Skip to content
Game DesignSchools

Champlain College

Game Development (online)

Bachelor of Science in Game Development

Bachelor'sBSGame DevelopmentDedicated degreeOnline

Overview

A 120-credit online BS in Game Development from Champlain College Online covering game programming in C++, human-computer interaction, game AI, mobile game development and project management, ending in a capstone game project.

Official program title
Game Development (online)
Exact award
Bachelor of Science in Game Development
Source: online.champlain.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Discipline
Degree type
Dedicated degree
School and department
Location
Burlington, VTFor an online program this is where the school is based — not a residency requirement, and not proof that students in every state may enroll.
Why this program is listed

Dedicated online BS in Game Development offered by Champlain College Online.

Source: online.champlain.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list dedicated game degrees and officially named game concentrations at institutionally accredited US schools. Eligibility rules

Format, length and attendance

Delivery, campus attendance, schedule and study intensity are separate facts, each shown only as the school states it. Online coursework does not by itself mean there is no residency, exhibition, internship or proctored exam.
Delivery
Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Source: online.champlain.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Campus attendance not verifiedThe pages we checked do not say whether on-site activity is required.
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Class schedule
Synchronous / asynchronous not verified
Study intensity
Flexible pace
Source: online.champlain.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
3 years, 4 months (With 2 courses per term)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: online.champlain.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Credits
120 total credits; actual total depends on transfer credits accepted
Source: online.champlain.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Spring A, Spring B, Summer A
Source: online.champlain.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Entry routes

Curriculum

What the school publishes about the program's game design, programming, art and production content. Tools and engines are listed only when the school names them — a program not listed as teaching Unity or Unreal may still use them, but we have not verified it.

The program comprises 48 credits of game development courses, 42 credits of general education and 30 credits of general electives; listed tools include Unity, Python and C++.

Programming content

Capstone

Tools and engines named by the school

Hardware and software requirements

Hardware
Technical programs require higher computer specifications; 64GB memory recommended for Game Development students; game program students should plan on Windows 11.
Source: online.champlain.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions and portfolio

Required, optional and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Portfolio

Portfolio policy not published

The school's pages we checked do not state a portfolio policy for this program. That does not mean no portfolio is required — ask the admissions office.

Minimum GPA
RecommendedMinimum 2.5 — Minimum 2.5 GPA recommended; exceptions case by case
Source: online.champlain.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts for all post-secondary coursework
Source: online.champlain.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredCompletion of high school or equivalent (homeschooling, GED)
Source: online.champlain.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

SAT/ACT and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances. How to prepare a game design portfolio

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the intake the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    December 29, 2026 · for Spring 2027 (term A, begins Jan 11)

    Source: online.champlain.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    February 23, 2027 · for Spring 2027 (term B, begins Mar 8)

    Source: online.champlain.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    April 20, 2027 · for Summer 2027 (term A, begins May 3)

    Source: online.champlain.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and costs

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Online undergraduate tuition, Fall '26 - Summer '27$342per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$41,040 = 120 credits × $342 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.champlain.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Champlain alumni, associate degree graduates, veterans and military families, Fall '26 - Summer '27$297per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$35,640 = 120 credits × $297 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.champlain.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Military servicemembers$250per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$30,000 = 120 credits × $250 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.champlain.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published fees

One-time graduation fee
$150 entire program
Source: online.champlain.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Understanding tuition and equipment costs

Scholarships, assistantships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for students at this level. “Guaranteed” only when the school says every eligible student receives it. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Scholarships guide
  • Merit scholarships Institutional scholarship

    Eligibility: First-year applicants to on-campus programs; considered automatically with the admission application.

    How to apply: No separate application.

    Source: champlain.edu · verified October 12, 2026

School-wide awards are listed because they apply at this degree level; eligibility conditions apply.

Accreditation and authorization

Institutional accreditation covers the school. Programmatic accreditation is shown only when it is named for this program — it is never transferred from another department or degree.

Institutional accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

None verified for this program. Game design degrees do not require one specific specialized accreditation.

State authorization for online students

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Vermont.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last checked October 12, 2026.
  1. online.champlain.edu/admission/technology-requirements — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. online.champlain.edu/admission/undergraduate-admissions — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. online.champlain.edu/degrees-certificates/bachelors-game-development — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  5. champlain.edu/admissions/how-to-apply/first-year-applicants/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Suggest an update · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and primary field. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Full Sail University

Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science Completion Program With a Concentration in Game Development

Bachelor'sBSNamed concentrationDegree completion

Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science

Concentration in Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science Completion Program — Game Development

Field: Game Development
Administering location: Winter Park, FLInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: 40 weeks · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Full Sail University

Game Development

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Game Development Bachelor of Science

Field: Game Development · Game Programming
Administering location: Winter Park, FLInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio not required (stated)
Duration: 27 months online; 20 months on campus · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $67,000 entire program · All students — Online, Game Development Bachelor of Science, program tuition (October - December 2026 table; $558 average per credit hour)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Grand Canyon University logo

Grand Canyon University

Game Development

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Science in Game Development

Field: Game Development · Game Programming
Administering location: Phoenix, AZInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $490 per credit · All students — Online
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

GameDesignSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Champlain College. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.