Skip to content
Game DesignSchools

University of Central Florida · Florida Interactive Entertainment Academy (FIEA), Nicholson School of Communication and Media

Interactive Entertainment (MS)

Master of Science in Interactive Entertainment

Master'sMSGame DevelopmentDedicated degree

Overview

A 30-credit, 16-month full-time master's degree taught at the Florida Interactive Entertainment Academy at UCF Downtown, with art, production/design and programming specializations and admission to a specific specialization by portfolio.

Official program title
Interactive Entertainment (MS)
Exact award
Master of Science in Interactive Entertainment
Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Discipline
Degree type
Dedicated degree
School and department
Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Orlando, FL
Tracks and concentrations
Art Specialization (3D Modeling, Technical Art, Animation) · Production/Design Specialization (Project Management, Technical Design, Level Design) · Programming Specialization
Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Why this program is listed

Dedicated MS in Interactive Entertainment (FIEA) for artists, programmers and producers in game development.

Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list dedicated game degrees and officially named game concentrations at institutionally accredited US schools. Eligibility rules

Format, length and attendance

Delivery, campus attendance, schedule and study intensity are separate facts, each shown only as the school states it. Online coursework does not by itself mean there is no residency, exhibition, internship or proctored exam.
Delivery
On campusClasses meet on campus.Classes meet on campus.
Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendanceClasses meet on campus (campus and hybrid programs).
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
16 months, full time over four semesters
Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Credits
30 credit hours minimum beyond the bachelor's degree
Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

What the school publishes about the program's game design, programming, art and production content. Tools and engines are listed only when the school names them — a program not listed as teaching Unity or Unreal may still use them, but we have not verified it.

A four-course team-based core, three specialization courses (art, production or programming), a 6-credit practicum (research, internship, venture or faculty research) and a capstone in which teams of about 15-20 students build a full game over multiple semesters.

Curriculum overview

  • Core sequence: Production for Media, Rapid Prototype Production I, Experimentation, Application and Innovation in Games, Preproduction and Prototyping.
    Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Programming content

  • Programming track emphasizes C++, debugging, game design patterns and cross-platform code; students build their own game engines.
    Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Production and team projects

  • Rapid prototype rounds with over 20 teams making prototypes every few weeks.
    Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Capstone

  • Capstone: a full game built over multiple semesters by a multidisciplinary team of about 15-20 students, through preproduction, production, alpha and beta.
    Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tools and engines named by the school

Internship

  • 6-credit practicum: Game Design Practicum or Digital Venture Practicum (research team, on-site internship, start-up or faculty research).
    Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tracks, concentrations and specializations

  • Art Specialization (3D Modeling, Technical Art, Animation)
    Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Production/Design Specialization (Project Management, Technical Design, Level Design)
    Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Programming Specialization
    Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Hardware and software requirements

Hardware
Program tuition includes a laptop computer that the student keeps after graduation.
Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions and portfolio

Required, optional and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Portfolio

Portfolio required

Track-specific portfolio submitted to FIEA by a Portfolio Review Date: programmers submit source code (C++ preferred); artists submit 5-10 pieces (technical artists also source code); producers complete a timed game analysis, level design, video production or game prototype.

Format: Portfolio submission form with links to files (DropBox, Google Drive or other file sharing); requirements emailed after the UCF graduate application

Official portfolio instructions

Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prior degree
RequiredRegionally accredited bachelor's degree (or in progress) in art, computer science, digital media or a related field.
Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RecommendedMinimum 3 — Preferred: 3.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale over the last 60 attempted hours.
Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Contact information for two professional references (no letters required).
Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredWritten interview on background, current skills and future plans; FIEA may request a follow-up phone or in-person interview.
Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Coding sample
Required for some applicantsProgramming applicants submit source code (C++ preferred); technical artists also include source code.
Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUndergraduate transcripts sent to UCF College of Graduate Studies before the chosen Portfolio Review Date.
Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Required for some applicants — minimum 300Required for production and programming applicants; not required for art applicants. FIEA prefers a combined verbal and quantitative score of 300 or above.
Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Required for some applicantsInternational applicants submit TOEFL or IELTS scores less than two years old.
Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances. How to prepare a game design portfolio

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the intake the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Portfolio deadline

    November 13, 2026 · for Fall 2027

    Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • International applicants

    January 15, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Portfolio deadline

    February 5, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Portfolio deadline

    April 2, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Portfolio deadline

    June 4, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    July 1 · for Fall (year not printed), domestic

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and costs

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state — Florida resident, total program$32,940entire program · academic year not printedSource: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Out-of-state — Non-Florida resident, total program$60,145entire program · academic year not printedSource: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Understanding tuition and equipment costs

Scholarships, assistantships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for students at this level. “Guaranteed” only when the school says every eligible student receives it. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Scholarships guide
  • FIEA Director Fellowship FellowshipCompetitive

    Eligibility: Accepted FIEA students not awarded another fellowship; merit-based on GPA, GRE and portfolio.

    Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • FIEA Director Technical Fellowship FellowshipGuaranteed (as stated)

    Eligibility: Accepted programming applicants with a 3.7 GPA in computer science, engineering, math or related disciplines and a GRE score of 315 or greater.

    Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • UCF Character Animation Fellowship FellowshipGuaranteed (as stated)

    $2,500

    Eligibility: Students accepted into the FIEA art discipline who graduated from UCF's Character Animation program.

    Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • UF Digital Arts & Science Fellowship FellowshipGuaranteed (as stated)

    $2,500

    Eligibility: Students accepted into FIEA who graduated from the University of Florida Digital Arts & Sciences program.

    Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Electronic Arts Gaming Endowed Scholarship Institutional scholarship

    Eligibility: Students who demonstrate overcoming life challenges and/or building community and connections through games.

    Source: fiea.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Accreditation and authorization

Institutional accreditation covers the school. Programmatic accreditation is shown only when it is named for this program — it is never transferred from another department or degree.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

None verified for this program. Game design degrees do not require one specific specialized accreditation.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last checked October 12, 2026.
  1. fiea.ucf.edu/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. fiea.ucf.edu/admissions/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. fiea.ucf.edu/admissions/5-steps-to-enroll/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. fiea.ucf.edu/admissions/admission-requirements/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. fiea.ucf.edu/admissions/financial-aid — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. fiea.ucf.edu/admissions/international-students/international-admission-requirements/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. fiea.ucf.edu/curriculum/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. fiea.ucf.edu/curriculum/capstone/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  10. ucf.edu/degree/interactive-entertainment-ms/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Suggest an update · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and primary field. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Utah logo

University of Utah

Master of Entertainment Arts and Engineering

Master'sMEAE

Master of Entertainment Arts and Engineering

Field: Game Development · Game Design
Administering location: Salt Lake City, UT
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus. · Full-time
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required for some pathways
Duration: two years (fall and spring semesters only)
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Advancing Technology

Game Production and Management

Master'sMS

Master of Science in Game Production and Management

Field: Game Development
Administering location: Tempe, AZInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $9,500 per semester · All students — Graduate (master's) tuition, per semester (2025-2026, flat rate) · 2025-2026
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Academy of Art University logo

Academy of Art University

Game Development

Master'sMA

Master of Arts in Game Development

Field: Game Development
Administering location: San Francisco, CAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,857 per credit · International — Graduate, international students, per unit (Fall 2026-Summer 2027) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: January 25, 2027 · Spring 2027
View program

GameDesignSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Central Florida. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.