Affordable Online Game Design Degrees
Online game degrees whose school publishes tuition that applies to the online program, ordered from the lowest published figure within each pricing basis. Figures on different bases are never compared with each other, and tuition is not the full cost: fees, hardware, software and any required travel are extra.
Priced per credit
Lowest published per-credit rate for the online program. An estimated total is shown only when the program also publishes its credits.
| Program | Tuition | Category and year | Delivery and attendance | Compare |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Interactive Game Design (online)Champlain College · Bachelor's | $250 per creditEst. $30,000 tuition for 120 credits | Military servicemembers2026-2027 | Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.No campus attendance | |
| Information Technology (B.S.) - Gaming Design - OnlineLiberty University · Bachelor's | $250 per creditEst. $30,000 tuition for 120 credits | Online undergraduate, military rate, per credit (2026-2027)2026-2027 | Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.Attendance not verified | |
| Game Development (online)Champlain College · Bachelor's | $250 per creditEst. $30,000 tuition for 120 credits | Military servicemembers2026-2027 | Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.Attendance not verified | |
| Game DesignGrand Canyon University · Bachelor's | $490 per creditEst. $58,800 tuition for 120 credits | All students — OnlineAcademic year not printed | Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.Attendance not verified | |
| Game DevelopmentGrand Canyon University · Bachelor's | $490 per creditEst. $58,800 tuition for 120 credits | All students — OnlineAcademic year not printed | Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.Attendance not verified | |
| Game Design (Online)Lindenwood University · Bachelor's | $525 per creditEst. $63,000 tuition for 120 credits | All students — Online undergraduate tuitionAcademic year not printed | Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.No campus attendance | |
| Game Development (Arizona Online)University of Arizona · Bachelor's | $525 per creditEst. $60,375 tuition for 115 credits | All students — Arizona Online undergraduate, per creditAcademic year not printed | Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.Attendance not verified | |
| Applied Humanities: Game Studies EmphasisUniversity of Arizona · Bachelor's | $525 per creditEst. $63,000 tuition for 120 credits | All students — Arizona Online undergraduate, per creditAcademic year not printed | Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.Limited visits | |
| Game Design (Online)Lindenwood University · Master's | $619 per creditEst. $18,570 tuition for 30 credits | All students — Online MA in Game DesignAcademic year not printed | Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.No campus attendance | |
| Game DesignUniversity of Silicon Valley · Bachelor's | $674 per credit | All students — Undergraduate, online, per creditAcademic year not printed | Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.No campus attendance | |
| Game ArtUniversity of Silicon Valley · Bachelor's | $674 per credit | All students — Undergraduate, online, per creditAcademic year not printed | Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.No campus attendance | |
| Game EngineeringUniversity of Silicon Valley · Bachelor's | $674 per credit | All students — Undergraduate, online, per creditAcademic year not printed | Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.No campus attendance | |
| Game DesignWest Virginia University · Master's | $777 per creditEst. $23,310 tuition for 30 credits | All students — Online cost per credit hourAcademic year not printed | Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.No campus attendance | |
| Game Art OnlineRocky Mountain College of Art and Design · Bachelor's | $850 per credit | All students — Undergraduate, on campus + online students, Fall 2026 onward, per credit (includes semester and equipment fees)Academic year not printed | Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.Attendance not verified | |
| B.F.A. in game developmentSavannah College of Art and Design · Bachelor's | $955 per creditEst. $171,900 tuition for 180 credits | All students — Undergraduate, 1 credit hour2026-2027 | Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.Attendance not verified | |
| M.A. in interactive design and game developmentSavannah College of Art and Design · Master's | $977 per creditEst. $43,965 tuition for 45 credits | All students — Graduate, 1 credit hour2026-2027 | Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.Attendance not verified | |
| Game ProgrammingDePaul University · Master's | $1,003 per creditEst. $48,144 tuition for 48 credits | All students — Graduate, Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media, per credit hour (university table; not stated whether it applies to online study)2026-2027 | Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.Attendance not verified | |
| MS in Game Development (Online)DigiPen Institute of Technology · Master's | $1,666 per creditEst. $49,980 tuition for 30 credits | All students — Online graduate (MS in Artificial Intelligence and MS in Game Development), per credit2026-2027 | Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.No campus attendance |
Priced for the whole program
The school publishes a total for the program; check what it includes.
