Skip to content
Game DesignSchools
University of Utah logo

University of Utah · Division of Games

Games

Bachelor of Science in Games

Bachelor'sBSGame DevelopmentDedicated degree

Overview

The BS in Games combines mathematics and computational grounding with design and production of digital playable experiences. Students complete pre-major courses before applying to the major, then take required games courses, games electives and allied courses.

Official program title
Games
Exact award
Bachelor of Science in Games
Source: games.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Discipline
Degree type
Dedicated degree
School and department
Source: games.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Salt Lake City, UT
Why this program is listed

Dedicated Bachelor of Science in Games offered by the Division of Games.

Source: games.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list dedicated game degrees and officially named game concentrations at institutionally accredited US schools. Eligibility rules

Format, length and attendance

Delivery, campus attendance, schedule and study intensity are separate facts, each shown only as the school states it. Online coursework does not by itself mean there is no residency, exhibition, internship or proctored exam.
Delivery
On campusClasses meet on campus.Classes meet on campus.
Source: games.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance
Regular campus attendanceClasses meet on campus (campus and hybrid programs).
Study intensity
Not published
Duration
Not verified
Credits
122 credit hours minimum
Source: games.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Entry routes

The pages we checked do not state whether first-year, transfer or degree-completion applicants are admitted to this program.

Prerequisite courses
RequiredPre-major courses completed with C- or better; pre-major GPA 3.0 and cumulative GPA 2.75 before declaring the major.
Source: games.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transfer credit
OptionalTransfer and prior learning credit evaluated after enrollment; major-specific credit decided by the Division of Games Undergraduate Director.
Source: games.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

What the school publishes about the program's game design, programming, art and production content. Tools and engines are listed only when the school names them — a program not listed as teaching Unity or Unreal may still use them, but we have not verified it.

Required courses include Ethics in Games, Traditional Game Development, Alternative Game Development and a two-semester capstone; 30 elective credit hours can focus on areas such as game design, game arts, technical art or game production.

Curriculum overview

  • Pre-major courses: Survey of Games, Digital Content Creation and two Programming for All courses.
    Source: games.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • 12 credit hours of allied courses in at least two areas of interest outside the GAMES designation.
    Source: games.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Production and team projects

  • Traditional Game Development and Alternative Game Development (4 credit hours each).
    Source: games.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Capstone

Specializations

  • 30 elective credit hours that may focus on game design, game arts, technical art or game production.
    Source: games.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published details

  • An Honors version of the BS in Games is available to students admitted to the Honors College.
    Source: games.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Hardware and software requirements

No hardware or software requirement published on the pages we checked.

Admissions and portfolio

Required, optional and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Portfolio

Portfolio policy not published

The school's pages we checked do not state a portfolio policy for this program. That does not mean no portfolio is required — ask the admissions office.

Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — 3.0 GPA in pre-major courses to declare the major
Source: games.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

SAT/ACT and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances. How to prepare a game design portfolio

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the intake the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and costs

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Understanding tuition and equipment costs

Scholarships, assistantships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for students at this level. “Guaranteed” only when the school says every eligible student receives it. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Scholarships guide
  • GAMES NextGen Scholarship Institutional scholarshipCompetitive

    One $1,200 scholarship

    Eligibility: Full-time BS in Games students; preference for first-generation students and/or LEAP participants.

    Source: games.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Division of Games Student Scholarship Institutional scholarshipCompetitive

    Five scholarships of $2,500

    Eligibility: Division of Games students; supports basic-needs costs.

    Source: games.utah.edu · verified October 12, 2026

School-wide awards are listed because they apply at this degree level; eligibility conditions apply.

Accreditation and authorization

Institutional accreditation covers the school. Programmatic accreditation is shown only when it is named for this program — it is never transferred from another department or degree.

Institutional accreditation

  • Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

None verified for this program. Game design degrees do not require one specific specialized accreditation.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last checked October 12, 2026.
  1. games.utah.edu/about-utah-games/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. games.utah.edu/eae-facilities/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. games.utah.edu/major-or-minor-declaration/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. games.utah.edu/prospective-students/bs-in-games/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. games.utah.edu/scholarships/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. games.utah.edu/wp-content/uploads/2025/04/GAMES-BS-REQUIREMENTS-2024-2-1.pdf — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. games.utah.edu/wp-content/uploads/2025/08/Undergraduate-Handbook-2025-v2-1-5.pdf — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. DAPIP — NWCCU institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Suggest an update · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and primary field. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Full Sail University

Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science Completion Program With a Concentration in Game Development

Bachelor'sBSNamed concentrationDegree completion

Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science

Concentration in Interactive Technology Bachelor of Science Completion Program — Game Development

Field: Game Development
Administering location: Winter Park, FLInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: 40 weeks · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Full Sail University

Game Development

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Game Development Bachelor of Science

Field: Game Development · Game Programming
Administering location: Winter Park, FLInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio not required (stated)
Duration: 27 months online; 20 months on campus · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $67,000 entire program · All students — Online, Game Development Bachelor of Science, program tuition (October - December 2026 table; $558 average per credit hour)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Grand Canyon University logo

Grand Canyon University

Game Development

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Science in Game Development

Field: Game Development · Game Programming
Administering location: Phoenix, AZInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $490 per credit · All students — Online
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

GameDesignSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Utah. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.