Skip to content
Game DesignSchools
Brigham Young University logo

Brigham Young University · Computer Science Department

Computer Science: Animation and Games Emphasis

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

Bachelor'sBSGame ProgrammingNamed concentration

Overview

A limited-enrollment BS in Computer Science emphasis that adds graphics, animation and game production to computer science fundamentals. Students take prerequisite courses, apply to the program, and collaborate each year with Animation BFA students on an animated film and a game.

Official program title
Computer Science: Animation and Games Emphasis
Exact award
Bachelor of Science in Computer Science
Source: catalog.byu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Discipline
Degree type
Named concentration“Animation and Games Emphasis” within the Computer Science (BS). The degree you receive is the parent degree; the concentration is how the school names the game-focused pathway.
School and department
Source: animation.byu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Provo, UT
Why this program is listed

Officially named Animation and Games Emphasis within the BS in Computer Science, listed in the university catalog.

Source: catalog.byu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list dedicated game degrees and officially named game concentrations at institutionally accredited US schools. Eligibility rules

Format, length and attendance

Delivery, campus attendance, schedule and study intensity are separate facts, each shown only as the school states it. Online coursework does not by itself mean there is no residency, exhibition, internship or proctored exam.
Delivery
On campusClasses meet on campus.Classes meet on campus.
Source: animation.byu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendanceClasses meet on campus (campus and hybrid programs).
Study intensity
Not published
Duration
Not verified
Credits
Major requirements: 77-81.5 credit hours
Source: catalog.byu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Entry routes

The pages we checked do not state whether first-year, transfer or degree-completion applicants are admitted to this program.

Prerequisite courses
RequiredPrerequisite courses (Intro to Computer Science, Exploring CS, Data Structures, Careers in CS, Intro to 3D Graphics, Intro to Animation) and admission to the program
Source: catalog.byu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

What the school publishes about the program's game design, programming, art and production content. Tools and engines are listed only when the school names them — a program not listed as teaching Unity or Unreal may still use them, but we have not verified it.

Requirements include computer systems, algorithms, software construction, computer graphics and intermediate 3D graphics, a choice of Real-time Techniques or Materials and Surfacing, and 6 hours of animated film or video game production courses.

Programming content

  • Core includes Computer Systems, Discrete Structures, Advanced Software Construction, Algorithm Design and Analysis, Systems Programming and Computer Graphics.
    Source: catalog.byu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Choice of Real-time Techniques or Materials and Surfacing.
    Source: catalog.byu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Production and team projects

  • Six hours chosen from Animated Film Production 1-3 and Video Game Production 1-2.
    Source: catalog.byu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Each year students collaborate with Animation BFA students to create an animated film and a game.
    Source: cs.byu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Capstone

  • Student-led film and video game capstone projects; students may pitch a film or game idea and juniors vote on the project.
    Source: animation.byu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tools and engines named by the school

  • Maya, Unreal Engine, Adobe products, Houdini and Storyboard Pro are available to students.
    Source: animation.byu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Hardware and software requirements

No hardware or software requirement published on the pages we checked.

Admissions and portfolio

Required, optional and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Portfolio

Portfolio required

After acceptance to BYU, students declare pre-major intent, take DESAN 101, finish prerequisite classes and submit a portfolio for board review; passing the portfolio review admits them to the major. Students can apply twice.

Official portfolio instructions

Source: animation.byu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredAdmission to Brigham Young University must precede acceptance to the animation program; non-members must live the BYU Honor Code.
Source: animation.byu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

SAT/ACT and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances. How to prepare a game design portfolio

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the intake the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and costs

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Undergraduate, Latter-day Saint, 12.0+ credit hours, Fall/Winter semesterFrom the school-wide rate table for this level$3,548per semester · 2026-2027Source: enrollment.byu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Undergraduate, non-Latter-day Saint, 12.0+ credit hours, Fall/Winter semesterFrom the school-wide rate table for this level$7,096per semester · 2026-2027Source: enrollment.byu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Understanding tuition and equipment costs

Scholarships, assistantships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for students at this level. “Guaranteed” only when the school says every eligible student receives it. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Scholarships guide

Program-specific funding: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and authorization

Institutional accreditation covers the school. Programmatic accreditation is shown only when it is named for this program — it is never transferred from another department or degree.

Institutional accreditation

  • Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

None verified for this program. Game design degrees do not require one specific specialized accreditation.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last checked October 12, 2026.
  1. animation.byu.edu/facilities — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. animation.byu.edu/faq — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. animation.byu.edu/prospectivestudents — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. catalog.byu.edu/programs/34714 — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  5. cs.byu.edu/Undergraduate/cs-animation-and-games — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. enrollment.byu.edu/tuition — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. DAPIP — NWCCU institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Suggest an update · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and primary field. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

DePaul University

Game Programming

Bachelor'sBS

Bachelor of Science in Game Programming

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Chicago, IL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 192 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $48,180 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate, 12-18 credit hours, Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media and other colleges, 2026 admit year · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

DePaul University

Computer Science (BS), Game Systems Concentration

Bachelor'sBSNamed concentration

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

Concentration in Bachelor of Science in Computer Science — Game Systems Concentration

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Chicago, ILInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 192 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $48,180 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate, 12-18 credit hours, Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media and other colleges, 2026 admit year (university table; not stated to apply to online study) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
DigiPen Institute of Technology logo

DigiPen Institute of Technology

BS in Computer Science in Real-Time Interactive Simulation

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entry

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science in Real-Time Interactive Simulation

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Redmond, WA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio not required (stated)
Duration: usually eight semesters of 15 weeks each, or a total of four academic years · 134 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $20,410 per semester · All students — Undergraduate (Full-Time), flat rate for 15-22 credits per semester · 2026-2027
Next deadline: November 9, 2026 · Spring 2027
View program

GameDesignSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Brigham Young University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.