Skip to content
Game DesignSchools
Grand Canyon University logo

Grand Canyon University · College of Engineering and Technology

Game Development

Bachelor of Science in Game Development

Bachelor'sBSGame DevelopmentDedicated degreeOnline

Overview

BS in Game Development offered both on campus (15-week courses) and online (7-week courses) with the same curriculum. Coursework centers on game engines, graphics, AI, networking, physics and testing.

Official program title
Game Development
Exact award
Bachelor of Science in Game Development
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Discipline
Degree type
Dedicated degree
School and department
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Phoenix, AZFor an online program this is where the school is based — not a residency requirement, and not proof that students in every state may enroll.
Why this program is listed

Dedicated BS in Game Development.

Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list dedicated game degrees and officially named game concentrations at institutionally accredited US schools. Eligibility rules

Format, length and attendance

Delivery, campus attendance, schedule and study intensity are separate facts, each shown only as the school states it. Online coursework does not by itself mean there is no residency, exhibition, internship or proctored exam.
Delivery
Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Campus attendance not verifiedThe pages we checked do not say whether on-site activity is required.
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Class schedule
Synchronous / asynchronous not verified
Study intensity
Not published
Duration
Not verified
Credits
120 credits (major 76 credits)
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Entry routes

  • First-year entry. Open to first-time college students (freshman admission).Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Transfer entry. Admits students transferring credits from another college.Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

What the school publishes about the program's game design, programming, art and production content. Tools and engines are listed only when the school names them — a program not listed as teaching Unity or Unreal may still use them, but we have not verified it.

120 credits with a 76-credit major covering game engine architecture, AI for games, real-time network programming, mobile, VR and AR game development, graphics programming, testing and security, plus a four-course Game Creation sequence in which design and programming students produce games together.

Curriculum overview

  • Courses in virtual reality, augmented reality and mobile game development.
    Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Programming content

  • Game engine architecture, AI for game developers, real-time network programming, advanced graphics programming and advanced game programming.
    Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Game Engine Architecture course in which students build their own engine components.
    Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Production and team projects

  • Game Creation 1-4: a four-course series in which design and programming students work together on game production and a portfolio of projects.
    Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Academic calendar

  • Campus courses run 15 weeks; online courses run 7 weeks.
    Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published details

  • Offered in campus and online class settings.
    Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Hardware and software requirements

Hardware
Students provide their own laptop capable of running Adobe Creative Cloud (listed for Game Creation and other GMC courses).
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions and portfolio

Required, optional and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Portfolio

Portfolio policy not published

The school's pages we checked do not state a portfolio policy for this program. That does not mean no portfolio is required — ask the admissions office.

Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.8 — 2.8+ unweighted GPA, or 2.5+ unweighted GPA with ACT 19 / SAT 1000.
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

SAT / ACT
Required for some applicantsACT 19 or SAT 1000 required only for applicants with a 2.5-2.79 unweighted GPA.
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances. How to prepare a game design portfolio

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the intake the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and costs

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Campus$8,250per semester · academic year not printedSource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
All students — Online$490per credit · academic year not printedEstimated tuition$58,800 = 120 credits × $490 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Understanding tuition and equipment costs

Scholarships, assistantships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for students at this level. “Guaranteed” only when the school says every eligible student receives it. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Scholarships guide

Program-specific funding: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and authorization

Institutional accreditation covers the school. Programmatic accreditation is shown only when it is named for this program — it is never transferred from another department or degree.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

None verified for this program. Game design degrees do not require one specific specialized accreditation.

State authorization for online students

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Arizona.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last checked October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. gcu.edu/degree-programs/bachelor-science-game-development — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Suggest an update · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and primary field. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Full Sail University

Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science Completion Program With a Concentration in Game Development

Bachelor'sBSNamed concentrationDegree completion

Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science

Concentration in Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science Completion Program — Game Development

Field: Game Development
Administering location: Winter Park, FLInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: 40 weeks · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Full Sail University

Game Development

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Game Development Bachelor of Science

Field: Game Development · Game Programming
Administering location: Winter Park, FLInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio not required (stated)
Duration: 27 months online; 20 months on campus · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $67,000 entire program · All students — Online, Game Development Bachelor of Science, program tuition (October - December 2026 table; $558 average per credit hour)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona

Game Development

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Science in Game Development

Field: Game Development
Administering location: Tucson, AZ
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: four-year undergraduate degree · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $6,084 per semester · In-state — In-state, main campus, per semester (12+ units), non-guaranteed
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

GameDesignSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Grand Canyon University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.