Editorial selection · alphabetical · not a numbered ranking
Top Online Game Design Schools
Schools whose online game degrees — judged on the online pathway itself — document a game-specific curriculum, project-based work, published tuition that applies to online students and current official sources. We also record what each school states about campus attendance, hardware and software, and remote student support, and show where those facts are missing. Listed alphabetically; an editorial selection, not a numbered ranking.
Methodology v1.0 · criteria and evidence rules · reviewed October 12, 2026 · 13 schools selected of 15 with eligible programs (37 programs considered)
About this selection
- Eligible degrees
- Online bachelor's, master's and doctoral programs in our directory, in any game field (design, development, programming, art, interactive media). Hybrid programs are not eligible. Each entry says whether the supporting degree is game design, game development, game programming or game art.
- Programs considered
- 37 published programs at 15 schools in our directory. Coverage is partial: schools and programs not yet in the directory could not be considered.
- Required for a supporting degree
- Game-specific curriculum. The degree itself (or an officially named concentration) is about games, and its official pages document game-specific coursework — design, programming, art or production — beyond a general description.
- Studio, team or capstone project work. The school documents project-based game work: team or studio production courses, collaborative game projects, or a culminating capstone game or thesis project.
- Tuition transparency. Tuition for this program is published on an official page with its basis (per credit, per term, per year or whole program). For online programs the rate must apply to the online program.
- Source quality and freshness. Eligibility evidence and the facts above come from the school's own pages and were verified within the last 12 months.
- Documented depth. At least 2 of: stated attendance model (online); published hardware and software requirements (online); remote feedback and student support (online); capstone, thesis or portfolio project; clear admissions and portfolio policy; published scholarships or assistantships.
- Order
- Alphabetical by school. Not numbered: we do not have a reproducible scoring model with comparable evidence that would justify ordering.
- Not used
- Reputation, rankings by other publishers, acceptance or placement rates, salaries, alumni game credits, studio partnerships — none are verified, comparable facts.
- Sponsorship
- Paid placements never affect inclusion, order or assessment, and are never shown inside this list. Sponsorship disclosure
- Evidence limitations
- Desk research from official pages only — we did not visit or interview programs. Faculty quality, studio culture and graduate outcomes are not assessed.
What kind of degrees these are: 10 game design, 6 game development, 3 game programming, 5 game art, 1 game studies & research (primary field of each supporting degree). Not every online degree here is titled “game design”.
Champlain College
Burlington, VT · Game Studio Experience
For students who need to study remotelyFor applicants who want to program gamesChamplain College is selected for 2 degrees that met every required criterion: Bachelor of Science in Interactive Game Design (bachelor's, game design; fully online (verified), 3 years, 4 months (With 2 courses per term), 120 credits, flexible pace); Bachelor of Science in Game Development (bachelor's, game development; online (on-site requirements not stated), 3 years, 4 months (With 2 courses per term), 120 credits, flexible pace). Its campus and hybrid programs (Game Design; Game Art; Game Programming; Game Production Management; Game Sound Design; Interactive Narrative for Games & Digital Media) are outside this online selection and are not assessed here.
Degrees supporting this selection
- Bachelor'sGame Design
Interactive Game Design (online)
Bachelor of Science in Interactive Game Design
- Delivery:
- Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.
- Attendance:
- No required physical attendance (verified)
- Portfolio:
- Not published
- Tuition:
- $342 per credit (2026-2027)
- Bachelor'sGame DevelopmentGame Programming
Bachelor of Science in Game Development
- Delivery:
- Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
- Attendance:
- Not verified
- Portfolio:
- Not published
- Tuition:
- $342 per credit (2026-2027)
Strengths in the official information
- A culminating capstone or final project is published.
- Interactive Game Design (online): Names the tools it teaches: Unity, Unity 3D, Adobe Creative Suite, Adobe Animate, Maya.
- Interactive Game Design (online): The school states the program can be completed without coming to campus.
- Hardware or software requirements for online students are published.
- Game Development (online): Names the tools it teaches: Advanced Game Development Techniques taught in Unity; Unity, Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Illustrator, Adobe Audition, Inklewriter, Python, C++.
Limitations and tradeoffs to check
- No portfolio policy is published on the pages we checked.
- Game Development (online): The pages we checked do not say whether any campus visit, residency or exhibition is required.
Evidence for each criterion and sources
- Published scholarships or assistantships
- Interactive Game Design (online): 1 published award: Merit scholarships.
- Capstone, thesis or portfolio project
- Interactive Game Design (online): Capstone: Capstone Game Development Project producing a playable game
- Published hardware and software requirements (online)
- Interactive Game Design (online): Technical programs require higher computer specifications (e.g., Nvidia RTX 50 series graphics, 32GB DDR5 memory); students in game programs should plan on Windows 11.
