Skip to content
Game DesignSchools
Southern Methodist University logo

Southern Methodist University · SMU Guildhall

Master of Interactive Technology

Master of Interactive Technology in Digital Game Development

Master'sMITGame DevelopmentDedicated degree

Overview

A two-year, full-time, in-person professional master's degree at SMU Guildhall in Dallas. Students enter as a cohort, choose one of four specializations and build team games in a studio-modeled Team Game Production sequence.

Official program title
Master of Interactive Technology
Exact award
Master of Interactive Technology in Digital Game Development
Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Discipline
Degree type
Dedicated degree
School and department
Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Dallas, TX
Tracks and concentrations
Art Creation · Level Design · Production (Project Management) · Software Development (Programming)
Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Why this program is listed

Dedicated professional master's in digital game development (SMU Guildhall).

Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list dedicated game degrees and officially named game concentrations at institutionally accredited US schools. Eligibility rules

Format, length and attendance

Delivery, campus attendance, schedule and study intensity are separate facts, each shown only as the school states it. Online coursework does not by itself mean there is no residency, exhibition, internship or proctored exam.
Delivery
On campusClasses meet on campus.Classes meet on campus.
Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendanceClasses meet on campus (campus and hybrid programs).
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Two years (five semesters)
Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Credits
Not verified
Start terms
Fall
Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

In-person requirements as published

  • Thesis defense Required

    Thesis project defended under faculty advisor oversight (Master's Thesis IV – Graduate Exhibition).

    Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

What the school publishes about the program's game design, programming, art and production content. Tools and engines are listed only when the school names them — a program not listed as teaching Unity or Unreal may still use them, but we have not verified it.

Four Team Game Production courses, two professional development courses, nine specialization courses (art creation, level design, production or programming) and four research courses, ending in a master's thesis defended at a graduate exhibition. Students work with Unity and Unreal Engine.

Curriculum overview

  • Four Team Game Production courses, two professional development courses, nine specialization courses and four research courses.
    Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Production and team projects

  • Team Game Production IV: students design, prototype, test and publish games in a studio-modeled environment; students graduate with at least three team games.
    Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Thesis

  • Master's Thesis IV – Graduate Exhibition: students develop and defend a thesis project under faculty advisor oversight.
    Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tools and engines named by the school

Other published details

  • Students enter as a cohort and progress together through two years of coursework.
    Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tracks, concentrations and specializations

Hardware and software requirements

Hardware
Every student receives a laptop with discipline-specific professional software that becomes the student's property.
Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions and portfolio

Required, optional and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Portfolio

Portfolio required

Either prior work examples or a specialization-specific portfolio assignment (art creation, level design, production or programming).

Format: Upload or link through the online graduate application; accepted formats include images, video, .zip/.tgz archives and documents

Official portfolio instructions

Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prior degree
RequiredBaccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited institution.
Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum undergraduate GPA of 3.000 on a 4.000 scale.
Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredVideo essay on motivation, interests, experiences and one portfolio piece; production applicants also describe the producer role.
Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two non-family references entered in the online application.
Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Waived$100 — $100 application fee waived for all applicants this year.
Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts for review; official transcripts upon admission.
Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
OptionalGED, SAT and GRE scores are optional but accepted.
Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Required for some applicants — minimum 80Non-U.S. applicants without a degree from an English-speaking institution; 550 paper-based or 80 computer-based.
Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required for some applicants — minimum 6.5Non-U.S. applicants without a degree from an English-speaking institution.
Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances. How to prepare a game design portfolio

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the intake the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Early action

    Rolling admission · for Fall (year not printed)

    Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission · for Fall (year not printed)

    Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and costs

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — MIT in Digital Game Development, GM36, full-time, per term (Fall 2026, Spring 2027)$22,487per term · 2026-2027Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
All students — MIT in Digital Game Development, GM36, full-time, Summer 2027 term$14,992per term · 2026-2027Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published fees, including equipment and software

Technology Fee (all MIT programs)
$5,200
Source: smu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Understanding tuition and equipment costs

Scholarships, assistantships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for students at this level. “Guaranteed” only when the school says every eligible student receives it. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Scholarships guide

Program-specific funding: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and authorization

Institutional accreditation covers the school. Programmatic accreditation is shown only when it is named for this program — it is never transferred from another department or degree.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

None verified for this program. Game design degrees do not require one specific specialized accreditation.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last checked October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. smu.edu/businessfinance/officeoffinanceandplanning/bursar/tuition_and_fees/graduate/jay2026-2027 — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. smu.edu/guildhall/academics/game-development-programs — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. smu.edu/guildhall/academics/game-development-programs/ba-game-development — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. smu.edu/guildhall/academics/game-development-programs/masters-interactive-technology — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. smu.edu/guildhall/admission/admission-requirements — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. smu.edu/guildhall/campus/our-facilities-and-technology — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Suggest an update · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and primary field. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Utah logo

University of Utah

Master of Entertainment Arts and Engineering

Master'sMEAE

Master of Entertainment Arts and Engineering

Field: Game Development · Game Design
Administering location: Salt Lake City, UT
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus. · Full-time
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required for some pathways
Duration: two years (fall and spring semesters only)
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Advancing Technology

Game Production and Management

Master'sMS

Master of Science in Game Production and Management

Field: Game Development
Administering location: Tempe, AZInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $9,500 per semester · All students — Graduate (master's) tuition, per semester (2025-2026, flat rate) · 2025-2026
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Academy of Art University logo

Academy of Art University

Game Development

Master'sMA

Master of Arts in Game Development

Field: Game Development
Administering location: San Francisco, CAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,857 per credit · International — Graduate, international students, per unit (Fall 2026-Summer 2027) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: January 25, 2027 · Spring 2027
View program

GameDesignSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Southern Methodist University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.