Skip to content
Game DesignSchools
Northeastern University logo

Northeastern University · Art + Design, College of Arts, Media and Design

Game Art and Animation

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Art and Animation

Bachelor'sBFAGame ArtDedicated degree

Overview

A BFA in Game Art and Animation at the Boston campus focused on visual art, animation and asset creation for games, with at least four interdisciplinary courses taken with students in the other game degrees.

Official program title
Game Art and Animation
Exact award
Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Art and Animation
Source: catalog.northeastern.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Discipline
Degree type
Dedicated degree
School and department
Source: catalog.northeastern.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Boston, MA
Why this program is listed

Dedicated BFA in Game Art and Animation (Boston).

Source: catalog.northeastern.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list dedicated game degrees and officially named game concentrations at institutionally accredited US schools. Eligibility rules

Format, length and attendance

Delivery, campus attendance, schedule and study intensity are separate facts, each shown only as the school states it. Online coursework does not by itself mean there is no residency, exhibition, internship or proctored exam.
Delivery
On campusClasses meet on campus.Classes meet on campus.
Source: catalog.northeastern.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendanceClasses meet on campus (campus and hybrid programs).
Study intensity
Not published
Duration
Not verified
Credits
130 total semester hours (90 in the major)
Source: catalog.northeastern.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Entry routes

Curriculum

What the school publishes about the program's game design, programming, art and production content. Tools and engines are listed only when the school names them — a program not listed as teaching Unity or Unreal may still use them, but we have not verified it.

Requirements include art and design fundamentals, art history, game art courses (Animation Basics, Foundations of Game Design, Games and Society), an animation sequence including Animation for Games, game design electives, Math Fundamentals for Games and a degree project capstone; 90 semester hours in the major and 130 total.

Art and animation content

Production and team projects

Capstone

Internship

Hardware and software requirements

No hardware or software requirement published on the pages we checked.

Admissions and portfolio

Required, optional and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Portfolio

Portfolio optional

Creative portfolio encouraged for College of Arts, Media and Design applicants; submitted through the Application Status Check after applying.

Format: Uploaded via Application Status Check (Media Uploads)

Official portfolio instructions

Source: admissions.northeastern.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — One teacher and one school counselor recommendation
Source: admissions.northeastern.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$75 — $75 non-refundable application fee or fee waiver request
Source: admissions.northeastern.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

SAT / ACT
OptionalTest-optional
Source: admissions.northeastern.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances. How to prepare a game design portfolio

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the intake the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Early decision

    November 1 (Early Decision I) · for Fall (year not printed)

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: admissions.northeastern.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Early decision

    January 1 (Early Decision II) · for Fall (year not printed)

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: admissions.northeastern.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Early action

    November 1 · for Fall (year not printed)

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: admissions.northeastern.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    January 1 (Regular Decision) · for Fall (year not printed)

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: admissions.northeastern.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and costs

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Undergraduate full-time tuition, per termFrom the school-wide rate table for this level$35,525per term · 2026-2027Source: studentfinance.northeastern.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published fees

Comprehensive fee (Boston, Oakland, and NYC), per semester; maximum $1,576 per year
$788 per semester
Source: studentfinance.northeastern.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Understanding tuition and equipment costs

Scholarships, assistantships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for students at this level. “Guaranteed” only when the school says every eligible student receives it. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Scholarships guide

Program-specific funding: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and authorization

Institutional accreditation covers the school. Programmatic accreditation is shown only when it is named for this program — it is never transferred from another department or degree.

Institutional accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

None verified for this program. Game design degrees do not require one specific specialized accreditation.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last checked October 12, 2026.
  1. admissions.northeastern.edu/application-information/admissions-deadlines-decisions/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. admissions.northeastern.edu/application-information/required-materials/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. admissions.northeastern.edu/apply/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. catalog.northeastern.edu/undergraduate/arts-media-design/art-design/game-art-animation-bfa/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  5. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  6. studentfinance.northeastern.edu/billing-payments/tuition-and-fees/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Suggest an update · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and primary field. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Full Sail University

Game Art

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Game Art Bachelor of Science

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Winter Park, FLInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: 108 weeks (online) · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $67,000 entire program · All students — Online, Game Art Bachelor of Science, program tuition (October - December 2026 table; $558 average per credit hour)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

DePaul University

Animation (BFA), Game Art Concentration

Bachelor'sBFANamed concentrationFirst-year entry

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Animation

Concentration in Bachelor of Fine Arts in Animation — Game Art Concentration

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Chicago, IL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $48,180 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate, 12-18 credit hours, Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media and other colleges, 2026 admit year · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Advancing Technology

Game Art and Animation

Bachelor'sBAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Arts in Game Art and Animation

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Tempe, AZInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $10,300 per semester · All students — UAT-Online/Hybrid tuition, per 12-credit semester (2025-2026) · 2025-2026
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

GameDesignSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Northeastern University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.