- Studio, team or capstone project work
- Interactive Game Design (online): Culminating project — Capstone Game Development Project producing a playable game
- Source quality and freshness
- Interactive Game Design (online): Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last checked 2026-10-12.
- Game-specific curriculum
- Interactive Game Design (online): Dedicated game degree; 3 documented curriculum elements (game design, tools).
- Stated attendance model (online)
- Interactive Game Design (online): The school states the program requires no on-site attendance.
- Tuition transparency
- Interactive Game Design (online): Tuition published (3 verified rates, 3 with an academic year): $342 per credit.
- Clear admissions and portfolio policy
- Interactive Game Design (online): 3 published admission requirements (portfolio policy not published).
Sources
Every fact also links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.
Also listed at Champlain College (not assessed for this selection): Game Design; Game Art; Game Programming; Game Production Management; Game Sound Design; Interactive Narrative for Games & Digital Media.
DePaul University
Chicago, IL · Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media, School of Design
For students who need to study remotelyFor applicants who want to program gamesFor graduates building a game programming portfolioDePaul University is selected for one degree that met every required criterion: Master of Science in Game Programming (master's, game programming; online (on-site requirements not stated), 48 credits). Note: the supporting online degree is game programming, not a degree titled game design. The school's other eligible program (Computer Science (BS), Game Systems Concentration) did not meet every criterion with verified evidence and does not support this selection. Its campus and hybrid programs (Game Design; Game Programming; Animation (BFA), Game Art Concentration; Computer Science + Animation (BS), Game Art Technical Director Concentration; Game Design) are outside this online selection and are not assessed here.
Degrees supporting this selection
- Master'sGame Programming
Master of Science in Game Programming
- Delivery:
- Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
- Attendance:
- Not verified
- Portfolio:
- Not published
- Tuition:
- $1,003 per credit (2026-2027)
Strengths in the official information
- Team or studio production work is documented in the curriculum.
Limitations and tradeoffs to check
- No portfolio policy is published on the pages we checked.
- No dated deadline for the current cycle is published on the pages we checked.
- The pages we checked do not say whether any campus visit, residency or exhibition is required.
- No hardware or software requirements are published for online students.
- Program length is not published on the pages we checked.
Evidence for each criterion and sources
- Published scholarships or assistantships
- 3 published awards: CDM Graduate Presidential Scholarship (International Students only), CDM Graduate Dean's Scholarship (U.S. Citizens and Residents Only), Graduate assistantships and Graduate Research Assistant Program.
- Studio, team or capstone project work
- Project electives include Game Development Studio I and II and Master's Game Research Study.
- Source quality and freshness
- Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last checked 2026-10-12.
- Game-specific curriculum
- Dedicated game degree; 3 documented curriculum elements (programming, curriculum, production).
- Tuition transparency
- Tuition published (1 verified rate, 1 with an academic year): $1,003 per credit.
- Clear admissions and portfolio policy
- 5 published admission requirements (portfolio policy not published).
Sources
Every fact also links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.
Also listed at DePaul University (not assessed for this selection): Game Design; Game Programming; Animation (BFA), Game Art Concentration; Computer Science (BS), Game Systems Concentration; Computer Science + Animation (BS), Game Art Technical Director Concentration; Game Design.

DigiPen Institute of Technology
Redmond, WA · Game Design and Development Degrees
For students who need to study remotelyFor working students (part-time option)For graduates building a game development portfolioDigiPen Institute of Technology is selected for one degree that met every required criterion: Master of Science in Game Development (master's, game development; fully online (verified), five semesters part-time, 30 credits, part-time). Note: the supporting online degree is game development, not a degree titled game design. Its campus and hybrid programs (BA in Game Design; BS in Computer Science and Game Design) are outside this online selection and are not assessed here.
Degrees supporting this selection
- Master'sGame Development
MS in Game Development (Online)
Master of Science in Game Development
- Delivery:
- Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.
- Attendance:
- No required physical attendance (verified)
- Portfolio:
- Not published
- Tuition:
- $1,666 per credit (2026-2027)
Strengths in the official information
- A culminating capstone or final project is published.
- The school states the program can be completed without coming to campus.
Limitations and tradeoffs to check
- No portfolio policy is published on the pages we checked.
- No hardware or software requirements are published for online students.
Evidence for each criterion and sources
- Published scholarships or assistantships
- 1 published award: Dragon Opportunity Scholarship.
- Capstone, thesis or portfolio project
- Capstone: CS 5010 Capstone Project: mixed-discipline game or game-adjacent project
- Studio, team or capstone project work
- Culminating project — CS 5010 Capstone Project: mixed-discipline game or game-adjacent project
- Source quality and freshness
- Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last checked 2026-10-12.
