Skip to content
Game DesignSchools

Ringling College of Art and Design · Game Art

Game Art (BFA)

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Art

Bachelor'sBFAGame ArtDedicated degree

Overview

A 120-credit campus BFA in Game Art in Sarasota with a 48-credit game major covering 3D for games, game design, visual development and programming for artists, ending in a multi-semester game thesis.

Official program title
Game Art (BFA)
Exact award
Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Art
Source: ringling.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Discipline
Degree type
Dedicated degree
School and department
Source: ringling.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Sarasota, FL
Why this program is listed

Dedicated BFA in Game Art.

Source: ringling.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list dedicated game degrees and officially named game concentrations at institutionally accredited US schools. Eligibility rules

Format, length and attendance

Delivery, campus attendance, schedule and study intensity are separate facts, each shown only as the school states it. Online coursework does not by itself mean there is no residency, exhibition, internship or proctored exam.
Delivery
On campusClasses meet on campus.Classes meet on campus.
Source: ringling.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendanceClasses meet on campus (campus and hybrid programs).
Study intensity
Not published
Duration
Not verified
Credits
Total Credits 120
Source: ringling.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: ringling.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Entry routes

  • First-year entry. Open to first-time college students (freshman admission).Source: ringling.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Transfer entry. Admits students transferring credits from another college.Source: ringling.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

What the school publishes about the program's game design, programming, art and production content. Tools and engines are listed only when the school names them — a program not listed as teaching Unity or Unreal may still use them, but we have not verified it.

After a first-year studio foundation, the major includes Introduction to Visual Development for Game Art, 3D for Games I–IV, Game Design I–III, Programming for Artists, Visual Development for Games I–II, Game Thesis Preproduction and Game Thesis Projects 1A, 1B and II; an internship may replace an open elective.

Game design topics

Programming content

Thesis

  • Game Thesis Preproduction followed by Game Thesis Project 1A, 1B and II
    Source: ringling.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tools and engines named by the school

  • Unreal Engine, Maya, ZBrush, Adobe Suite, Substance suite, Houdini
    Source: ringling.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Internship

  • INTE 301 Internship Experience may be taken in place of an open elective
    Source: ringling.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Hardware and software requirements

Hardware
Game Art students receive a Lenovo multimedia notebook
Source: ringling.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions and portfolio

Required, optional and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Portfolio

Portfolio required

A visual art portfolio is required for all majors; for Game Art, three to five observational drawings from life are required, with optional additional work such as 3D models, game design work, coding or concept art.

Format: Digital submission through the Portfolio portion of the Common Application (SlideRoom)

Official portfolio instructions

Source: ringling.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2 — Minimum 2.0 combined GPA from all previously attended institutions
Source: ringling.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredCommon App essay, 250-650 words
Source: ringling.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$70 — Nonrefundable $70 application fee
Source: ringling.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

SAT / ACT
OptionalNot required; submission encouraged if taken
Source: ringling.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances. How to prepare a game design portfolio

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the intake the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Early decision

    November 1 (binding Early Decision) · for Fall (year not printed)

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: ringling.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission · for Fall (year not printed)

    Source: ringling.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling
  • Scholarship deadline

    February 15 (Presidential Scholarship) · for Fall (year not printed)

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: ringling.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and costs

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Full-time enrollment, per semester (Fall 2026 / Spring 2027)From the school-wide rate table for this level$27,880per semester · 2026-2027Source: ringling.edu · verified October 12, 2026
All students — Part-time enrollment (less than 12 hours), per credit hourFrom the school-wide rate table for this level$2,600per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$312,000 = 120 credits × $2,600 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: ringling.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published fees, including equipment and software

Technology fee, Game Art (years 2, 3, 4), per semester
$2,565 per semester
Source: ringling.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Technology fee, first year, per semester
$1,530 per semester
Source: ringling.edu · verified October 12, 2026
First-year fees (matriculation, student activity, health services, technology), 2026-27
$5,710 per academic year
Source: ringling.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Understanding tuition and equipment costs

Scholarships, assistantships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for students at this level. “Guaranteed” only when the school says every eligible student receives it. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Scholarships guide
  • Presidential Scholarship Institutional scholarshipCompetitive

    Eligibility: One awarded per major; complete application by February 15

    How to apply: Considered when all admissions materials are submitted by the deadline

    Deadline: February 15 (year not printed)

    Source: ringling.edu · verified October 12, 2026

School-wide awards are listed because they apply at this degree level; eligibility conditions apply.

Accreditation and authorization

Institutional accreditation covers the school. Programmatic accreditation is shown only when it is named for this program — it is never transferred from another department or degree.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

None verified for this program. Game design degrees do not require one specific specialized accreditation.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last checked October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. ringling.edu/academic-catalog/game-art — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. ringling.edu/academics/campus-resources/technology/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. ringling.edu/academics/majors/game-art/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. ringling.edu/admissions/apply/admission-requirements/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. ringling.edu/admissions/apply/important-dates/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. ringling.edu/admissions/apply/transfers/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. ringling.edu/admissions/financial-aid-and-tuition/tuition/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Suggest an update · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and primary field. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Full Sail University

Game Art

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Game Art Bachelor of Science

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Winter Park, FLInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: 108 weeks (online) · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $67,000 entire program · All students — Online, Game Art Bachelor of Science, program tuition (October - December 2026 table; $558 average per credit hour)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

DePaul University

Animation (BFA), Game Art Concentration

Bachelor'sBFANamed concentrationFirst-year entry

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Animation

Concentration in Bachelor of Fine Arts in Animation — Game Art Concentration

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Chicago, IL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $48,180 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate, 12-18 credit hours, Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media and other colleges, 2026 admit year · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Advancing Technology

Game Art and Animation

Bachelor'sBAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Arts in Game Art and Animation

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Tempe, AZInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $10,300 per semester · All students — UAT-Online/Hybrid tuition, per 12-credit semester (2025-2026) · 2025-2026
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

GameDesignSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Ringling College of Art and Design. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.