Skip to content
Game DesignSchools

Online Game Design Bachelor's Degrees

BA, BS and BFA degrees in game design, game development, game programming and game art, plus officially named game concentrations inside broader degrees. Each profile shows the exact award, how students enter (first-year, transfer or degree completion) and the published portfolio policy. This page lists only the versions offered online — hybrid programs are excluded, and every listing shows what is known about campus attendance.

Game design and game development degrees first, then related fields (programming, art, interactive media, game studies); alphabetical by school within each group. Not a ranking. What we list

University of Advancing Technology

Game Art and Animation

Bachelor'sBAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Arts in Game Art and Animation

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Tempe, AZInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $10,300 per semester · All students — UAT-Online/Hybrid tuition, per 12-credit semester (2025-2026) · 2025-2026
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Advancing Technology

Game Programming

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Science in Game Programming

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Tempe, AZInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $10,300 per semester · All students — UAT-Online/Hybrid tuition, per 12-credit semester (2025-2026) · 2025-2026
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Silicon Valley logo

University of Silicon Valley

Game Art

Bachelor'sBAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Arts in Game Art

Field: Game Art
Administering location: San Jose, CAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.
Campus attendance: No required physical attendance (verified)
Portfolio: Portfolio not required (stated)
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $674 per credit · All students — Undergraduate, online, per credit
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Silicon Valley logo

University of Silicon Valley

Game Engineering

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Science in Game Engineering

Field: Game Programming · Game Development
Administering location: San Jose, CAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.
Campus attendance: No required physical attendance (verified)
Portfolio: Portfolio not required (stated)
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $674 per credit · All students — Undergraduate, online, per credit
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

DePaul University

Computer Science (BS), Game Systems Concentration

Bachelor'sBSNamed concentration

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

Concentration in Bachelor of Science in Computer Science — Game Systems Concentration

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Chicago, ILInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 192 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $48,180 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate, 12-18 credit hours, Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media and other colleges, 2026 admit year (university table; not stated to apply to online study) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Full Sail University

Visual Arts Bachelor of Science Completion Program with a Concentration in Game Art

Bachelor'sBSNamed concentrationDegree completion

Visual Arts Bachelor of Science

Concentration in Visual Arts Bachelor of Science Completion Program — Game Art

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Winter Park, FLInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: 52 weeks (online) · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $30,000 entire program · All students — Online, Visual Arts BS Completion with a Game Art Concentration, program tuition (October - December 2026 table; $500 average per credit hour)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona

Applied Humanities: Game Studies Emphasis

Bachelor'sBANamed concentration

Bachelor of Arts in Applied Humanities

Concentration in Bachelor of Arts in Applied Humanities — Game Studies

Field: Game Studies & Research
Administering location: Tucson, AZInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Limited campus visits or residency
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $525 per credit · All students — Arizona Online undergraduate, per credit
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Spring 2027 (Session I)
View program