- Game-specific curriculum
- Dedicated game degree; 3 documented curriculum elements (curriculum, programming, game design).
- Stated attendance model (online)
- The school states the program requires no on-site attendance.
- Tuition transparency
- Tuition published (1 verified rate, 1 with an academic year): $1,666 per credit.
- Clear admissions and portfolio policy
- 6 published admission requirements (portfolio policy not published).
Sources
Every fact also links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.
Also listed at DigiPen Institute of Technology (not assessed for this selection): BS in Computer Science in Real-Time Interactive Simulation; BA in Game Design; BS in Computer Science and Game Design.
Full Sail University
Winter Park, FL
For first-year applicantsFor students who need to study remotelyFor applicants without a portfolio yetFor applicants who want to program gamesFull Sail University is selected for 5 degrees that met every required criterion: Game Development Bachelor of Science (bachelor's, game development; online (on-site requirements not stated), 27 months online; 20 months on campus, 120 credits); Game Art Bachelor of Science (bachelor's, game art; online (on-site requirements not stated), 108 weeks (online), 120 credits); Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science (bachelor's, game design; online (on-site requirements not stated), 52 weeks, 120 credits); Visual Arts Bachelor of Science (bachelor's, game art; online (on-site requirements not stated), 52 weeks (online), 120 credits); Game Design Master of Science (master's, game design; online (on-site requirements not stated), 48 weeks, 41 credits).
Degrees supporting this selection
- Bachelor'sGame DevelopmentGame Programming
Game Development Bachelor of Science
- Delivery:
- Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
- Attendance:
- Not verified
- Portfolio:
- Not required
- Tuition:
- $67,000 entire program
- Bachelor'sGame Art
Game Art Bachelor of Science
- Delivery:
- Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
- Attendance:
- Not verified
- Portfolio:
- Not published
- Tuition:
- $67,000 entire program
- Bachelor'sGame DesignNamed concentration
Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science Completion Program - Game Design Concentration
Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science
- Delivery:
- Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
- Attendance:
- Not verified
- Portfolio:
- Not published
- Tuition:
- $30,000 entire program
- Bachelor'sGame ArtNamed concentration
Visual Arts Bachelor of Science Completion Program with a Concentration in Game Art
Visual Arts Bachelor of Science
- Delivery:
- Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
- Attendance:
- Not verified
- Portfolio:
- Not published
- Tuition:
- $30,000 entire program
- Master'sGame Design
Game Design Master of Science
- Delivery:
- Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
- Attendance:
- Not verified
- Portfolio:
- Not published
- Tuition:
- $35,000 entire program
Strengths in the official information
- Game Development: A culminating capstone or final project is published.
- Game Development: Names the tools it teaches: Microsoft Visual Studio, Unreal Engine, C++, Vulkan, DirectX and Blender; AI-assisted tools such as Unity Muse.
- Game Development: States that no portfolio is required for admission.
- Game Development: Hardware or software requirements for online students are published.
- Game Development: Publishes a whole-program tuition figure ($67,000).
- Game Art: Team or studio production work is documented in the curriculum.
- Game Art: Names the tools it teaches: Autodesk Maya and Unreal Engine; AI-assisted tools such as Adobe Firefly.
Limitations and tradeoffs to check
- Published tuition does not print its academic year.
- No dated deadline for the current cycle is published on the pages we checked.
- The pages we checked do not say whether any campus visit, residency or exhibition is required.
- Game Art: No portfolio policy is published on the pages we checked.
- Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science Completion Program - Game Design Concentration: The award is the Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science Completion Program; the game focus is a named concentration within it.
- Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science Completion Program - Game Design Concentration: No portfolio policy is published on the pages we checked.
Evidence for each criterion and sources
- Published scholarships or assistantships
- Game Development: 1 published award: Creative Minds Scholarship.
- Capstone, thesis or portfolio project
- Game Development: Capstone: Students architect, develop and produce a complete and playable game.
- Published hardware and software requirements (online)
- Game Development: Project LaunchBox for Game Development includes an MSI laptop with a three-year warranty, Microsoft Office 365 and MATLAB, included in tuition.; Online applicants need a reliable computer or tablet and a reliable high-speed Internet connection.
- Studio, team or capstone project work
- Game Development: Culminating project — Students architect, develop and produce a complete and playable game.
- Source quality and freshness
- Game Development: Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last checked 2026-10-12.
- Game-specific curriculum
- Game Development: Dedicated game degree; 4 documented curriculum elements (tools, programming, curriculum).
- Remote feedback and student support (online)
- Game Development: 2 published student services (tech support, orientation).
- Tuition transparency
- Game Development: Tuition published (2 verified rates, academic year not printed): $67,000 entire program.
- Clear admissions and portfolio policy
- Game Development: Portfolio not required (stated); 5 other published requirements.
