Skip to content
Game DesignSchools

Game Art Degrees

Game art and game art & design degrees: 2D and 3D art, characters, environments, technical art and animation for games — typically portfolio-based admission.

Listed alphabetically by school. This directory is not a ranking. What we list

Academy of Art University logo

Academy of Art University

Game Art

Bachelor'sBFAFirst-year entry

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Art

Field: Game Art
Administering location: San Francisco, CAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio not required (stated)
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,682 per credit · International — Undergraduate, international students, per unit (Fall 2026-Summer 2027) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: January 25, 2027 · Spring 2027
View program
Bradley University logo

Bradley University

Game Art

Bachelor'sBA or BSTransfer entry

Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Science in Game Art

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Peoria, IL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $43,718 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate full-time tuition (12-16 credit hours per semester) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program
California State University-Chico logo

California State University-Chico

Computer Animation and Game Development

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entry

Bachelor of Science in Computer Animation and Game Development

Field: Game Development · Game Art
Administering location: Chico, CA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $6,838 per academic year · In-state — Undergraduate tuition, California resident, full-time (estimated standard budget) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Champlain College

Game Art

Bachelor'sBFAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Art

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Burlington, VT
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $49,500 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate tuition (on campus) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: November 15, 2026 · Fall 2027
View program
Columbia College Chicago logo

Columbia College Chicago

Animation and Computer Graphics, Game Art Concentration

Bachelor'sBANamed concentration

Bachelor of Arts in Animation and Computer Graphics

Concentration in Bachelor of Arts in Animation and Computer Graphics — Game Art

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Chicago, IL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Estimated semesters to complete this degree plan: 8 (Four-year student degree plan) · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $37,390 per academic year · All students — Full-time undergraduate tuition and fees, annual (first term fall 2025 or later) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: November 1, 2026 · Spring 2027 and Fall 2027 (all terms, 2027 applicants)
View program

DePaul University

Animation (BFA), Game Art Concentration

Bachelor'sBFANamed concentrationFirst-year entry

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Animation

Concentration in Bachelor of Fine Arts in Animation — Game Art Concentration

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Chicago, IL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $48,180 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate, 12-18 credit hours, Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media and other colleges, 2026 admit year · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

DePaul University

Computer Science + Animation (BS), Game Art Technical Director Concentration

Bachelor'sBSNamed concentration

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science + Animation

Concentration in Bachelor of Science in Computer Science + Animation — Game Art Technical Director

Field: Game Art · Game Programming
Administering location: Chicago, IL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 192 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $48,180 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate, 12-18 credit hours, Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media and other colleges, 2026 admit year · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Eastern Michigan University logo

Eastern Michigan University

Simulation, Animation and Gaming

Bachelor'sBS

Bachelor of Science in Simulation, Animation and Gaming

Field: Game-focused Interactive Media · Game Art
Administering location: Ypsilanti, MI
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $717.50 per credit · All students — Undergraduate, 1-11 credit hours · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program
Ferris State University logo

Ferris State University

Digital Animation and Game Design

Bachelor'sBASFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Applied Science in Digital Animation and Game Design

Field: Game Design · Game Art
Administering location: Big Rapids, MI
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $24,416 per academic year · International — Undergraduate tuition, Freshman/Sophomore, international · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Full Sail University

Game Art

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Game Art Bachelor of Science

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Winter Park, FLInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: 108 weeks (online) · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $67,000 entire program · All students — Online, Game Art Bachelor of Science, program tuition (October - December 2026 table; $558 average per credit hour)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Full Sail University

Visual Arts Bachelor of Science Completion Program with a Concentration in Game Art

Bachelor'sBSNamed concentrationDegree completion

Visual Arts Bachelor of Science

Concentration in Visual Arts Bachelor of Science Completion Program — Game Art

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Winter Park, FLInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: 52 weeks (online) · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $30,000 entire program · All students — Online, Visual Arts BS Completion with a Game Art Concentration, program tuition (October - December 2026 table; $500 average per credit hour)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Laguna College of Art and Design

Game Development

Bachelor'sBFAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Development

Field: Game Development · Game Art
Administering location: Laguna Beach, CA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: four-year curriculum · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,775 per credit · All students — BFA part-time enrollment, per unit · 2027-2028
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program

New England Institute of Technology

Video Game Design

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Science in Video Game Design

Field: Game Design · Game Art
Administering location: East Greenwich, RI
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 188 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program
Northeastern University logo

Northeastern University

Game Art and Animation

Bachelor'sBFAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Art and Animation

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Boston, MA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio optional
Duration: Duration not verified · 130 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $35,525 per term · All students — Undergraduate full-time tuition, per term · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Ringling College of Art and Design

Game Art (BFA)

Bachelor'sBFAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Art

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Sarasota, FL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $2,600 per credit · All students — Part-time enrollment (less than 12 hours), per credit hour · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program
Rochester Institute of Technology logo

Rochester Institute of Technology

3D Digital Design BFA – Game Arts Option

Bachelor'sBFANamed concentrationFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Fine Arts in 3D Digital Design

Concentration in 3D Digital Design BFA — Game Arts Option

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Rochester, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $63,508 per academic year · All students — New Undergraduate Students, Full Time Tuition for Domestic and International Students (12-18 credit hours) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design

Game Art

Bachelor'sBFAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Art

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Lakewood, CO
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio optional
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $850 per credit · All students — Undergraduate, on campus + online students, Fall 2026 onward, per credit (includes semester and equipment fees)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design

Game Art Online

Bachelor'sBFAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Art

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Lakewood, COInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required. · Asynchronous
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio optional
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $850 per credit · All students — Undergraduate, on campus + online students, Fall 2026 onward, per credit (includes semester and equipment fees)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Shawnee State University

Game & Simulation Arts

Bachelor'sBFA

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game & Simulation Arts

Field: Game Art · Game-focused Interactive Media
Administering location: Portsmouth, OH
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: 4 years (typical)
Tuition: Tuition: $5,243.16 per semester · In-state — Ohio resident or in-state, full-time (12-18 credit hours), tuition & fees per semester, first-time freshmen Autumn 2026 · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Southern Methodist University logo

Southern Methodist University

Game Development B.A.

Bachelor'sBATransfer entry

Bachelor of Arts in Game Development

Field: Game Development · Game Art
Administering location: Dallas, TX
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program