Skip to content
Game DesignSchools
University of Arizona campus — U of A
U of A. Campus photograph; online students may study remotely. · Photo: Zereshk · CC BY-SA 3.0 · source
University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona

Tucson, AZPublic WSCUCCollege of Information Science

The University of Arizona in Tucson offers game degrees through its College of Information Science: a BS in Game Development on the main campus and through Arizona Online, and a main-campus BA in Game Design. The College of Humanities also offers a BA in Applied Humanities with a Game Studies emphasis through Arizona Online.

Game degrees at University of Arizona

4 programs verified (4 bachelor's). Dedicated game degrees and officially named game concentrations only; the school may offer related courses or minors that are not degrees.

University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona

Game Design

Bachelor'sBATransfer entry

Bachelor of Arts in Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: Tucson, AZ
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: four-year undergraduate degree · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $6,084 per semester · In-state — In-state, main campus, per semester (12+ units), non-guaranteed
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona

Game Development

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Science in Game Development

Field: Game Development
Administering location: Tucson, AZ
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: four-year undergraduate degree · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $6,084 per semester · In-state — In-state, main campus, per semester (12+ units), non-guaranteed
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona

Game Development (Arizona Online)

Bachelor'sBSTransfer entry

Bachelor of Science in Game Development

Field: Game Development
Administering location: Tucson, AZInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 115 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $525 per credit · All students — Arizona Online undergraduate, per credit
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Spring 2027 (Session I)
View program
University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona

Applied Humanities: Game Studies Emphasis

Bachelor'sBANamed concentration

Bachelor of Arts in Applied Humanities

Concentration in Bachelor of Arts in Applied Humanities — Game Studies

Field: Game Studies & Research
Administering location: Tucson, AZInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Limited campus visits or residency
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $525 per credit · All students — Arizona Online undergraduate, per credit
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Spring 2027 (Session I)
View program

Department, studios and facilities

As the school describes them. Facilities are campus resources unless the school states that online students can use them.

Accreditation

  • WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since February 24, 2023

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Institutional accreditation covers the whole institution. Programmatic accreditation (for example NASAD for an art and design unit) is shown on a program page only when the school names it for that program.

Online enrollment by state

Whether the school can enroll online students from your state, as it publishes it.

State authorization

  • The University of Arizona obtains authorization from individual states and territories to enroll students residing outside Arizona; Arizona Online courses with internship, field experience or clinical components may not be available in some U.S. territories.
    Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institution

Official name
University of Arizona
Control
Public
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Main location
1401 E University Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85721-0066
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Students enrolled exclusively in distance education
10,935 of 53,001 students (Fall 2023)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Doctoral research beyond game degrees

Broader doctorates at this school where game-related research may be possible. They are not game PhD programs and are not listed as such.

Game studies and doctoral research

Sources

Last verified October 12, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. catalog.arizona.edu/programs/GMBVBA — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. infosci.arizona.edu/bs-game-development — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. infosci.arizona.edu/xrg-lab — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  5. IPEDS Fall 2023 enrollment by distance-education status (EF2023A_DIST) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  6. online.arizona.edu/about/eligibility-state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. online.arizona.edu/programs/undergraduate/online-bachelor-arts-applied-humanities-game-studies-ba — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. online.arizona.edu/programs/undergraduate/online-bachelor-science-game-development-bs — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. DAPIP — WSCUC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Suggest an update · Claim this profile