Skip to content
Game DesignSchools
University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona · College of Information Science

Game Development

Bachelor of Science in Game Development

Bachelor'sBSGame DevelopmentDedicated degree

Overview

A main-campus BS in Game Development in the College of Information Science covering game design, programming, algorithms for games and production, with a required minor or double major and a senior capstone.

Official program title
Game Development
Exact award
Bachelor of Science in Game Development
Source: catalog.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Discipline
Degree type
Dedicated degree
School and department
Source: catalog.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Tucson, AZ
Why this program is listed

Dedicated BS in Game Development (catalog code GDDBS, formerly Game Design and Development).

Source: catalog.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list dedicated game degrees and officially named game concentrations at institutionally accredited US schools. Eligibility rules

Format, length and attendance

Delivery, campus attendance, schedule and study intensity are separate facts, each shown only as the school states it. Online coursework does not by itself mean there is no residency, exhibition, internship or proctored exam.
Delivery
On campusClasses meet on campus.Classes meet on campus.
Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendanceClasses meet on campus (campus and hybrid programs).
Study intensity
Not published
Duration
four-year undergraduate degree
Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Credits
120 units
Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Entry routes

Curriculum

What the school publishes about the program's game design, programming, art and production content. Tools and engines are listed only when the school names them — a program not listed as teaching Unity or Unreal may still use them, but we have not verified it.

The 120-unit degree requires 22 units of core courses, 3 units of research methods/data analysis, 9 units of game development electives and the 3-unit Senior Capstone (ISTA 498); sample-plan courses include GAME 251 Introduction to Game Design, GAME 351 Game Programming, GAME 451 Game Development and GAME 425 Algorithms for Games. A minor of at least 18 units or a double major is required.

Curriculum overview

  • 22 units of core courses, 3 units of research methods/data analysis, 9 units of game development electives and the 3-unit Senior Capstone (ISTA 498).
    Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Game design topics

Programming content

  • GAME 351: Game Programming and GAME 425: Algorithms for Games in the sample plan.
    Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Production and team projects

  • Students build a portfolio of completed games through individual and team-based development.
    Source: catalog.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Capstone

Specializations

  • Advanced electives allow specialization in areas such as graphics programming, network architecture, AI implementation, physics simulation or entrepreneurial development practices.
    Source: catalog.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Hardware and software requirements

No hardware or software requirement published on the pages we checked.

Admissions and portfolio

Required, optional and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Portfolio

Portfolio policy not published

The school's pages we checked do not state a portfolio policy for this program. That does not mean no portfolio is required — ask the admissions office.

Other requirement
Not requiredNo additional admission requirements beyond general University of Arizona undergraduate admission.
Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

SAT/ACT and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances. How to prepare a game design portfolio

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the intake the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Early action

    November 1 (Early Application Deadline) · for Fall (year not printed)

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    May 1 (Regular Decision) · for Fall (year not printed)

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    June 1 (transfer) · for Fall (year not printed), transfer

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    December 1 (transfer) · for Spring (year not printed), transfer

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and costs

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state — In-state, main campus, per semester (12+ units), non-guaranteed$6,084per semester · academic year not printedSource: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Out-of-state — Out-of-state, main campus, per semester (12+ units), non-guaranteed$20,665per semester · academic year not printedSource: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published fees

College fees, in-state, per semester (12+ units)
$450 per semester
Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
College fees, out-of-state, per semester (12+ units)
$650 per semester
Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
University fees, per semester (12+ units)
$869 per semester
Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Understanding tuition and equipment costs

Scholarships, assistantships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for students at this level. “Guaranteed” only when the school says every eligible student receives it. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Scholarships guide

Program-specific funding: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and authorization

Institutional accreditation covers the school. Programmatic accreditation is shown only when it is named for this program — it is never transferred from another department or degree.

Institutional accreditation

  • WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

None verified for this program. Game design degrees do not require one specific specialized accreditation.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last checked October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.arizona.edu/programs/GDDBS — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. catalog.arizona.edu/programs/GMBVBA — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. infosci.arizona.edu/bs-game-development — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. infosci.arizona.edu/bs-game-development/admissions-cost — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. infosci.arizona.edu/bs-game-development/curriculum-courses — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. DAPIP — WSCUC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Suggest an update · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and primary field. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Full Sail University

Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science Completion Program With a Concentration in Game Development

Bachelor'sBSNamed concentrationDegree completion

Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science

Concentration in Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science Completion Program — Game Development

Field: Game Development
Administering location: Winter Park, FLInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: 40 weeks · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Full Sail University

Game Development

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Game Development Bachelor of Science

Field: Game Development · Game Programming
Administering location: Winter Park, FLInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio not required (stated)
Duration: 27 months online; 20 months on campus · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $67,000 entire program · All students — Online, Game Development Bachelor of Science, program tuition (October - December 2026 table; $558 average per credit hour)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Grand Canyon University logo

Grand Canyon University

Game Development

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Science in Game Development

Field: Game Development · Game Programming
Administering location: Phoenix, AZInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $490 per credit · All students — Online
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

GameDesignSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Arizona. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.