
Next deadline: December 29, 2026 · Spring 2027 (term A, begins Jan 11)
View program

Full Sail University

Game Design

Master'sMS

Game Design Master of Science

Field: Game Design
Administering location: Winter Park, FLInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: 48 weeks · 41 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $35,000 entire program · All students — Online, Game Design Master of Science, program tuition (October - December 2026 table; $854 average per credit hour)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Grand Canyon University logo

Grand Canyon University

Game Design

Bachelor'sBAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Arts in Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: Phoenix, AZInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $490 per credit · All students — Online
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Lindenwood University logo

Lindenwood University

Game Design (Online)

Bachelor'sBATransfer entry

Bachelor of Arts in Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: Saint Charles, MOInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.
Campus attendance: No required physical attendance (verified)
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: 4 yrs program length · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $525 per credit · All students — Online undergraduate tuition
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Lindenwood University logo

Lindenwood University

Game Design (Online)

Master'sMA

Master of Arts in Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: Saint Charles, MOInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.
Campus attendance: No required physical attendance (verified)
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: 1-2 yrs program length · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $619 per credit · All students — Online MA in Game Design
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Advancing Technology

Game Design

Bachelor'sBAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Arts in Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: Tempe, AZInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $10,300 per semester · All students — UAT-Online/Hybrid tuition, per 12-credit semester (2025-2026) · 2025-2026
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Silicon Valley logo

University of Silicon Valley

Game Design

Bachelor'sBAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Arts in Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: San Jose, CAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.
Campus attendance: No required physical attendance (verified)
Portfolio: Portfolio not required (stated)
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $674 per credit · All students — Undergraduate, online, per credit
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
West Virginia University logo

West Virginia University

Game Design

Master'sMA

Master of Arts in Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: Morgantown, WVInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required. · Flexible pace
Campus attendance: No required physical attendance (verified)
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: 18-24 months; normally completed within two years · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $777 per credit · All students — Online cost per credit hour
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Wilmington University logo

Wilmington University

Game Design and Development

Bachelor'sBSDegree completionTransfer entry

Bachelor of Science in Game Design and Development

Field: Game Design · Game Development
Administering location: New Castle, DEInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,317 per course · All students — Cost of a typical 3-credit course
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program

Full Sail University

Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science Completion Program - Game Design Concentration

Bachelor'sBSNamed concentrationDegree completion

Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science

Concentration in Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science Completion Program — Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: Winter Park, FLInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: 52 weeks · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $30,000 entire program · All students — Online, Interactive Technology BS Completion with a Game Design Concentration, program tuition (October - December 2026 table; $500 average per credit hour)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Liberty University logo

Liberty University

Information Technology (B.S.) - Gaming Design - Online

Bachelor'sBSNamed concentrationFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Science in Information Technology

Concentration in Information Technology (B.S.) — Gaming Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: Lynchburg, VAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $410 per credit · All students — Online undergraduate, full time, per credit (2026-2027) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Academy of Art University logo

Academy of Art University

Game Development

Master'sMA

Master of Arts in Game Development

Field: Game Development
Administering location: San Francisco, CAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,857 per credit · International — Graduate, international students, per unit (Fall 2026-Summer 2027) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: January 25, 2027 · Spring 2027
View program
Academy of Art University logo

Academy of Art University

Game Development

Master'sMFA

Master of Fine Arts in Game Development

Field: Game Development
Administering location: San Francisco, CAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified · 63 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,857 per credit · International — Graduate, international students, per unit (Fall 2026-Summer 2027) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: January 25, 2027 · Spring 2027
View program

Champlain College

Game Development (online)

Bachelor'sBSTransfer entry

Bachelor of Science in Game Development

Field: Game Development · Game Programming
Administering location: Burlington, VTInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required. · Flexible pace
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: 3 years, 4 months (With 2 courses per term) · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $342 per credit · All students — Online undergraduate tuition, Fall '26 - Summer '27 · 2026-2027
Next deadline: December 29, 2026 · Spring 2027 (term A, begins Jan 11)
View program
DigiPen Institute of Technology logo

DigiPen Institute of Technology

MS in Game Development (Online)

Master'sMS

Master of Science in Game Development

Field: Game Development
Administering location: Redmond, WAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required. · Part-time
Campus attendance: No required physical attendance (verified)
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: five semesters part-time · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,666 per credit · All students — Online graduate (MS in Artificial Intelligence and MS in Game Development), per credit · 2026-2027
Next deadline: November 20, 2026 · Spring 2027
View program

Full Sail University

Game Development

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Game Development Bachelor of Science

Field: Game Development · Game Programming
Administering location: Winter Park, FLInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio not required (stated)
Duration: 27 months online; 20 months on campus · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $67,000 entire program · All students — Online, Game Development Bachelor of Science, program tuition (October - December 2026 table; $558 average per credit hour)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Grand Canyon University logo

Grand Canyon University

Game Development

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Science in Game Development

Field: Game Development · Game Programming
Administering location: Phoenix, AZInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $490 per credit · All students — Online
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Savannah College of Art and Design

B.A. in game development

Bachelor'sBAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Arts in Game Development

Field: Game Development
Administering location: Savannah, GAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio not required (stated)
Duration: Duration not verified · 180 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $14,325 per term · All students — Full-time undergraduate student (3 courses, 15 hours of credit per quarter) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program

Savannah College of Art and Design

B.F.A. in game development

Bachelor'sBFAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Development

Field: Game Development
Administering location: Savannah, GAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio not required (stated)
Duration: Duration not verified · 180 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $955 per credit · All students — Undergraduate, 1 credit hour · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program

Online game design, development, programming and art

Online game degrees are not all design degrees. Each listing names its field from the official title, so you can tell a game design BA from a computer science degree with a game concentration or a game art BFA.

Online Game Design

Design-titled degrees: systems, mechanics, levels, narrative and prototyping. Online versions rely on remote playtesting and team critique; check how team projects are organized and whether any showcase or residency is in person.

12 online programs in this field · All game design degrees

Online Game Development

Development and production degrees: building games in teams across design, engineering and art. Look for the published project sequence and the engines or tools the school names.

15 online programs in this field · All game development degrees

Online Game Programming

Programming-centred degrees and computer science degrees with a named game concentration. Math and programming prerequisites matter more here; the award may be a computer science or IT degree.

8 online programs in this field · All game programming degrees

Online Game Art

2D and 3D art for games. Online students usually need capable hardware and licensed software; check whether the school provides software and what computer it requires.

6 online programs in this field · All game art degrees

What “online” means on each listing

Delivery and campus attendance are recorded separately. A program is shown as requiring no campus attendance only when the school says so; hybrid programs are not listed as online at all.

  • No required physical attendance (verified)

    The institution states that the program can be completed without coming to campus.

    8 online programs

  • Limited campus visits or residency

    Mostly remote, with required residencies, visits, exhibitions, proctored exams or an in-person internship.

    1 online program

  • Regular campus attendance

    Classes meet on campus (campus and hybrid programs).

    0 online programs

  • Not verified

    The pages we checked do not say whether on-site activity is required.

    28 online programs

Before applying, also check published hardware and software requirements, whether courses are synchronous or asynchronous, and whether the school can enroll students from your state. Hardware for online students · Online vs campus degrees

Online PhD programs

We have not verified any game-focused doctorate that can be completed online. The game doctorates in our directory are campus programs — see Game Design PhD Programs and game studies and doctoral research.

Looking for a researched shortlist instead of the full directory? See Top Online Game Design Schools or affordable online degrees by published tuition.