Skip to content
Game DesignSchools
Bradley University logo

Bradley University · Department of Interactive Media

Game Development

Master of Science in Game Development

Master'sMSGame DevelopmentDedicated degree

Overview

A 30-hour, full-time MS in Game Development organized as three semesters of team game production, from prototyping and pre-production through post-production, ending in a comprehensive assessment presentation; an optional Game Programming concentration replaces the game seminar with programming electives.

Official program title
Game Development
Exact award
Master of Science in Game Development
Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Discipline
Degree type
Dedicated degree
School and department
Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Peoria, IL
Emphasis
Studio / portfolio emphasis
Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Tracks and concentrations
Game Programming
Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Why this program is listed

Dedicated MS in Game Development.

Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list dedicated game degrees and officially named game concentrations at institutionally accredited US schools. Eligibility rules

Format, length and attendance

Delivery, campus attendance, schedule and study intensity are separate facts, each shown only as the school states it. Online coursework does not by itself mean there is no residency, exhibition, internship or proctored exam.
Delivery
On campusClasses meet on campus.Classes meet on campus.
Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendanceClasses meet on campus (campus and hybrid programs).
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
three semesters of 10 hours each (plan of study) (Full-time plan of study)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Credits
30 semester hours
Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

What the school publishes about the program's game design, programming, art and production content. Tools and engines are listed only when the school names them — a program not listed as teaching Unity or Unreal may still use them, but we have not verified it.

Courses are Practicum, Game Seminar, Game Prototyping & Pre-Production, Game Production (repeated up to 11 hours) and Game Post-Production; students work in multidisciplinary teams on their own game.

Programming content

  • Game Programming concentration electives include Computer Graphics and Game Engine Programming.
    Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Production and team projects

  • Game Prototyping & Pre-Production (6 hours), Game Production (11 hours) and Game Post-Production (5 hours).
    Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Capstone

  • Comprehensive Assessment: a presentation on the candidate's individual role on the final project to the graduate faculty and department chair.
    Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published details

  • Graduate faculty review for advancement to candidacy after the first semester (10 hours).
    Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Transfer of graduate credit from another institution or program is not allowed.
    Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tracks, concentrations and specializations

Hardware and software requirements

No hardware or software requirement published on the pages we checked.

Admissions and portfolio

Required, optional and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Portfolio

Portfolio required

Portfolio of game development work demonstrating technical, design or artistic accomplishment, indicating collaborative projects and the applicant's role.

Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prior degree
RequiredUndergraduate degree with a major in game development or equivalent; animation, computer science or user experience majors considered with additional required study.
Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum last-60-hour GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale for unconditional admission.
Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
Required250-word statement of interests, abilities and direction in game design and development.
Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required1 letters — One or two letters of recommendation.
Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$40 — Non-refundable $40 application fee; no waivers.
Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

TOEFL iBT
Required for some applicants — minimum 79English proficiency for applicable international applicants; IELTS Academic 6.5 also accepted.
Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances. How to prepare a game design portfolio

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the intake the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    January 15 · for Fall (year not printed)

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Priority deadline

    August 15 · for Spring (year not printed)

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and costs

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Traditional graduate programs, per semester hourFrom the school-wide rate table for this level$1,158per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$34,740 = 30 credits × $1,158 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published fees, including equipment and software

Technology Fee (graduate students with four credit hours or more)
$250 per semesterMandatory
Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Understanding tuition and equipment costs

Scholarships, assistantships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for students at this level. “Guaranteed” only when the school says every eligible student receives it. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Scholarships guide

Program-specific funding: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and authorization

Institutional accreditation covers the school. Programmatic accreditation is shown only when it is named for this program — it is never transferred from another department or degree.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

None verified for this program. Game design degrees do not require one specific specialized accreditation.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last checked October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.bradley.edu/graduate/programs/master-science-game-development-game-programming-concentration — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. catalog.bradley.edu/graduate/programs/master-science-game-development/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. bradley.edu/academics/programs/game-design-ms/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. bradley.edu/admissions/graduate/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. bradley.edu/admissions/tuition/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Suggest an update · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and primary field. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Utah logo

University of Utah

Master of Entertainment Arts and Engineering

Master'sMEAE

Master of Entertainment Arts and Engineering

Field: Game Development · Game Design
Administering location: Salt Lake City, UT
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus. · Full-time
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required for some pathways
Duration: two years (fall and spring semesters only)
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Advancing Technology

Game Production and Management

Master'sMS

Master of Science in Game Production and Management

Field: Game Development
Administering location: Tempe, AZInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $9,500 per semester · All students — Graduate (master's) tuition, per semester (2025-2026, flat rate) · 2025-2026
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Academy of Art University logo

Academy of Art University

Game Development

Master'sMA

Master of Arts in Game Development

Field: Game Development
Administering location: San Francisco, CAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,857 per credit · International — Graduate, international students, per unit (Fall 2026-Summer 2027) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: January 25, 2027 · Spring 2027
View program

GameDesignSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Bradley University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.