Skip to content
Game DesignSchools
University of Utah logo

University of Utah · Division of Games with the Kahlert School of Computing

Computer Science, Entertainment Arts and Engineering Emphasis

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

Bachelor'sBSGame ProgrammingNamed concentration

Overview

A BS in Computer Science with an emphasis offered in conjunction with the School of Computing that adds game design and development coursework to the full computer science curriculum.

Official program title
Computer Science, Entertainment Arts and Engineering Emphasis
Exact award
Bachelor of Science in Computer Science
Source: games.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Discipline
Degree type
Named concentration“Entertainment Arts and Engineering Emphasis” within the Bachelor of Science in Computer Science. The degree you receive is the parent degree; the concentration is how the school names the game-focused pathway.
School and department
Source: games.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Salt Lake City, UT
Why this program is listed

Officially named Entertainment Arts and Engineering emphasis (also called the Games emphasis by the university) within the BS in Computer Science; the award is the computer science degree.

Source: games.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list dedicated game degrees and officially named game concentrations at institutionally accredited US schools. Eligibility rules

Format, length and attendance

Delivery, campus attendance, schedule and study intensity are separate facts, each shown only as the school states it. Online coursework does not by itself mean there is no residency, exhibition, internship or proctored exam.
Delivery
On campusClasses meet on campus.Classes meet on campus.
Source: games.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendanceClasses meet on campus (campus and hybrid programs).
Study intensity
Not published
Duration
Not verified
Credits
Not verified

Entry routes

The pages we checked do not state whether first-year, transfer or degree-completion applicants are admitted to this program.

Prerequisite courses
RequiredPre-major courses CS 1400, CS 1410, CS 2420 (minimum B-) and Calculus I.
Source: games.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

What the school publishes about the program's game design, programming, art and production content. Tools and engines are listed only when the school names them — a program not listed as teaching Unity or Unreal may still use them, but we have not verified it.

Alongside the computer science core, students take Digital Content Creation, Intro to Game Design, Asset Pipeline, Interactive Machinima, Traditional and Alternative Game Development, and a two-course senior project.

Game design topics

  • EAE core: Digital Content Creation, Intro to Game Design, Asset Pipeline, Interactive Machinima.
    Source: games.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Programming content

  • Computer science core including Discrete Structures, Software Practice 1 and 2, Computer Organization, Algorithms and Computer Systems.
    Source: games.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Production and team projects

  • Traditional Game Dev and Alternative Game Dev (4 credit hours each).
    Source: games.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Capstone

Hardware and software requirements

No hardware or software requirement published on the pages we checked.

Admissions and portfolio

Required, optional and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Portfolio

Portfolio policy not published

The school's pages we checked do not state a portfolio policy for this program. That does not mean no portfolio is required — ask the admissions office.

Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum 3.0 GPA (overall and within major prerequisite courses) to apply for full major status
Source: games.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

SAT/ACT and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances. How to prepare a game design portfolio

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the intake the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and costs

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Understanding tuition and equipment costs

Scholarships, assistantships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for students at this level. “Guaranteed” only when the school says every eligible student receives it. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Scholarships guide

School-wide awards are listed because they apply at this degree level; eligibility conditions apply.

Accreditation and authorization

Institutional accreditation covers the school. Programmatic accreditation is shown only when it is named for this program — it is never transferred from another department or degree.

Institutional accreditation

  • Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

None verified for this program. Game design degrees do not require one specific specialized accreditation.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last checked October 12, 2026.
  1. games.utah.edu/eae-facilities/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. games.utah.edu/prospective-students/cs-degree-with-eae-emphasis/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. games.utah.edu/scholarships/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. DAPIP — NWCCU institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Suggest an update · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and primary field. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Brigham Young University logo

Brigham Young University

Computer Science: Animation and Games Emphasis

Bachelor'sBSNamed concentration

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

Concentration in Computer Science (BS) — Animation and Games Emphasis

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Provo, UT
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $3,548 per semester · Undergraduate, Latter-day Saint, 12.0+ credit hours, Fall/Winter semester · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

DePaul University

Game Programming

Bachelor'sBS

Bachelor of Science in Game Programming

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Chicago, IL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 192 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $48,180 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate, 12-18 credit hours, Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media and other colleges, 2026 admit year · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

DePaul University

Computer Science (BS), Game Systems Concentration

Bachelor'sBSNamed concentration

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

Concentration in Bachelor of Science in Computer Science — Game Systems Concentration

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Chicago, ILInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 192 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $48,180 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate, 12-18 credit hours, Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media and other colleges, 2026 admit year (university table; not stated to apply to online study) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

GameDesignSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Utah. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.