Skip to content
Game DesignSchools
DigiPen Institute of Technology logo

DigiPen Institute of Technology · Department of Computer Science

BS in Computer Science in Real-Time Interactive Simulation

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science in Real-Time Interactive Simulation

Bachelor'sBSGame ProgrammingDedicated degree

Overview

A four-year, 134-credit campus BS in Redmond focused on C/C++ programming, custom game engine development and computer graphics, with a yearly interdisciplinary game team project.

Official program title
BS in Computer Science in Real-Time Interactive Simulation
Exact award
Bachelor of Science in Computer Science in Real-Time Interactive Simulation
Source: digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Discipline
Degree type
Dedicated degree
School and department
Source: redmond-digipen-catalog.cleancatalog.io · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Redmond, WA
Why this program is listed

Dedicated computer science degree in real-time interactive simulation: DigiPen's official pages describe students building game engines and team-developed games each year. Listed as a game programming degree; the award is a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science in Real-Time Interactive Simulation.

Source: digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list dedicated game degrees and officially named game concentrations at institutionally accredited US schools. Eligibility rules

Format, length and attendance

Delivery, campus attendance, schedule and study intensity are separate facts, each shown only as the school states it. Online coursework does not by itself mean there is no residency, exhibition, internship or proctored exam.
Delivery
On campusClasses meet on campus.Classes meet on campus.
Source: digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendanceClasses meet on campus (campus and hybrid programs).
Study intensity
Not published
Duration
usually eight semesters of 15 weeks each, or a total of four academic years
Source: redmond-digipen-catalog.cleancatalog.io · verified October 12, 2026
Credits
at least 134 credits
Source: redmond-digipen-catalog.cleancatalog.io · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Entry routes

  • First-year entry. Open to first-time college students (freshman admission).Source: digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

What the school publishes about the program's game design, programming, art and production content. Tools and engines are listed only when the school names them — a program not listed as teaching Unity or Unreal may still use them, but we have not verified it.

Students start with C and C++, build a custom game engine from the second year, and join an interdisciplinary team each year to create a playable game.

Programming content

  • Build a custom game engine from scratch in the second year
    Source: digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Fundamentals of C, C++ and other lower-level languages
    Source: digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Production and team projects

  • Each year students join an interdisciplinary team to create a playable game
    Source: digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Hardware and software requirements

No hardware or software requirement published on the pages we checked.

Admissions and portfolio

Required, optional and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Portfolio

Portfolio not required (stated)

DigiPen's computer science bachelor's degrees, including this one, do not require a portfolio.

Source: digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$60 — $60 application fee
Source: digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

SAT / ACT
Optional
Source: digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances. How to prepare a game design portfolio

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the intake the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    November 9, 2026 · for Spring 2027

    Source: digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Early action

    November 15, 2026 · for Fall 2027

    Source: digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    July 1, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and costs

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Undergraduate (Full-Time), flat rate for 15-22 credits per semesterFrom the school-wide rate table for this level$20,410per semester · 2026-2027Source: digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Understanding tuition and equipment costs

Scholarships, assistantships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for students at this level. “Guaranteed” only when the school says every eligible student receives it. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Scholarships guide
  • CS Undergraduate Merit Scholarship Institutional scholarshipCompetitive

    Up to $13,000 per year, renewable for up to four years · Renewable for up to four years

    Eligibility: Undergraduate degree programs in computer science only; automatic consideration upon admission

    Source: digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Dragon Opportunity Scholarship Institutional scholarshipCompetitive

    Up to $10,000 per year, renewable for up to four years · Renewable for up to four years

    Eligibility: Incoming students only, including International Partnership students

    How to apply: Separate application required

    Deadline: April 1 (year not printed)

    Source: digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026

School-wide awards are listed because they apply at this degree level; eligibility conditions apply.

Accreditation and authorization

Institutional accreditation covers the school. Programmatic accreditation is shown only when it is named for this program — it is never transferred from another department or degree.

Institutional accreditation

  • Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (ACCSC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • ABET — Accredited by the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET.Source: digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last checked October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — ACCSC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. redmond-digipen-catalog.cleancatalog.io/computer-science/bachelor-of-science/computer-science-in-rea — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. digipen.edu/academics/game-design-and-development-degrees/bs-in-computer-science-in-real-time-intera — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. digipen.edu/accreditation — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. digipen.edu/admissions/financial-aid/types-of-financial-aid/scholarships — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. digipen.edu/admissions/how-to-apply/admissions-timeline — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. digipen.edu/admissions/how-to-apply/undergraduate-admissions-requirements — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. digipen.edu/admissions/tuition-and-cost — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Suggest an update · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and primary field. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Brigham Young University logo

Brigham Young University

Computer Science: Animation and Games Emphasis

Bachelor'sBSNamed concentration

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

Concentration in Computer Science (BS) — Animation and Games Emphasis

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Provo, UT
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $3,548 per semester · Undergraduate, Latter-day Saint, 12.0+ credit hours, Fall/Winter semester · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

DePaul University

Game Programming

Bachelor'sBS

Bachelor of Science in Game Programming

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Chicago, IL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 192 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $48,180 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate, 12-18 credit hours, Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media and other colleges, 2026 admit year · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

DePaul University

Computer Science (BS), Game Systems Concentration

Bachelor'sBSNamed concentration

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

Concentration in Bachelor of Science in Computer Science — Game Systems Concentration

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Chicago, ILInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 192 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $48,180 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate, 12-18 credit hours, Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media and other colleges, 2026 admit year (university table; not stated to apply to online study) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

GameDesignSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with DigiPen Institute of Technology. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.