Skip to content
Game DesignSchools
DigiPen Institute of Technology logo

DigiPen Institute of Technology

MS in Game Development (Online)

Master of Science in Game Development

Master'sMSGame DevelopmentDedicated degreeOnline

Overview

A 30-credit online MS in Game Development completed in five part-time semesters, with C++ and game design coursework and a team capstone game project.

Official program title
MS in Game Development (Online)
Exact award
Master of Science in Game Development
Source: online.digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Discipline
Degree type
Dedicated degree
School and department
Location
Redmond, WAFor an online program this is where the school is based — not a residency requirement, and not proof that students in every state may enroll.
Why this program is listed

Dedicated online Master of Science in Game Development.

Source: online.digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list dedicated game degrees and officially named game concentrations at institutionally accredited US schools. Eligibility rules

Format, length and attendance

Delivery, campus attendance, schedule and study intensity are separate facts, each shown only as the school states it. Online coursework does not by itself mean there is no residency, exhibition, internship or proctored exam.
Delivery
Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.
Source: online.digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
No required physical attendance (verified)The institution states that the program can be completed without coming to campus.
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Class schedule
Synchronous / asynchronous not verified
Study intensity
Part-time
Source: online.digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
five semesters part-time
Source: online.digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Credits
30 credits
Source: online.digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: online.digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

What the school publishes about the program's game design, programming, art and production content. Tools and engines are listed only when the school names them — a program not listed as teaching Unity or Unreal may still use them, but we have not verified it.

Two core computer science courses (data structures and object-oriented C++), six game development courses covering design principles, technical, system, level and UX design methods and industry trends, and a capstone project.

Curriculum overview

  • Two core computer science courses, six game development courses and a capstone experience
    Source: online.digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Game design topics

  • Courses in game design principles, technical design, system design, level design and UX design methods
    Source: online.digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Programming content

Capstone

Hardware and software requirements

No hardware or software requirement published on the pages we checked.

Admissions and portfolio

Required, optional and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Portfolio

Portfolio policy not published

The school's pages we checked do not state a portfolio policy for this program. That does not mean no portfolio is required — ask the admissions office.

Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from an accredited institution
Source: online.digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RecommendedMinimum 2.5 — Minimum undergraduate GPA of 2.5 recommended
Source: online.digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
OptionalOptional statement of purpose
Source: online.digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume
Source: online.digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Waived$60 — $60 application fee, waived for Spring 2027
Source: online.digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredAcademic transcripts from all colleges attended
Source: online.digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Optional
Source: online.digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required for some applicants — minimum 6.5Applicants whose first language is not English; no subscore lower than 6.0
Source: online.digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duolingo English Test
Required for some applicants — minimum 115Applicants whose first language is not English
Source: online.digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances. How to prepare a game design portfolio

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the intake the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and costs

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Online graduate (MS in Artificial Intelligence and MS in Game Development), per creditFrom the school's online tuition table$1,666per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$49,980 = 30 credits × $1,666 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published fees

Administrative Fee
$50 per semester
Source: online.digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Understanding tuition and equipment costs

Scholarships, assistantships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for students at this level. “Guaranteed” only when the school says every eligible student receives it. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Scholarships guide
  • Dragon Opportunity Scholarship Institutional scholarshipCompetitive

    Up to $10,000 per year, renewable for up to four years · Renewable for up to four years

    Eligibility: Incoming students only, including International Partnership students

    How to apply: Separate application required

    Deadline: April 1 (year not printed)

    Source: digipen.edu · verified October 12, 2026

School-wide awards are listed because they apply at this degree level; eligibility conditions apply.

Accreditation and authorization

Institutional accreditation covers the school. Programmatic accreditation is shown only when it is named for this program — it is never transferred from another department or degree.

Institutional accreditation

  • Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (ACCSC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

None verified for this program. Game design degrees do not require one specific specialized accreditation.

State authorization for online students

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Washington.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last checked October 12, 2026.
  1. online.digipen.edu/admissions — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. online.digipen.edu/admissions/tuition-and-financial-aid — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. online.digipen.edu/masters-in-game-development — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. DAPIP — ACCSC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  5. digipen.edu/admissions/financial-aid/types-of-financial-aid/scholarships — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Suggest an update · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and primary field. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Utah logo

University of Utah

Master of Entertainment Arts and Engineering

Master'sMEAE

Master of Entertainment Arts and Engineering

Field: Game Development · Game Design
Administering location: Salt Lake City, UT
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus. · Full-time
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required for some pathways
Duration: two years (fall and spring semesters only)
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Advancing Technology

Game Production and Management

Master'sMS

Master of Science in Game Production and Management

Field: Game Development
Administering location: Tempe, AZInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $9,500 per semester · All students — Graduate (master's) tuition, per semester (2025-2026, flat rate) · 2025-2026
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Academy of Art University logo

Academy of Art University

Game Development

Master'sMA

Master of Arts in Game Development

Field: Game Development
Administering location: San Francisco, CAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,857 per credit · International — Graduate, international students, per unit (Fall 2026-Summer 2027) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: January 25, 2027 · Spring 2027
View program

GameDesignSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with DigiPen Institute of Technology. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.