Sources
- Game Development — official page
- Game Development — official page
- Game Development — official page
- Game Development — official page
- Game Art — official page
- Game Art — official page
- Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science Completion Program - Game Design Concentration — official page
- Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science Completion Program - Game Design Concentration — official page
Every fact also links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.
Also listed at Full Sail University (not assessed for this selection): Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science Completion Program With a Concentration in Game Development.

Liberty University
Lynchburg, VA · School of Business
For first-year applicantsFor students who need to study remotelyLiberty University is selected for one degree that met every required criterion: Bachelor of Science in Information Technology (bachelor's, game design; online (on-site requirements not stated), 120 credits). Its campus and hybrid programs (Information Technology (B.S.) - Gaming Design - Resident) are outside this online selection and are not assessed here.
Degrees supporting this selection
- Bachelor'sGame DesignNamed concentration
Information Technology (B.S.) - Gaming Design - Online
Bachelor of Science in Information Technology
- Delivery:
- Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
- Attendance:
- Not verified
- Portfolio:
- Not published
- Tuition:
- $410 per credit (2026-2027)
Strengths in the official information
- Team or studio production work is documented in the curriculum.
- A culminating capstone or final project is published.
- An internship or co-op is part of the published program.
- Hardware or software requirements for online students are published.
Limitations and tradeoffs to check
- The award is the Information Technology (B.S.); the game focus is a named concentration within it.
- No portfolio policy is published on the pages we checked.
- No dated deadline for the current cycle is published on the pages we checked.
- The pages we checked do not say whether any campus visit, residency or exhibition is required.
- Program length is not published on the pages we checked.
Evidence for each criterion and sources
- Capstone, thesis or portfolio project
- Capstone: Information Technology Capstone (CSIS 484)
- Internship or co-op arrangements
- Internship (maximum 6 hours) strongly recommended; CSIS 499 Internship may replace C# Programming in the cognate.
- Published hardware and software requirements (online)
- Liberty publishes recommended hardware specifications for personal devices (e.g. Intel i5/i7 12th generation or newer, or equivalent) for on-campus and online students.
- Studio, team or capstone project work
- ARTS 474 Interactive Game Development Lab surveys the creation of analog and digital games and roles in the production pipeline.
- Source quality and freshness
- Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last checked 2026-10-12.
- Game-specific curriculum
- Named concentration (Gaming Design); 3 documented curriculum elements (curriculum, production, programming).
- Tuition transparency
- Tuition published (3 verified rates, 3 with an academic year): $410 per credit.
- Clear admissions and portfolio policy
- 3 published admission requirements (portfolio policy not published).
Sources
- Information Technology (B.S.) - Gaming Design - Online — official page
- Information Technology (B.S.) - Gaming Design - Online — official page
- Information Technology (B.S.) - Gaming Design - Online — official page
Every fact also links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.
Also listed at Liberty University (not assessed for this selection): Information Technology (B.S.) - Gaming Design - Resident.

Lindenwood University
Saint Charles, MO · Art, Production, and Design, College of Arts and Humanities
For students who need to study remotelyFor graduates building a game design portfolioLindenwood University is selected for 2 degrees that met every required criterion: Bachelor of Arts in Game Design (bachelor's, game design; fully online (verified), 4 yrs program length, 120 credits); Master of Arts in Game Design (master's, game design; fully online (verified), 1-2 yrs program length, 30 credits). Its campus and hybrid programs (Game Design; Game Design) are outside this online selection and are not assessed here.
Degrees supporting this selection
- Bachelor'sGame Design
Bachelor of Arts in Game Design
- Delivery:
- Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.
- Attendance:
- No required physical attendance (verified)
- Portfolio:
- Not published
- Tuition:
- $525 per credit
- Master'sGame Design
Master of Arts in Game Design
- Delivery:
- Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.
- Attendance:
- No required physical attendance (verified)
- Portfolio:
- Not published
- Tuition:
- $619 per credit
Strengths in the official information
- Team or studio production work is documented in the curriculum.
- The school states the program can be completed without coming to campus.
- Game Design (Online): Hardware or software requirements for online students are published.
- Game Design (Online): A culminating capstone or final project is published.
- Game Design (Online): Names the tools it teaches: XR/AR/VR, AI, Unity and Unreal.
Limitations and tradeoffs to check
- No portfolio policy is published on the pages we checked.
- Published tuition does not print its academic year.
- No dated deadline for the current cycle is published on the pages we checked.
- Game Design (Online): No hardware or software requirements are published for online students.
Evidence for each criterion and sources
- Capstone, thesis or portfolio project
- Game Design (Online): Capstone: Final applied project documented for committee review.
- Published hardware and software requirements (online)
- Game Design (Online): Use of a virtual reality headset identified by the department and associated applications is required.
- Studio, team or capstone project work
- Game Design (Online): Students learn to work with peers on a game project team.
