Skip to content
Game DesignSchools

Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design

Game Art

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Art

Bachelor'sBFAGame ArtDedicated degree

Overview

A BFA in Game Art at the Lakewood/Denver campus in which students develop concept art into game-ready assets, characters and worlds, specializing in environment art or character art. On-campus students are also required to take some courses online.

Official program title
Game Art
Exact award
Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Art
Source: rmcad.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Discipline
Degree type
Dedicated degree
School and department
Location
Lakewood, CO
Why this program is listed

Dedicated Game Art BFA offered at the Denver campus.

Source: rmcad.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list dedicated game degrees and officially named game concentrations at institutionally accredited US schools. Eligibility rules

Format, length and attendance

Delivery, campus attendance, schedule and study intensity are separate facts, each shown only as the school states it. Online coursework does not by itself mean there is no residency, exhibition, internship or proctored exam.
Delivery
On campusClasses meet on campus.Classes meet on campus.
Source: rmcad.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendanceClasses meet on campus (campus and hybrid programs).
Study intensity
Not published
Duration
Not verified
Credits
Not verified

Entry routes

  • First-year entry. Open to first-time college students (freshman admission).Source: rmcad.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Transfer entry. Admits students transferring credits from another college.Source: rmcad.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

What the school publishes about the program's game design, programming, art and production content. Tools and engines are listed only when the school names them — a program not listed as teaching Unity or Unreal may still use them, but we have not verified it.

The curriculum combines 48 credits of game art courses, 45 credits of liberal arts, 24 credits of foundations and 6 credits of studio electives, covering 3D modeling, texturing, rigging, surfacing and lighting for real-time engines.

Curriculum overview

  • Liberal Arts courses: 45 credits
    Source: rmcad.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Foundations courses: 24 credits
    Source: rmcad.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Game Art courses: 48 credits
    Source: rmcad.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • 3D modeling, texturing, rigging, surfacing and lighting for real-time engines
    Source: rmcad.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Art and animation content

  • Game Art courses (48 credits) include Digital Painting for Film + Games, 3D Fundamentals, Fundamentals of Animation, Environment Creation I and Character Creation I.
    Source: rmcad.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Environment Creation I
    Source: rmcad.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Character Creation I
    Source: rmcad.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Studio electives (6 credits) include Game Animation + Motion Capture, Character Rigging, Worldbuilding and Experimental Animation.
    Source: rmcad.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tools and engines named by the school

  • Autodesk Maya, Adobe Creative Suite, Maxon ZBrush, Substance Suite
    Source: rmcad.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Specializations

  • Specialty in either environment art or character art
    Source: rmcad.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published details

  • On-campus students are required to take some courses online.
    Source: rmcad.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Hardware and software requirements

Hardware
On-campus students must maintain a laptop meeting the Game Art minimum specifications (Windows 11, DirectX 12 GPU, pen tablet); macOS not recommended.
Source: rmcad.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions and portfolio

Required, optional and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Portfolio

Portfolio optional

Not listed as an admission requirement; a portfolio is needed to be considered for a scholarship (Artistic Aptitude Scholarship: at least ten pieces plus an artist statement via SlideRoom). Suggested content: 3D models, character designs, animation projects and traditional skills.

Format: SlideRoom (rmcad.slideroom.com) for scholarship consideration

Official portfolio instructions

Source: rmcad.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prior degree
RequiredHigh school diploma or equivalent and completion of the application process
Source: rmcad.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredArtist meeting with an admissions representative
Source: rmcad.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial high school and college transcripts (college transcripts for transfer students)
Source: rmcad.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

SAT/ACT and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances. How to prepare a game design portfolio

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the intake the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and costs

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Undergraduate, on campus + online students, Fall 2026 onward, per credit (includes semester and equipment fees)From the school-wide rate table for this level$850per credit · academic year not printedIncludes feesSource: rmcad.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Understanding tuition and equipment costs

Scholarships, assistantships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for students at this level. “Guaranteed” only when the school says every eligible student receives it. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Scholarships guide
  • Artistic Aptitude Scholarship Institutional scholarshipCompetitive

    $450 per semester full-time (12+ credits); $225 part-time summer

    Eligibility: New incoming students; awarded on portfolio strength; maintain 3.0+ GPA

    Source: rmcad.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Academic Achievement Scholarship Institutional scholarship

    $450 per semester full-time (12+ credits)

    Eligibility: New incoming students with cumulative GPA 3.5+; automatically considered

    Source: rmcad.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Accreditation and authorization

Institutional accreditation covers the school. Programmatic accreditation is shown only when it is named for this program — it is never transferred from another department or degree.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

None verified for this program. Game design degrees do not require one specific specialized accreditation.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last checked October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. rmcad.edu/academics/program-materials/game-art/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. rmcad.edu/academics/program/on-campus/game-art/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. rmcad.edu/admissions/admissions-info/transfer-students/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. rmcad.edu/admissions/financial-aid-tuition/tuition-fees/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Suggest an update · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and primary field. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Full Sail University

Game Art

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Game Art Bachelor of Science

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Winter Park, FLInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: 108 weeks (online) · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $67,000 entire program · All students — Online, Game Art Bachelor of Science, program tuition (October - December 2026 table; $558 average per credit hour)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

DePaul University

Animation (BFA), Game Art Concentration

Bachelor'sBFANamed concentrationFirst-year entry

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Animation

Concentration in Bachelor of Fine Arts in Animation — Game Art Concentration

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Chicago, IL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $48,180 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate, 12-18 credit hours, Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media and other colleges, 2026 admit year · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Advancing Technology

Game Art and Animation

Bachelor'sBAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Arts in Game Art and Animation

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Tempe, AZInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $10,300 per semester · All students — UAT-Online/Hybrid tuition, per 12-credit semester (2025-2026) · 2025-2026
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

GameDesignSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.