Skip to content
Game DesignSchools

Full Sail University

Game Development

Game Development Bachelor of Science

Bachelor'sBSGame DevelopmentDedicated degreeOnline

Overview

A 120-credit Bachelor of Science in Game Development offered on campus and online, focused on programming games and interactive systems. The catalog lists a 108-week online sequence and an 80-week campus sequence.

Official program title
Game Development
Exact award
Game Development Bachelor of Science
Source: fullsail.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Discipline
Degree type
Dedicated degree
School and department
Location
Winter Park, FLFor an online program this is where the school is based — not a residency requirement, and not proof that students in every state may enroll.
Why this program is listed

Dedicated Bachelor of Science in Game Development, offered on campus and online.

Source: fullsail.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list dedicated game degrees and officially named game concentrations at institutionally accredited US schools. Eligibility rules

Format, length and attendance

Delivery, campus attendance, schedule and study intensity are separate facts, each shown only as the school states it. Online coursework does not by itself mean there is no residency, exhibition, internship or proctored exam.
Delivery
Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Source: catalog.fullsail.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Campus attendance not verifiedThe pages we checked do not say whether on-site activity is required.
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Class schedule
Synchronous / asynchronous not verified
Study intensity
Not published
Duration
27 months online; 20 months on campus
Source: fullsail.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Credits
120 credit hours
Source: catalog.fullsail.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Monthly
Source: fullsail.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Entry routes

Prerequisite courses
RequiredDemonstrated knowledge of Algebra II, Pre-Calculus, Trigonometry and Calculus (catalog requirement listed for Game Development BS and other programs)
Source: catalog.fullsail.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

What the school publishes about the program's game design, programming, art and production content. Tools and engines are listed only when the school names them — a program not listed as teaching Unity or Unreal may still use them, but we have not verified it.

Coursework covers programming, data structures, computer graphics, engine development, artificial intelligence and game architecture, with a Project and Portfolio course sequence building toward a complete playable game.

Curriculum overview

Programming content

  • Courses include Computer Graphics, Computer Architecture, Artificial Intelligence and Software Engineering.
    Source: catalog.fullsail.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Programming I teaches C++ and assumes no prior experience.
    Source: fullsail.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Capstone

Tools and engines named by the school

  • Microsoft Visual Studio, Unreal Engine, C++, Vulkan, DirectX and Blender; AI-assisted tools such as Unity Muse
    Source: catalog.fullsail.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published details

Hardware and software requirements

Hardware
Project LaunchBox for Game Development includes an MSI laptop with a three-year warranty, Microsoft Office 365 and MATLAB, included in tuition.
Source: fullsail.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internet connection
Online applicants need a reliable computer or tablet and a reliable high-speed Internet connection.
Source: catalog.fullsail.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions and portfolio

Required, optional and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Portfolio

Portfolio not required (stated)

No portfolio or prior programming experience required to apply.

Source: fullsail.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredAdmissions interview
Source: fullsail.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$75 — $75 registration fee
Source: catalog.fullsail.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredMath assessment required to enroll
Source: fullsail.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredApplicants to online-only degree programs complete a technology assessment.
Source: catalog.fullsail.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

SAT/ACT and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances. How to prepare a game design portfolio

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the intake the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and costs

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Online, Game Development Bachelor of Science, program tuition (October - December 2026 table; $558 average per credit hour)From the school's online tuition table$67,000entire program · academic year not printedIncludes feesSource: catalog.fullsail.edu · verified October 12, 2026
All students — Campus, Game Development Bachelor of Science, program tuition (August - December 2026 table; $783 average per credit hour)From the school-wide rate table for this level$94,000entire program · academic year not printedIncludes feesSource: catalog.fullsail.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Understanding tuition and equipment costs

Scholarships, assistantships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for students at this level. “Guaranteed” only when the school says every eligible student receives it. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Scholarships guide

School-wide awards are listed because they apply at this degree level; eligibility conditions apply.

Accreditation and authorization

Institutional accreditation covers the school. Programmatic accreditation is shown only when it is named for this program — it is never transferred from another department or degree.

Institutional accreditation

  • Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (ACCSC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

None verified for this program. Game design degrees do not require one specific specialized accreditation.

State authorization for online students

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Florida.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last checked October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.fullsail.edu/admissions — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. catalog.fullsail.edu/degrees/game-development-bachelor-of-science/campus — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. catalog.fullsail.edu/degrees/game-development-bachelor-of-science/online — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  4. catalog.fullsail.edu/online-education — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  5. catalog.fullsail.edu/tuition-breakdown-campus — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  6. catalog.fullsail.edu/tuition-breakdown-online — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  7. DAPIP — ACCSC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  8. fullsail.edu/degrees/game-development-bachelor — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Suggest an update · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and primary field. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Grand Canyon University logo

Grand Canyon University

Game Development

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Science in Game Development

Field: Game Development · Game Programming
Administering location: Phoenix, AZInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $490 per credit · All students — Online
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona

Game Development

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Science in Game Development

Field: Game Development
Administering location: Tucson, AZ
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: four-year undergraduate degree · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $6,084 per semester · In-state — In-state, main campus, per semester (12+ units), non-guaranteed
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona

Game Development (Arizona Online)

Bachelor'sBSTransfer entry

Bachelor of Science in Game Development

Field: Game Development
Administering location: Tucson, AZInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 115 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $525 per credit · All students — Arizona Online undergraduate, per credit
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Spring 2027 (Session I)
View program

GameDesignSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Full Sail University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.