- Source quality and freshness
- Game Design (Online): Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last checked 2026-10-12.
- Game-specific curriculum
- Game Design (Online): Dedicated game degree; 6 documented curriculum elements (game design, curriculum, programming, art animation, production, specialization); tracks: Game Art.
- Stated attendance model (online)
- Game Design (Online): The school states the program requires no on-site attendance.
- Tuition transparency
- Game Design (Online): Tuition published (1 verified rate, academic year not printed): $525 per credit.
- Clear admissions and portfolio policy
- Game Design (Online): 2 published admission requirements (portfolio policy not published).
Sources
Every fact also links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.
Also listed at Lindenwood University (not assessed for this selection): Game Design; Game Design.
Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design
Lakewood, CO
For first-year applicantsFor students who need to study remotelyFor visual artistsRocky Mountain College of Art and Design is selected for one degree that met every required criterion: Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Art (bachelor's, game art; online (on-site requirements not stated)). Note: the supporting online degree is game art, not a degree titled game design. Its campus and hybrid programs (Game Art) are outside this online selection and are not assessed here.
Degrees supporting this selection
- Bachelor'sGame Art
Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Art
- Delivery:
- Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
- Attendance:
- Not verified
- Portfolio:
- Optional
- Tuition:
- $850 per credit
Strengths in the official information
- Team or studio production work is documented in the curriculum.
- Names the tools it teaches: Autodesk Maya, Adobe Creative Suite, Substance Suite.
- Hardware or software requirements for online students are published.
Limitations and tradeoffs to check
- Published tuition does not print its academic year.
- No dated deadline for the current cycle is published on the pages we checked.
- The pages we checked do not say whether any campus visit, residency or exhibition is required.
- Program length is not published on the pages we checked.
Evidence for each criterion and sources
- Published scholarships or assistantships
- 2 published awards: Artistic Aptitude Scholarship, Academic Achievement Scholarship.
- Published hardware and software requirements (online)
- Computer meeting RMCAD specifications, reliable internet and software such as Maya, Adobe Creative Suite, Substance Suite and ZBrush; Online students may use a desktop or laptop meeting the Game Art specifications; laptop recommended.
- Studio, team or capstone project work
- Online collaboration through virtual classrooms, group assignments and forums
- Source quality and freshness
- Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last checked 2026-10-12.
- Game-specific curriculum
- Dedicated game degree; 9 documented curriculum elements (art animation, curriculum, tools, production).
- Remote feedback and student support (online)
- 2 published student services (advising, tutoring).
- Tuition transparency
- Tuition published (1 verified rate, academic year not printed): $850 per credit.
- Clear admissions and portfolio policy
- Portfolio optional; 3 other published requirements.
Sources
Every fact also links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.
Also listed at Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design (not assessed for this selection): Game Art.
Savannah College of Art and Design
Savannah, GA · School of Creative Technology – Interactive design and game development
For first-year applicantsFor students who need to study remotelyFor applicants without a portfolio yetFor graduates building a game development portfolioSavannah College of Art and Design is selected for 3 degrees that met every required criterion: Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Development (bachelor's, game development; online (on-site requirements not stated), 180 credits); Master of Arts in Interactive Design and Game Development (master's, game development; online (on-site requirements not stated), 45 credits); Master of Fine Arts in Interactive Design and Game Development (master's, game development; online (on-site requirements not stated), 90 credits). Note: the supporting online degrees are game development, not a degree titled game design. The school's other eligible program (B.A. in game development) did not meet every criterion with verified evidence and does not support this selection.
Degrees supporting this selection
- Bachelor'sGame Development
Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Development
- Delivery:
- Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
- Attendance:
- Not verified
- Portfolio:
- Not required
- Tuition:
- $955 per credit (2026-2027)
- Master'sGame DevelopmentGame-focused Interactive Media
M.A. in interactive design and game development
Master of Arts in Interactive Design and Game Development
- Delivery:
- Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
- Attendance:
- Not verified
- Portfolio:
- Required
- Tuition:
- $977 per credit (2026-2027)
- Master'sGame DevelopmentGame-focused Interactive Media
M.F.A. in interactive design and game development
Master of Fine Arts in Interactive Design and Game Development
- Delivery:
- Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
- Attendance:
- Not verified
- Portfolio:
- Required
- Tuition:
- $14,655 per term (2026-2027)
Strengths in the official information
- B.F.A. in game development: Team or studio production work is documented in the curriculum.
- B.F.A. in game development: States that no portfolio is required for admission.
- B.F.A. in game development: An internship or co-op is part of the published program.
- M.A. in interactive design and game development: A culminating capstone or final project is published.
- M.A. in interactive design and game development: Offers 2 named tracks or concentrations (Game development, Interactive design).
