Skip to content
Game DesignSchools

Game Design Master's Programs

MA, MS, MFA and other master's degrees focused on games — studio and portfolio programs as well as research-oriented degrees — with the exact award, admission materials, tuition basis and any campus requirements.

Game design and game development degrees first, then related fields (programming, art, interactive media, game studies); alphabetical by school within each group. Not a ranking. What we list

University of Advancing Technology

Game Production and Management

Master'sMS

Master of Science in Game Production and Management

Field: Game Development
Administering location: Tempe, AZInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $9,500 per semester · All students — Graduate (master's) tuition, per semester (2025-2026, flat rate) · 2025-2026
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Central Florida

Interactive Entertainment (MS)

Master'sMS

Master of Science in Interactive Entertainment

Field: Game Development · Game Design
Administering location: Orlando, FL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus. · Full-time
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: 16 months, full time over four semesters · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $32,940 entire program · In-state — Florida resident, total program
Next deadline: November 13, 2026 · Fall 2027
View program
University of Utah logo

University of Utah

Master of Entertainment Arts and Engineering

Master'sMEAE

Master of Entertainment Arts and Engineering

Field: Game Development · Game Design
Administering location: Salt Lake City, UT
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus. · Full-time
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required for some pathways
Duration: two years (fall and spring semesters only)
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
American University logo

American University

Games and Interactive Media

Master'sMFA

Master of Fine Arts in Games and Interactive Media

Field: Game-focused Interactive Media · Game Design
Administering location: Washington, DC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus. · Full-time and part-time
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required for some pathways
Duration: within 36 months · 54 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $2,163 per credit · All students — Graduate students, per credit hour (on-campus and most online programs) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program
Carnegie Mellon University logo

Carnegie Mellon University

Entertainment Technology

Master'sMET

Master of Entertainment Technology

Field: Game-focused Interactive Media · Game Development
Administering location: Pittsburgh, PA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus. · Full-time
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required for some pathways
Duration: two-year program; four full-time semesters; cannot be completed in less than two years
Tuition: Tuition: $61,628 per academic year · All students — Tuition, total cost for academic year · 2026-2027
Next deadline: January 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View program

DePaul University

Game Programming

Master'sMS

Master of Science in Game Programming

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Chicago, ILInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 48 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,003 per credit · All students — Graduate, Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media, per credit hour (university table; not stated whether it applies to online study) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute logo

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Critical Game Design

Master'sMS

M.S. in Critical Game Design

Field: Game Studies & Research · Game Design
Administering location: Troy, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $2,210 per credit · All students — Graduate, part-time tuition per credit hour · 2026-2027
Next deadline: March 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View program
University of Southern California logo

University of Southern California

Interactive Media & Games

Master'sMFA

Master of Fine Arts in Interactive Media

Field: Game-focused Interactive Media
Administering location: Los Angeles, CA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: three year program
Tuition: Tuition: $2,700 per credit · All students — School of Cinematic Arts graduate tuition per unit · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Worcester Polytechnic Institute logo

Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Interactive Media & Game Design

Master'sMFA

Master of Fine Arts in Interactive Media & Game Design

Field: Game-focused Interactive Media · Game Design
Administering location: Worcester, MA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: three-year MFA program · 45 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,775 per credit · All students — Graduate tuition (general rate) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program
Worcester Polytechnic Institute logo

Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Interactive Media & Game Development

Master'sMS

Master of Science in Interactive Media & Game Development

Field: Game-focused Interactive Media · Game Development
Administering location: Worcester, MA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio optional
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $1,775 per credit · All students — Graduate tuition (general rate) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program
University of Southern California logo

University of Southern California

Computer Science (Game Development)

Master'sMSNamed concentration

Master of Science in Computer Science (Game Development)

Concentration in Master of Science in Computer Science — Game Development

Field: Game Programming · Game Development
Administering location: Los Angeles, CA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 32 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program