Skip to content
Game DesignSchools
University of Silicon Valley logo

University of Silicon Valley · Game Design and Development Department

Game Engineering

Bachelor of Science in Game Engineering

Bachelor'sBSGame ProgrammingDedicated degreeOnline

Overview

A BS in Game Engineering offered on campus in San Jose or 100% online, combining programming, algorithms, applied mathematics, game engines and graphics with team game production and a capstone.

Official program title
Game Engineering
Exact award
Bachelor of Science in Game Engineering
Source: usv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Discipline
Degree type
Dedicated degree
School and department
Source: usv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
San Jose, CAFor an online program this is where the school is based — not a residency requirement, and not proof that students in every state may enroll.
Why this program is listed

Dedicated BS in Game Engineering (game programming).

Source: usv.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list dedicated game degrees and officially named game concentrations at institutionally accredited US schools. Eligibility rules

Format, length and attendance

Delivery, campus attendance, schedule and study intensity are separate facts, each shown only as the school states it. Online coursework does not by itself mean there is no residency, exhibition, internship or proctored exam.
Delivery
Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.
Source: usv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
No required physical attendance (verified)The institution states that the program can be completed without coming to campus.
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Class schedule
Synchronous / asynchronous not verified
Study intensity
Not published
Duration
Not verified
Credits
Not verified

Entry routes

  • First-year entry. Open to first-time college students (freshman admission).Source: usv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Transfer entry. Admits students transferring credits from another college.Source: usv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transfer credit
Required for some applicantsUndergraduate transfer courses need a minimum grade of C.
Source: usv.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

What the school publishes about the program's game design, programming, art and production content. Tools and engines are listed only when the school names them — a program not listed as teaching Unity or Unreal may still use them, but we have not verified it.

Course highlights include Introduction to Game Production, Game Design II and GUI & Graphics Programming with OpenGL; electives in art, audio or business are available, and a capstone project ships before graduation.

Programming content

  • Programming, algorithms and applied mathematics; game engines, graphics and UI design.
    Source: usv.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Production and team projects

  • USV Studios client-driven projects with peers in design, audio and engineering; 3-5 shipped projects by graduation.
    Source: usv.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Capstone

  • Capstone project showcasing technical and creative skills.
    Source: usv.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tools and engines named by the school

  • OpenGL (GUI & Graphics Programming).
    Source: usv.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Academic calendar

  • Students take 3 courses per term instead of 4.
    Source: usv.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published details

  • Offered on campus in San Jose or 100% online.
    Source: usv.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Hardware and software requirements

No hardware or software requirement published on the pages we checked.

Admissions and portfolio

Required, optional and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Portfolio

Portfolio not required (stated)

No portfolio required for first-time applicants.

Official portfolio instructions

Source: usv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Not requiredNo letters of recommendation.
Source: usv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredSpeak with an admissions advisor as the third application step.
Source: usv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial high school transcripts (transfer students: high school and college transcripts).
Source: usv.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

SAT/ACT and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances. How to prepare a game design portfolio

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the intake the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and costs

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Undergraduate, on-campus, per credit$895per credit · academic year not printedSource: usv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
All students — Undergraduate, online, per credit$674per credit · academic year not printedSource: usv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
All students — Full program total, BA/BS, on-campus (program cost snapshot)$114,400entire program · academic year not printedSource: usv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
All students — Full program total, BA/BS, online (program cost snapshot)$87,880entire program · academic year not printedSource: usv.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published fees, including equipment and software

Campus/Technology Fee (per term)
$500 per term
Source: usv.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Understanding tuition and equipment costs

Scholarships, assistantships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for students at this level. “Guaranteed” only when the school says every eligible student receives it. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Scholarships guide

Program-specific funding: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and authorization

Institutional accreditation covers the school. Programmatic accreditation is shown only when it is named for this program — it is never transferred from another department or degree.

Institutional accreditation

  • WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

None verified for this program. Game design degrees do not require one specific specialized accreditation.

State authorization for online students

  • Approved/exempt for distance education in AK, AZ, CA, CO, FL, HI, ID, IL, IA, LA, ME, MO, NV, ND, NH, NJ, OH, PA, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VT and WA. Official pageSource: usv.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last checked October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — WSCUC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. usv.edu/academics/ba-game-design — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. usv.edu/academics/bs-game-engineering — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. usv.edu/admissions/freshmen — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. usv.edu/admissions/transfers — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. usv.edu/admissions/tuition-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Suggest an update · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and primary field. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Brigham Young University logo

Brigham Young University

Computer Science: Animation and Games Emphasis

Bachelor'sBSNamed concentration

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

Concentration in Computer Science (BS) — Animation and Games Emphasis

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Provo, UT
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $3,548 per semester · Undergraduate, Latter-day Saint, 12.0+ credit hours, Fall/Winter semester · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

DePaul University

Game Programming

Bachelor'sBS

Bachelor of Science in Game Programming

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Chicago, IL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 192 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $48,180 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate, 12-18 credit hours, Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media and other colleges, 2026 admit year · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

DePaul University

Computer Science (BS), Game Systems Concentration

Bachelor'sBSNamed concentration

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

Concentration in Bachelor of Science in Computer Science — Game Systems Concentration

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Chicago, ILInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 192 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $48,180 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate, 12-18 credit hours, Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media and other colleges, 2026 admit year (university table; not stated to apply to online study) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

GameDesignSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Silicon Valley. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.