- M.F.A. in interactive design and game development: A culminating thesis is published.
- M.F.A. in interactive design and game development: Offers 2 named tracks or concentrations (Game development, Interactive design).
Limitations and tradeoffs to check
- The pages we checked do not say whether any campus visit, residency or exhibition is required.
- No hardware or software requirements are published for online students.
- Program length is not published on the pages we checked.
- M.A. in interactive design and game development: A portfolio is required — plan time to prepare one.
- M.F.A. in interactive design and game development: A portfolio is required — plan time to prepare one.
Evidence for each criterion and sources
- Capstone, thesis or portfolio project
- M.A. in interactive design and game development: Capstone: ITGM 748 Interactive Design and Game Development M.A. Final Project
- Internship or co-op arrangements
- B.F.A. in game development: One of: undergraduate internship, 500-level SCADpro elective or business-focused elective
- Studio, team or capstone project work
- B.F.A. in game development: Game Development Studio I and II and Game Development Postproduction
- Source quality and freshness
- B.F.A. in game development: Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last checked 2026-10-12.
- Game-specific curriculum
- B.F.A. in game development: Dedicated game degree; 2 documented curriculum elements (production, programming).
- Remote feedback and student support (online)
- B.F.A. in game development: 1 published student service (tutoring).
- Tuition transparency
- B.F.A. in game development: Tuition published (2 verified rates, 2 with an academic year): $14,325 per term.
- Clear admissions and portfolio policy
- B.F.A. in game development: Portfolio not required (stated); 1 other published requirement.
Sources
- B.F.A. in game development — official page
- B.F.A. in game development — official page
- B.F.A. in game development — official page
- M.A. in interactive design and game development — official page
- M.A. in interactive design and game development — official page
- M.A. in interactive design and game development — official page
- M.F.A. in interactive design and game development — official page
Every fact also links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.
Also listed at Savannah College of Art and Design (not assessed for this selection): B.A. in game development.
University of Advancing Technology
Tempe, AZ
For first-year applicantsFor students who need to study remotelyFor visual artistsFor applicants who want to program gamesUniversity of Advancing Technology is selected for 3 degrees that met every required criterion: Bachelor of Arts in Game Design (bachelor's, game design; online (on-site requirements not stated), 120 credits); Bachelor of Arts in Game Art and Animation (bachelor's, game art; online (on-site requirements not stated), 120 credits); Bachelor of Science in Game Programming (bachelor's, game programming; online (on-site requirements not stated), 120 credits). The school's other eligible program (Game Production and Management) did not meet every criterion with verified evidence and does not support this selection.
Degrees supporting this selection
- Bachelor'sGame Design
Bachelor of Arts in Game Design
- Delivery:
- Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
- Attendance:
- Not verified
- Portfolio:
- Not published
- Tuition:
- $10,300 per semester (2025-2026)
- Bachelor'sGame Art
Bachelor of Arts in Game Art and Animation
- Delivery:
- Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
- Attendance:
- Not verified
- Portfolio:
- Not published
- Tuition:
- $10,300 per semester (2025-2026)
- Bachelor'sGame Programming
Bachelor of Science in Game Programming
- Delivery:
- Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
- Attendance:
- Not verified
- Portfolio:
- Not published
- Tuition:
- $10,300 per semester (2025-2026)
Strengths in the official information
- Team or studio production work is documented in the curriculum.
- An internship or co-op is part of the published program.
- Hardware or software requirements for online students are published.
Limitations and tradeoffs to check
- No portfolio policy is published on the pages we checked.
- No dated deadline for the current cycle is published on the pages we checked.
- The pages we checked do not say whether any campus visit, residency or exhibition is required.
- Program length is not published on the pages we checked.
Evidence for each criterion and sources
- Internship or co-op arrangements
- Game Design: Internship credit is required only for on-campus undergraduates; hybrid-online students may take it as an elective.
- Published hardware and software requirements (online)
- Game Design: Online students need a computer with a reliable internet connection; mobile devices and tablets are not sufficient; webcam and microphone required.; Some majors and courses require 3DS Max, Maya, Unity, Unreal Engine or SolidWorks; students should confirm their machine can run them.
- Studio, team or capstone project work
- Game Design: At least 6 credits in Production Studio courses (university core)
- Source quality and freshness
- Game Design: Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last checked 2026-10-12.
- Game-specific curriculum
- Game Design: Dedicated game degree; 4 documented curriculum elements (production, game design, curriculum).
- Tuition transparency
- Game Design: Tuition published (2 verified rates, 2 with an academic year): $13,200 per semester.
- Clear admissions and portfolio policy
- Game Design: 3 published admission requirements (portfolio policy not published).
Sources
Every fact also links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.
Also listed at University of Advancing Technology (not assessed for this selection): Game Production and Management.

