Skip to content
Game DesignSchools
University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona · College of Information Science

Game Development (Arizona Online)

Bachelor of Science in Game Development

Bachelor'sBSGame DevelopmentDedicated degreeOnline

Overview

The online version of the University of Arizona BS in Game Development, delivered through Arizona Online with sessions starting every 7 1/2 weeks and a required minor.

Official program title
Game Development (Arizona Online)
Exact award
Bachelor of Science in Game Development
Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Discipline
Degree type
Dedicated degree
School and department
Source: catalog.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Tucson, AZFor an online program this is where the school is based — not a residency requirement, and not proof that students in every state may enroll.
Why this program is listed

Dedicated BS in Game Development delivered through Arizona Online, presented on its own program page with its own credit count and per-credit tuition.

Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list dedicated game degrees and officially named game concentrations at institutionally accredited US schools. Eligibility rules

Format, length and attendance

Delivery, campus attendance, schedule and study intensity are separate facts, each shown only as the school states it. Online coursework does not by itself mean there is no residency, exhibition, internship or proctored exam.
Delivery
Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Campus attendance not verifiedThe pages we checked do not say whether on-site activity is required.
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Class schedule
Synchronous / asynchronous not verified
Study intensity
Not published
Duration
Not verified
Credits
Credits Required: 115
Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Entry routes

Prerequisite courses
RequiredProgram requires Math 113, Math 116 or Math 122B or higher.
Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

What the school publishes about the program's game design, programming, art and production content. Tools and engines are listed only when the school names them — a program not listed as teaching Unity or Unreal may still use them, but we have not verified it.

Published courses include ISTA 130 Computational Thinking and Doing, GAME 251 Introduction to Game Design, GAME 451 Game Development, GAME 462 3D Modeling for Games, ISTA 424 Virtual Reality and GAME 425 Algorithms for Games, which uses Unity and C#.

Art and animation content

Production and team projects

  • GAME 451: Game Development surveys video game production practices, with assignments for a professional portfolio.
    Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tools and engines named by the school

Academic calendar

Other published details

Hardware and software requirements

No hardware or software requirement published on the pages we checked.

Admissions and portfolio

Required, optional and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Portfolio

Portfolio policy not published

The school's pages we checked do not state a portfolio policy for this program. That does not mean no portfolio is required — ask the admissions office.

Application fee
Required$65 — $65 application fee.
Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts from all previously attended colleges and universities.
Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

SAT/ACT and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances. How to prepare a game design portfolio

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the intake the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    December 1, 2026 · for Spring 2027 (Session I)

    Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    February 15, 2027 · for Spring 2027 (Session II)

    Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and costs

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Arizona Online undergraduate, per credit$525per credit · academic year not printedEstimated tuition$60,375 = 115 credits × $525 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published fees

Online program fees for 12+ units
$228
Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
$65Mandatory
Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Understanding tuition and equipment costs

Scholarships, assistantships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for students at this level. “Guaranteed” only when the school says every eligible student receives it. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Scholarships guide

Program-specific funding: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and authorization

Institutional accreditation covers the school. Programmatic accreditation is shown only when it is named for this program — it is never transferred from another department or degree.

Institutional accreditation

  • WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

None verified for this program. Game design degrees do not require one specific specialized accreditation.

State authorization for online students

  • The University of Arizona obtains authorization from individual states and territories to enroll students residing outside Arizona; Arizona Online courses with internship, field experience or clinical components may not be available in some U.S. territories. Official pageSource: online.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last checked October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.arizona.edu/programs/GMBVBA — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. infosci.arizona.edu/bs-game-development/admissions-cost — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. infosci.arizona.edu/bs-game-development/curriculum-courses — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. online.arizona.edu/about/eligibility-state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. online.arizona.edu/admissions/undergraduate-students — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. online.arizona.edu/programs/undergraduate/online-bachelor-science-game-development-bs — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. DAPIP — WSCUC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Suggest an update · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and primary field. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Full Sail University

Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science Completion Program With a Concentration in Game Development

Bachelor'sBSNamed concentrationDegree completion

Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science

Concentration in Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science Completion Program — Game Development

Field: Game Development
Administering location: Winter Park, FLInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: 40 weeks · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Full Sail University

Game Development

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Game Development Bachelor of Science

Field: Game Development · Game Programming
Administering location: Winter Park, FLInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio not required (stated)
Duration: 27 months online; 20 months on campus · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $67,000 entire program · All students — Online, Game Development Bachelor of Science, program tuition (October - December 2026 table; $558 average per credit hour)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Grand Canyon University logo

Grand Canyon University

Game Development

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Science in Game Development

Field: Game Development · Game Programming
Administering location: Phoenix, AZInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $490 per credit · All students — Online
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

GameDesignSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Arizona. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.