Skip to content
Game DesignSchools
Academy of Art University logo

Academy of Art University · School of Game Development

Game Development

Master of Arts in Game Development

Master'sMAGame DevelopmentDedicated degreeOnline

Overview

A 36-unit Master of Arts in Game Development offered online and on campus, combining game mechanic prototyping and art creation and ending with a Final Portfolio Review.

Official program title
Game Development
Exact award
Master of Arts in Game Development
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Discipline
Degree type
Dedicated degree
School and department
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
San Francisco, CAFor an online program this is where the school is based — not a residency requirement, and not proof that students in every state may enroll.
Emphasis
Studio / portfolio emphasis
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Why this program is listed

Dedicated MA in Game Development.

Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list dedicated game degrees and officially named game concentrations at institutionally accredited US schools. Eligibility rules

Format, length and attendance

Delivery, campus attendance, schedule and study intensity are separate facts, each shown only as the school states it. Online coursework does not by itself mean there is no residency, exhibition, internship or proctored exam.
Delivery
Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Campus attendance not verifiedThe pages we checked do not say whether on-site activity is required.
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Class schedule
Synchronous / asynchronous not verified
Study intensity
Not published
Duration
Not verified
Credits
36 units
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Spring, Summer, Fall
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

What the school publishes about the program's game design, programming, art and production content. Tools and engines are listed only when the school names them — a program not listed as teaching Unity or Unreal may still use them, but we have not verified it.

Major classes include 3D modeling and animation in Maya, Elements of Video Games, Blueprint scripting in Unreal Engine and game genre development; specialty outcomes cover game and level design, character modeling and environment modeling.

Capstone

Tools and engines named by the school

Specializations

  • Specialty skills listed for Game & Level Design, Character Modeling and Environment Modeling
    Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published details

Hardware and software requirements

Hardware
Online students need a computer with at least 8 GB memory (16 GB suggested) and 256 GB storage, plus monitor, keyboard, mouse, speakers and a webcam with microphone for synchronous meetings.
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internet connection
Reliable Internet access of 10 Mbps download / 5 Mbps upload.
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Software
Students have access to the Adobe Creative Cloud suite while enrolled.
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions and portfolio

Required, optional and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Portfolio

Portfolio required

A portfolio/reel representing the chosen discipline is required for class placement in the graduate program; content and format details via an Admissions Specialist.

Format: Digital portfolio/reel

Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prior degree
RequiredTranscripts showing at least a bachelor's degree or equivalent
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of Intent: one-page typed essay on graduate school goals
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume of educational and professional experience
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$50 — $50 application fee
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances. How to prepare a game design portfolio

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the intake the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    January 25, 2027 · for Spring 2027

    Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    June 14, 2027 · for Summer 2027

    Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    August 30, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and costs

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Graduate, domestic students, per unit (Fall 2026-Summer 2027)From the school-wide rate table for this level$1,551per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$55,836 = 36 credits × $1,551 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International — Graduate, international students, per unit (Fall 2026-Summer 2027)From the school-wide rate table for this level$1,857per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$66,852 = 36 credits × $1,857 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published fees

Application fee (one-time, nonrefundable)
$50 entire programMandatory
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Enrollment fee, first-term domestic students
$95 entire program
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Materials/supplies, average per semester (estimate)
$545 per semester
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Understanding tuition and equipment costs

Scholarships, assistantships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for students at this level. “Guaranteed” only when the school says every eligible student receives it. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Scholarships guide

Program-specific funding: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and authorization

Institutional accreditation covers the school. Programmatic accreditation is shown only when it is named for this program — it is never transferred from another department or degree.

Institutional accreditation

  • WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

None verified for this program. Game design degrees do not require one specific specialized accreditation.

State authorization for online students

  • Enrollment is restricted for applicants in areas where online programs are not approved; students should consult the State Authorization for Distance Education Status Table. Official pageSource: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last checked October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — WSCUC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. academyart.edu/academicpolicies — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. academyart.edu/academics/game-development/degrees/game-development-ma/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. academyart.edu/academics/game-development/degrees/game-development-mfa/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. academyart.edu/admissions/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. academyart.edu/admissions/cost-financial-aid/cost-of-attendance/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Suggest an update · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and primary field. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Utah logo

University of Utah

Master of Entertainment Arts and Engineering

Master'sMEAE

Master of Entertainment Arts and Engineering

Field: Game Development · Game Design
Administering location: Salt Lake City, UT
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus. · Full-time
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required for some pathways
Duration: two years (fall and spring semesters only)
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Advancing Technology

Game Production and Management

Master'sMS

Master of Science in Game Production and Management

Field: Game Development
Administering location: Tempe, AZInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $9,500 per semester · All students — Graduate (master's) tuition, per semester (2025-2026, flat rate) · 2025-2026
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Bradley University logo

Bradley University

Game Development

Master'sMS

Master of Science in Game Development

Field: Game Development
Administering location: Peoria, IL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus. · Full-time
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: three semesters of 10 hours each (plan of study) (Full-time plan of study) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,158 per credit · All students — Traditional graduate programs, per semester hour · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

GameDesignSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Academy of Art University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.