University of Arizona
Tucson, AZ · College of Information Science
For students who need to study remotelyUniversity of Arizona is selected for one degree that met every required criterion: Bachelor of Arts in Applied Humanities (bachelor's, game studies & research; online (on-site requirements not stated), 120 credits). Note: the supporting online degree is game studies & research, not a degree titled game design. The school's other eligible program (Game Development (Arizona Online)) did not meet every criterion with verified evidence and does not support this selection. Its campus and hybrid programs (Game Design; Game Development) are outside this online selection and are not assessed here.
Degrees supporting this selection
- Bachelor'sGame Studies & ResearchNamed concentration
Applied Humanities: Game Studies Emphasis
Bachelor of Arts in Applied Humanities
- Delivery:
- Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
- Attendance:
- Limited campus visits or residency
- Portfolio:
- Not published
- Tuition:
- $525 per credit
Strengths in the official information
- A culminating capstone or final project is published.
- An internship or co-op is part of the published program.
Limitations and tradeoffs to check
- The award is the Bachelor of Arts in Applied Humanities; the game focus is a named concentration within it.
- No portfolio policy is published on the pages we checked.
- Published tuition does not print its academic year.
- Online, but some in-person attendance is required — plan for travel.
- No hardware or software requirements are published for online students.
- Program length is not published on the pages we checked.
Evidence for each criterion and sources
- Capstone, thesis or portfolio project
- Capstone: PAH 498: Senior Capstone (3 units) in the Applied Humanities core.
- Internship or co-op arrangements
- Mandatory internship that can be completed remotely.
- Studio, team or capstone project work
- Culminating project — PAH 498: Senior Capstone (3 units) in the Applied Humanities core.
- Source quality and freshness
- Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last checked 2026-10-12.
- Game-specific curriculum
- Named concentration (Game Studies); 2 documented curriculum elements (curriculum).
- Stated attendance model (online)
- Required in person: Mandatory internship that can be completed remotely..
- Tuition transparency
- Tuition published (1 verified rate, academic year not printed): $525 per credit.
Sources
- Applied Humanities: Game Studies Emphasis — official page
- Applied Humanities: Game Studies Emphasis — official page
Every fact also links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.
Also listed at University of Arizona (not assessed for this selection): Game Design; Game Development; Game Development (Arizona Online).

University of Silicon Valley
San Jose, CA · Game Design & Development
For first-year applicantsFor students who need to study remotelyFor applicants without a portfolio yetFor visual artistsUniversity of Silicon Valley is selected for 3 degrees that met every required criterion: Bachelor of Arts in Game Art (bachelor's, game art; fully online (verified)); Bachelor of Arts in Game Design (bachelor's, game design; fully online (verified)); Bachelor of Science in Game Engineering (bachelor's, game programming; fully online (verified)).
Degrees supporting this selection
- Bachelor'sGame Art
Bachelor of Arts in Game Art
- Delivery:
- Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.
- Attendance:
- No required physical attendance (verified)
- Portfolio:
- Not required
- Tuition:
- $674 per credit
- Bachelor'sGame Design
Bachelor of Arts in Game Design
- Delivery:
- Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.
- Attendance:
- No required physical attendance (verified)
- Portfolio:
- Not required
- Tuition:
- $674 per credit
- Bachelor'sGame ProgrammingGame Development
Bachelor of Science in Game Engineering
- Delivery:
- Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.
- Attendance:
- No required physical attendance (verified)
- Portfolio:
- Not required
- Tuition:
- $674 per credit
Strengths in the official information
- Team or studio production work is documented in the curriculum.
- States that no portfolio is required for admission.
- The school states the program can be completed without coming to campus.
- Game Engineering: A culminating capstone or final project is published.
- Game Engineering: Names the tools it teaches: OpenGL (GUI & Graphics Programming)..
Limitations and tradeoffs to check
- Published tuition does not print its academic year.
- No dated deadline for the current cycle is published on the pages we checked.
- No hardware or software requirements are published for online students.
- Program length is not published on the pages we checked.
Evidence for each criterion and sources
- Capstone, thesis or portfolio project
- Game Engineering: Capstone: Capstone project showcasing technical and creative skills.
- Studio, team or capstone project work
- Game Art: USV Studios client-driven projects with peers in design, audio and engineering; 3-5 shipped projects by graduation.
- Source quality and freshness
- Game Art: Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last checked 2026-10-12.
- Game-specific curriculum
- Game Art: Dedicated game degree; 3 documented curriculum elements (art animation, game design, production).
- Stated attendance model (online)
- Game Art: The school states the program requires no on-site attendance.
- Tuition transparency
- Game Art: Tuition published (4 verified rates, academic year not printed): $895 per credit.
- Clear admissions and portfolio policy
- Game Art: Portfolio not required (stated); 4 other published requirements.