| Program | Tuition | Category and year | Delivery and attendance | Compare |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science Completion Program - Game Design ConcentrationFull Sail University · Bachelor's | $30,000 entire program | All students — Online, Interactive Technology BS Completion with a Game Design Concentration, program tuition (October - December 2026 table; $500 average per credit hour)Academic year not printed | Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.Attendance not verified | |
| Visual Arts Bachelor of Science Completion Program with a Concentration in Game ArtFull Sail University · Bachelor's | $30,000 entire program | All students — Online, Visual Arts BS Completion with a Game Art Concentration, program tuition (October - December 2026 table; $500 average per credit hour)Academic year not printed | Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.Attendance not verified | |
| Game DesignFull Sail University · Master's | $35,000 entire program | All students — Online, Game Design Master of Science, program tuition (October - December 2026 table; $854 average per credit hour)Academic year not printed | Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.Attendance not verified | |
| Game DevelopmentFull Sail University · Bachelor's | $67,000 entire program | All students — Online, Game Development Bachelor of Science, program tuition (October - December 2026 table; $558 average per credit hour)Academic year not printed | Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.Attendance not verified | |
| Game ArtFull Sail University · Bachelor's | $67,000 entire program | All students — Online, Game Art Bachelor of Science, program tuition (October - December 2026 table; $558 average per credit hour)Academic year not printed | Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.Attendance not verified | |
| Game DesignUniversity of Silicon Valley · Bachelor's | $87,880 entire program | All students — Full program total, BA/BS, online (program cost snapshot)Academic year not printed | Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.No campus attendance | |
| Game ArtUniversity of Silicon Valley · Bachelor's | $87,880 entire program | All students — Full program total, BA/BS, online (program cost snapshot)Academic year not printed | Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.No campus attendance | |
| Game EngineeringUniversity of Silicon Valley · Bachelor's | $87,880 entire program | All students — Full program total, BA/BS, online (program cost snapshot)Academic year not printed | Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.No campus attendance |
Priced per academic year
Annual figures; multiply by the years you need, and check whether the rate applies to online students.
| Program | Tuition | Category and year | Delivery and attendance | Compare |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science (BS), Game Systems ConcentrationDePaul University · Bachelor's | $48,180 per academic year | All students — Undergraduate, 12-18 credit hours, Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media and other colleges, 2026 admit year (university table; not stated to apply to online study)2026-2027 | Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.Attendance not verified |
Priced per term
Term lengths differ between schools; per-term figures are not comparable with per-semester figures.
| Program | Tuition | Category and year | Delivery and attendance | Compare |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| B.A. in game developmentSavannah College of Art and Design · Bachelor's | $14,325 per term | All students — Full-time undergraduate student (3 courses, 15 hours of credit per quarter)2026-2027 | Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.Attendance not verified | |
| B.F.A. in game developmentSavannah College of Art and Design · Bachelor's | $14,325 per term | All students — Full-time undergraduate student (3 courses, 15 hours of credit per quarter)2026-2027 | Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.Attendance not verified | |
| M.A. in interactive design and game developmentSavannah College of Art and Design · Master's | $14,655 per term | All students — Full-time graduate student (3 courses, 15 hours of credit per quarter)2026-2027 | Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.Attendance not verified | |
| M.F.A. in interactive design and game developmentSavannah College of Art and Design · Master's | $14,655 per term | All students — Full-time graduate student (3 courses, 15 hours of credit per quarter)2026-2027 | Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.Attendance not verified |
6 other online programs in the directory do not publish online tuition on the pages we checked and are not shown here. All online game design schools