Skip to content
Game DesignSchools
Lawrence Technological University logo

Lawrence Technological University · Department of Math and Computer Science

Computer Science - Concentration in Game Software Development

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

Bachelor'sBSGame ProgrammingNamed concentration

Overview

A campus BS in Computer Science with a Game Software Development concentration in Southfield, combining the computer science core with game development courses, integrated game studios shared with Game Design students, and a senior project.

Official program title
Computer Science - Concentration in Game Software Development
Exact award
Bachelor of Science in Computer Science
Source: ltu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Discipline
Degree type
Named concentration“Game Software Development” within the Bachelor of Science in Computer Science. The degree you receive is the parent degree; the concentration is how the school names the game-focused pathway.
School and department
Source: ltu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Southfield, MI
Why this program is listed

Officially named Game Software Development concentration within the BS in Computer Science.

Source: ltu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list dedicated game degrees and officially named game concentrations at institutionally accredited US schools. Eligibility rules

Format, length and attendance

Delivery, campus attendance, schedule and study intensity are separate facts, each shown only as the school states it. Online coursework does not by itself mean there is no residency, exhibition, internship or proctored exam.
Delivery
On campusClasses meet on campus.Classes meet on campus.
Source: ltu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendanceClasses meet on campus (campus and hybrid programs).
Study intensity
Not published
Duration
Not verified
Credits
Not verified
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: ltu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Entry routes

The pages we checked do not state whether first-year, transfer or degree-completion applicants are admitted to this program.

Curriculum

What the school publishes about the program's game design, programming, art and production content. Tools and engines are listed only when the school names them — a program not listed as teaching Unity or Unreal may still use them, but we have not verified it.

The published sequence includes Intro to Game Development, Computer Science 1 in C++, Game Genre Development, Integrated Game Studio courses, Computer Graphics Programming, game electives and a Senior Project.

Game design topics

  • Game Genre Development: creating games in several genres and implementing requirements for different hardware platforms.
    Source: ltu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Programming content

  • Computer Science 1: introduction to programming with C++.
    Source: ltu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Computer Graphics Programming (APIs, interactive 2D/3D graphics).
    Source: ltu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Production and team projects

  • Integrated Game Studio 1: team-based game prototype with task tracking, weekly meetings, game testing and version control.
    Source: ltu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Capstone

  • Senior Project, with Senior Project 2 as a continuation for projects that cannot be completed in one semester.
    Source: ltu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published details

  • Annual trip to the Game Developers Conference in San Francisco each March.
    Source: ltu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Hardware and software requirements

Hardware
LTU provides a Lenovo ThinkPad P1 G5 to undergraduates in the College of Architecture and Design and in Game Software Development; a $500 security deposit is required.Cost as published: 500
Source: ltu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions and portfolio

Required, optional and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Portfolio

Portfolio policy not published

The school's pages we checked do not state a portfolio policy for this program. That does not mean no portfolio is required — ask the admissions office.

Other admission requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tests

SAT / ACT
OptionalUniversity-wide test-optional policy for first-year applicants.
Source: ltu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances. How to prepare a game design portfolio

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the intake the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and costs

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Understanding tuition and equipment costs

Scholarships, assistantships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for students at this level. “Guaranteed” only when the school says every eligible student receives it. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Scholarships guide

Program-specific funding: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and authorization

Institutional accreditation covers the school. Programmatic accreditation is shown only when it is named for this program — it is never transferred from another department or degree.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

None verified for this program. Game design degrees do not require one specific specialized accreditation.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last checked October 12, 2026.
  1. ltu.edu/admissions/first-year-students/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. ltu.edu/ehelp/laptop-program/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. ltu.edu/programs/computer-science-game-software-development/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Suggest an update · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and primary field. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Brigham Young University logo

Brigham Young University

Computer Science: Animation and Games Emphasis

Bachelor'sBSNamed concentration

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

Concentration in Computer Science (BS) — Animation and Games Emphasis

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Provo, UT
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $3,548 per semester · Undergraduate, Latter-day Saint, 12.0+ credit hours, Fall/Winter semester · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

DePaul University

Game Programming

Bachelor'sBS

Bachelor of Science in Game Programming

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Chicago, IL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 192 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $48,180 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate, 12-18 credit hours, Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media and other colleges, 2026 admit year · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

DePaul University

Computer Science (BS), Game Systems Concentration

Bachelor'sBSNamed concentration

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

Concentration in Bachelor of Science in Computer Science — Game Systems Concentration

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Chicago, ILInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 192 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $48,180 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate, 12-18 credit hours, Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media and other colleges, 2026 admit year (university table; not stated to apply to online study) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

GameDesignSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Lawrence Technological University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.