Skip to content
Game DesignSchools
Academy of Art University logo

Academy of Art University · School of Game Development

Game Programming

Bachelor of Science in Game Programming

Bachelor'sBSGame ProgrammingDedicated degreeOnline

Overview

A 120-unit Bachelor of Science in Game Programming offered online and on campus, emphasizing data structures, algorithms and software architecture for games.

Official program title
Game Programming
Exact award
Bachelor of Science in Game Programming
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Discipline
Degree type
Dedicated degree
School and department
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
San Francisco, CAFor an online program this is where the school is based — not a residency requirement, and not proof that students in every state may enroll.
Why this program is listed

Dedicated BS in Game Programming in the School of Game Development.

Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list dedicated game degrees and officially named game concentrations at institutionally accredited US schools. Eligibility rules

Format, length and attendance

Delivery, campus attendance, schedule and study intensity are separate facts, each shown only as the school states it. Online coursework does not by itself mean there is no residency, exhibition, internship or proctored exam.
Delivery
Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Campus attendance not verifiedThe pages we checked do not say whether on-site activity is required.
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Class schedule
Synchronous / asynchronous not verified
Study intensity
Not published
Duration
Not verified
Credits
120 units
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Spring, Summer, Fall
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Entry routes

  • First-year entry. Open to first-time college students (freshman admission).Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

What the school publishes about the program's game design, programming, art and production content. Tools and engines are listed only when the school names them — a program not listed as teaching Unity or Unreal may still use them, but we have not verified it.

Core classes include Principles of Computer Science, Programming for Games in C++, Unreal Engine game architecture and low-level programming and optimization; required math includes discrete mathematics and vectors, matrices and transformations.

Curriculum overview

  • Required math: College Math, College Algebra with Geometry, Discrete Mathematics, Vector, Matrices, & Transformations
    Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Programming content

Tools and engines named by the school

Other published details

Hardware and software requirements

Hardware
Online students need a computer with at least 8 GB memory (16 GB suggested) and 256 GB storage, plus monitor, keyboard, mouse, speakers and a webcam with microphone for synchronous meetings.
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internet connection
Reliable Internet access of 10 Mbps download / 5 Mbps upload.
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Software
Students have access to the Adobe Creative Cloud suite while enrolled.
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions and portfolio

Required, optional and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Portfolio

Portfolio not required (stated)

Inclusive (no-barrier) undergraduate admissions; no portfolio required.

Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$50 — $50 application fee
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

SAT/ACT and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances. How to prepare a game design portfolio

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the intake the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    January 25, 2027 · for Spring 2027

    Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    June 14, 2027 · for Summer 2027

    Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    August 30, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and costs

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Undergraduate, domestic students, per unit (Fall 2026-Summer 2027)From the school-wide rate table for this level$1,366per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$163,920 = 120 credits × $1,366 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International — Undergraduate, international students, per unit (Fall 2026-Summer 2027)From the school-wide rate table for this level$1,682per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$201,840 = 120 credits × $1,682 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published fees

Application fee (one-time, nonrefundable)
$50 entire programMandatory
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Enrollment fee, first-term domestic students
$95 entire program
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Materials/supplies, average per semester (estimate)
$545 per semester
Source: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Understanding tuition and equipment costs

Scholarships, assistantships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for students at this level. “Guaranteed” only when the school says every eligible student receives it. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Scholarships guide

Program-specific funding: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and authorization

Institutional accreditation covers the school. Programmatic accreditation is shown only when it is named for this program — it is never transferred from another department or degree.

Institutional accreditation

  • WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

None verified for this program. Game design degrees do not require one specific specialized accreditation.

State authorization for online students

  • Enrollment is restricted for applicants in areas where online programs are not approved; students should consult the State Authorization for Distance Education Status Table. Official pageSource: academyart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last checked October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — WSCUC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. academyart.edu/academicpolicies — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. academyart.edu/academics/game-development/degrees/game-development-mfa/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. academyart.edu/academics/game-development/degrees/game-programming-bs/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. academyart.edu/admissions/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. academyart.edu/admissions/cost-financial-aid/cost-of-attendance/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. academyart.edu/artu-catalog-pdf — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Suggest an update · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and primary field. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Brigham Young University logo

Brigham Young University

Computer Science: Animation and Games Emphasis

Bachelor'sBSNamed concentration

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

Concentration in Computer Science (BS) — Animation and Games Emphasis

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Provo, UT
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $3,548 per semester · Undergraduate, Latter-day Saint, 12.0+ credit hours, Fall/Winter semester · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

DePaul University

Game Programming

Bachelor'sBS

Bachelor of Science in Game Programming

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Chicago, IL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 192 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $48,180 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate, 12-18 credit hours, Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media and other colleges, 2026 admit year · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

DePaul University

Computer Science (BS), Game Systems Concentration

Bachelor'sBSNamed concentration

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

Concentration in Bachelor of Science in Computer Science — Game Systems Concentration

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Chicago, ILInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 192 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $48,180 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate, 12-18 credit hours, Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media and other colleges, 2026 admit year (university table; not stated to apply to online study) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

GameDesignSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Academy of Art University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.