Sources
- Game Art — official page
- Game Art — official page
- Game Art — official page
- Game Design — official page
- Game Engineering — official page
Every fact also links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.

West Virginia University
Morgantown, WV · School of Art and Design, College of Creative Arts and Media
For students who need to study remotelyFor graduates building a game design portfolioWest Virginia University is selected for one degree that met every required criterion: Master of Arts in Game Design (master's, game design; fully online (verified), 18-24 months; normally completed within two years, 30 credits, flexible pace). Its campus and hybrid programs (Game Design and Interactive Media) are outside this online selection and are not assessed here.
Degrees supporting this selection
- Master'sGame Design
Master of Arts in Game Design
- Delivery:
- Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.
- Attendance:
- No required physical attendance (verified)
- Portfolio:
- Required
- Tuition:
- $777 per credit
Strengths in the official information
- Team or studio production work is documented in the curriculum.
- A culminating capstone or final project is published.
- Names the tools it teaches: Unreal Engine or Unity Engine; Maya or Blender for 3D modeling; Figma..
- The school states the program can be completed without coming to campus.
- Hardware or software requirements for online students are published.
Limitations and tradeoffs to check
- A portfolio is required — plan time to prepare one.
- Published tuition does not print its academic year.
- No dated deadline for the current cycle is published on the pages we checked.
Evidence for each criterion and sources
- Capstone, thesis or portfolio project
- Capstone: Capstone: a functional, playable game prototype, normally by the end of year two; students defend the proposal and final prototype.
- Published hardware and software requirements (online)
- Published high-performance system requirements: MacBook Pro M3 with 16GB memory and 512GB SSD minimum, or Windows 10 64-bit machine with 32GB memory, 14th gen Intel Core i9 or AMD Ryzen 7 or better, 512GB storage and an 8GB graphics card.
- Studio, team or capstone project work
- ART 505S Game Production: coding, game programming and audio production using multiple game engines.
- Source quality and freshness
- Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last checked 2026-10-12.
- Game-specific curriculum
- Dedicated game degree; 3 documented curriculum elements (game design, production, tools).
- Remote feedback and student support (online)
- 1 published student service (career).
- Stated attendance model (online)
- The school states the program requires no on-site attendance.
- Tuition transparency
- Tuition published (1 verified rate, academic year not printed): $777 per credit.
- Clear admissions and portfolio policy
- Portfolio required; 7 other published requirements.
Sources
Every fact also links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.
Also listed at West Virginia University (not assessed for this selection): Game Design and Interactive Media.

Wilmington University
New Castle, DE · College of Business and Technology (Technology Programs)
For students with prior college creditFor students who need to study remotelyWilmington University is selected for one degree that met every required criterion: Bachelor of Science in Game Design and Development (bachelor's, game design; online (on-site requirements not stated), 120 credits).
Degrees supporting this selection
- Bachelor'sGame DesignGame Development
Bachelor of Science in Game Design and Development
- Delivery:
- Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
- Attendance:
- Not verified
- Portfolio:
- Not published
- Tuition:
- $1,317 per course
Strengths in the official information
- A culminating capstone or final project is published.
- Offers 2 named tracks or concentrations (Game Art Production, Interactive Programming).
- Names the tools it teaches: GMD 300 Advanced Game Engines: Using Unity3D.
Limitations and tradeoffs to check
- No portfolio policy is published on the pages we checked.
- Published tuition does not print its academic year.
- The pages we checked do not say whether any campus visit, residency or exhibition is required.
- No hardware or software requirements are published for online students.
- Program length is not published on the pages we checked.
Evidence for each criterion and sources
- Capstone, thesis or portfolio project
- Capstone: Capstone core (9 credits): Game Development I and II, plus a senior project or digital media internship.
- Studio, team or capstone project work
- Culminating project — Capstone core (9 credits): Game Development I and II, plus a senior project or digital media internship.
- Source quality and freshness
- Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last checked 2026-10-12.
- Game-specific curriculum
- Dedicated game degree; 6 documented curriculum elements (curriculum, tools, programming, art animation, specialization); tracks: Game Art Production, Interactive Programming.
- Tuition transparency
- Tuition published (1 verified rate, academic year not printed): $1,317 per course.
- Clear admissions and portfolio policy
- 2 published admission requirements (portfolio policy not published).
Sources
Every fact also links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.
Schools considered but not selected
2 schools with eligible programs were considered and not selected because no degree had verified evidence for every criterion. The most common gaps among programs: tuition transparency (6), studio, team or capstone project work (5), game-specific curriculum (2). Not selected does not mean worse: it can mean the school publishes less information on its own pages, or that we have not verified it yet. See every online program in the directory.
Schools can send official sources through the correction form. Evidence is re-checked; inclusion cannot be bought.