Skip to content
Game DesignSchools
Columbia College Chicago logo

Columbia College Chicago

Animation and Computer Graphics, Game Art Concentration

Bachelor of Arts in Animation and Computer Graphics

Bachelor'sBAGame ArtNamed concentration

Overview

The Game Art concentration of Columbia's 120-credit BA in Animation and Computer Graphics (48 credits in the major), offered by the School of Film and Television.

Official program title
Animation and Computer Graphics, Game Art Concentration
Exact award
Bachelor of Arts in Animation and Computer Graphics
Source: catalog.colum.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Discipline
Degree type
Named concentration“Game Art” within the Bachelor of Arts in Animation and Computer Graphics. The degree you receive is the parent degree; the concentration is how the school names the game-focused pathway.
School and department
Location
Chicago, IL
Tracks and concentrations
Traditional Animation; Computer Animation; Game Art; VFX
Source: colum.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Why this program is listed

Officially named Game Art concentration within the BA in Animation and Computer Graphics.

Source: catalog.colum.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list dedicated game degrees and officially named game concentrations at institutionally accredited US schools. Eligibility rules

Format, length and attendance

Delivery, campus attendance, schedule and study intensity are separate facts, each shown only as the school states it. Online coursework does not by itself mean there is no residency, exhibition, internship or proctored exam.
Delivery
On campusClasses meet on campus.Classes meet on campus.
Source: colum.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendanceClasses meet on campus (campus and hybrid programs).
Study intensity
Not published
Duration
Estimated semesters to complete this degree plan: 8 (Four-year student degree plan)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: catalog.colum.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Credits
120 credits; 48 credits in the major
Source: catalog.colum.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Entry routes

The pages we checked do not state whether first-year, transfer or degree-completion applicants are admitted to this program.

Curriculum

What the school publishes about the program's game design, programming, art and production content. Tools and engines are listed only when the school names them — a program not listed as teaching Unity or Unreal may still use them, but we have not verified it.

The 2025-2026 degree plan includes Introduction to Computer Animation, Introduction to Game Development, modeling, keyframing, 3D digital sculpting, shading and surfacing for games, advanced 3D for games, Studio Collaboration, Game Studio I and II, and a six-credit portfolio development course.

Art and animation content

  • Courses include 3D Digital Sculpting, Shading and Surfacing for Games and Advanced 3D for Games.
    Source: catalog.colum.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Production and team projects

Tracks, concentrations and specializations

  • Traditional Animation; Computer Animation; Game Art; VFX
    Source: colum.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Hardware and software requirements

No hardware or software requirement published on the pages we checked.

Admissions and portfolio

Required, optional and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Portfolio

Portfolio required

One created work (short animated clip or film) and a reflection of about 500 words; links must be public or unlisted.

Format: Uploaded to the Portfolio section of Columbia Connect after applying

Official portfolio instructions

Source: colum.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Not requiredNo application fee.
Source: colum.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

SAT / ACT
Not requiredAdmissions process is test-free.
Source: colum.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances. How to prepare a game design portfolio

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the intake the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    November 1, 2026 · for Spring 2027 and Fall 2027 (all terms, 2027 applicants)

    Source: colum.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and costs

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Full-time undergraduate tuition and fees, annual (first term fall 2025 or later)From the school-wide rate table for this level$37,390per academic year · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: colum.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Understanding tuition and equipment costs

Scholarships, assistantships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for students at this level. “Guaranteed” only when the school says every eligible student receives it. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Scholarships guide

Program-specific funding: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and authorization

Institutional accreditation covers the school. Programmatic accreditation is shown only when it is named for this program — it is never transferred from another department or degree.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

None verified for this program. Game design degrees do not require one specific specialized accreditation.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last checked October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.colum.edu/mime/media/24/5614/ACG+Game+Art+Degree+Plan+2025.pdf — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. colum.edu/academics/programs/computer-animation.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. colum.edu/admissions/additional-information/portfolio-and-audition-requirements — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. colum.edu/admissions/requirements/freshman — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. colum.edu/student-financial-services/where-to-start/tuition-fees/2026-27-undergradnew.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Suggest an update · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and primary field. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Full Sail University

Game Art

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Game Art Bachelor of Science

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Winter Park, FLInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: 108 weeks (online) · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $67,000 entire program · All students — Online, Game Art Bachelor of Science, program tuition (October - December 2026 table; $558 average per credit hour)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

DePaul University

Animation (BFA), Game Art Concentration

Bachelor'sBFANamed concentrationFirst-year entry

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Animation

Concentration in Bachelor of Fine Arts in Animation — Game Art Concentration

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Chicago, IL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $48,180 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate, 12-18 credit hours, Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media and other colleges, 2026 admit year · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Advancing Technology

Game Art and Animation

Bachelor'sBAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Arts in Game Art and Animation

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Tempe, AZInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $10,300 per semester · All students — UAT-Online/Hybrid tuition, per 12-credit semester (2025-2026) · 2025-2026
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

GameDesignSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Columbia College Chicago. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.