Skip to content
Game DesignSchools

Online Game Design Master's Programs

MA, MS, MFA and other master's degrees focused on games — studio and portfolio programs as well as research-oriented degrees — with the exact award, admission materials, tuition basis and any campus requirements. This page lists only the versions offered online — hybrid programs are excluded, and every listing shows what is known about campus attendance.

Game design and game development degrees first, then related fields (programming, art, interactive media, game studies); alphabetical by school within each group. Not a ranking. What we list

Full Sail University

Game Design

Master'sMS

Game Design Master of Science

Field: Game Design
Administering location: Winter Park, FLInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: 48 weeks · 41 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $35,000 entire program · All students — Online, Game Design Master of Science, program tuition (October - December 2026 table; $854 average per credit hour)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Lindenwood University logo

Lindenwood University

Game Design (Online)

Master'sMA

Master of Arts in Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: Saint Charles, MOInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.
Campus attendance: No required physical attendance (verified)
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: 1-2 yrs program length · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $619 per credit · All students — Online MA in Game Design
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
West Virginia University logo

West Virginia University

Game Design

Master'sMA

Master of Arts in Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: Morgantown, WVInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required. · Flexible pace
Campus attendance: No required physical attendance (verified)
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: 18-24 months; normally completed within two years · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $777 per credit · All students — Online cost per credit hour
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Academy of Art University logo

Academy of Art University

Game Development

Master'sMA

Master of Arts in Game Development

Field: Game Development
Administering location: San Francisco, CAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,857 per credit · International — Graduate, international students, per unit (Fall 2026-Summer 2027) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: January 25, 2027 · Spring 2027
View program
Academy of Art University logo

Academy of Art University

Game Development

Master'sMFA

Master of Fine Arts in Game Development

Field: Game Development
Administering location: San Francisco, CAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified · 63 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,857 per credit · International — Graduate, international students, per unit (Fall 2026-Summer 2027) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: January 25, 2027 · Spring 2027
View program
DigiPen Institute of Technology logo

DigiPen Institute of Technology

MS in Game Development (Online)

Master'sMS

Master of Science in Game Development

Field: Game Development
Administering location: Redmond, WAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required. · Part-time
Campus attendance: No required physical attendance (verified)
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: five semesters part-time · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,666 per credit · All students — Online graduate (MS in Artificial Intelligence and MS in Game Development), per credit · 2026-2027
Next deadline: November 20, 2026 · Spring 2027
View program

Savannah College of Art and Design

M.A. in interactive design and game development

Master'sMA

Master of Arts in Interactive Design and Game Development

Field: Game Development · Game-focused Interactive Media
Administering location: Savannah, GAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified · 45 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $977 per credit · All students — Graduate, 1 credit hour · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program

Savannah College of Art and Design

M.F.A. in interactive design and game development

Master'sMFA

Master of Fine Arts in Interactive Design and Game Development

Field: Game Development · Game-focused Interactive Media
Administering location: Savannah, GAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified · 90 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $14,655 per term · All students — Full-time graduate student (3 courses, 15 hours of credit per quarter) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program

University of Advancing Technology

Game Production and Management

Master'sMS

Master of Science in Game Production and Management

Field: Game Development
Administering location: Tempe, AZInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $9,500 per semester · All students — Graduate (master's) tuition, per semester (2025-2026, flat rate) · 2025-2026
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

DePaul University

Game Programming

Master'sMS

Master of Science in Game Programming

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Chicago, ILInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 48 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,003 per credit · All students — Graduate, Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media, per credit hour (university table; not stated whether it applies to online study) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program