Skip to content
Game DesignSchools

University of Advancing Technology

Game Programming

Bachelor of Science in Game Programming

Bachelor'sBSGame ProgrammingDedicated degreeOnline

Overview

A 120-credit Bachelor of Science in Game Programming offered at the Tempe campus and through UAT Online, emphasizing C++ and C# programming, scripting, AI, networking and game engines.

Official program title
Game Programming
Exact award
Bachelor of Science in Game Programming
Source: uat.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Discipline
Degree type
Dedicated degree
School and department
Location
Tempe, AZFor an online program this is where the school is based — not a residency requirement, and not proof that students in every state may enroll.
Why this program is listed

Dedicated Bachelor of Science in Game Programming, offered on campus in Tempe and through UAT Online.

Source: uat.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list dedicated game degrees and officially named game concentrations at institutionally accredited US schools. Eligibility rules

Format, length and attendance

Delivery, campus attendance, schedule and study intensity are separate facts, each shown only as the school states it. Online coursework does not by itself mean there is no residency, exhibition, internship or proctored exam.
Delivery
Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Source: uat.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Campus attendance not verifiedThe pages we checked do not say whether on-site activity is required.
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Class schedule
Synchronous / asynchronous not verified
Study intensity
Not published
Duration
Not verified
Credits
120 semester credits (minimum)
Source: uat.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Entry routes

  • First-year entry. Open to first-time college students (freshman admission).Source: uat.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Transfer entry. Admits students transferring credits from another college.Source: uat.edu · verified October 12, 2026

In-person requirements as published

  • Internship Not required

    Internship credit is required only for on-campus undergraduates; hybrid-online students may take it as an elective.

    Source: uat.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

What the school publishes about the program's game design, programming, art and production content. Tools and engines are listed only when the school names them — a program not listed as teaching Unity or Unreal may still use them, but we have not verified it.

Courses include C# and C++ programming, data structures and algorithms, gameplay programming concepts and implementation, mobile game programming, applied game AI and visual programming for games.

Curriculum overview

  • Foundational courses: Introduction to Programming, Introduction to Game Development, C# Programming I or C/C++ Programming I
    Source: uat.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Programming content

  • C++ and C# programming, scripting, data handling, gameplay interaction, AI, networking, middleware, game engines and APIs
    Source: uat.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Production and team projects

  • At least 6 credits in Production Studio courses (university core)
    Source: uat.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published details

  • Online classes are 7.5 weeks long, asynchronous, two at a time; classes can also be taken in person at the Tempe campus.
    Source: uat.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Hardware and software requirements

Hardware
Online students need a computer with a reliable internet connection; mobile devices and tablets are not sufficient; webcam and microphone required.
Source: uat.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Software
Some majors and courses require 3DS Max, Maya, Unity, Unreal Engine or SolidWorks; students should confirm their machine can run them.
Source: uat.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Software
Access to Microsoft Office and Adobe editing software (or compatible) expected.
Source: uat.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions and portfolio

Required, optional and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Portfolio

Portfolio policy not published

The school's pages we checked do not state a portfolio policy for this program. That does not mean no portfolio is required — ask the admissions office.

Writing sample
RequiredAnswers to essay questions (at least one paragraph)
Source: uat.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOne or more forms of academic history (high school GPA, SAT/ACT, GED/military equivalent, or college transcripts with 12+ credits)
Source: uat.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredAt least four semesters at an accredited high school
Source: uat.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

SAT / ACT
OptionalSAT/ACT is one of several accepted forms of academic history.
Source: uat.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances. How to prepare a game design portfolio

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the intake the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and costs

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Undergraduate on-campus tuition, per semester (2025-2026, flat rate)From the school-wide rate table for this level$13,200per semester · 2025-2026Source: uat.edu · verified October 12, 2026
All students — UAT-Online/Hybrid tuition, per 12-credit semester (2025-2026)From the school's online tuition table$10,300per semester · 2025-2026Source: uat.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published fees

Resource Fee, all students, per semester
$495 per semesterMandatory
Source: uat.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transfer credit fee (one-time)
$100 entire program
Source: uat.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Understanding tuition and equipment costs

Scholarships, assistantships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for students at this level. “Guaranteed” only when the school says every eligible student receives it. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Scholarships guide

Program-specific funding: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and authorization

Institutional accreditation covers the school. Programmatic accreditation is shown only when it is named for this program — it is never transferred from another department or degree.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

None verified for this program. Game design degrees do not require one specific specialized accreditation.

State authorization for online students

  • UAT is an approved SARA institution offering hybrid-online classes; enrollment from unapproved states may be restricted. Official pageSource: uat.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last checked October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. uat.edu/admissions-requirements — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. uat.edu/media/UAT_Catalog_2026_V1_1.pdf — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  4. uat.edu/tuition — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. uat.edu/uat-online — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Suggest an update · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and primary field. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Brigham Young University logo

Brigham Young University

Computer Science: Animation and Games Emphasis

Bachelor'sBSNamed concentration

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

Concentration in Computer Science (BS) — Animation and Games Emphasis

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Provo, UT
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $3,548 per semester · Undergraduate, Latter-day Saint, 12.0+ credit hours, Fall/Winter semester · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

DePaul University

Game Programming

Bachelor'sBS

Bachelor of Science in Game Programming

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Chicago, IL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 192 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $48,180 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate, 12-18 credit hours, Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media and other colleges, 2026 admit year · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

DePaul University

Computer Science (BS), Game Systems Concentration

Bachelor'sBSNamed concentration

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

Concentration in Bachelor of Science in Computer Science — Game Systems Concentration

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Chicago, ILInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 192 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $48,180 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate, 12-18 credit hours, Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media and other colleges, 2026 admit year (university table; not stated to apply to online study) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

GameDesignSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Advancing Technology. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.