Skip to content
Game DesignSchools

Game Design Degrees

Degrees whose official title is game design: systems, mechanics, level and narrative design, prototyping and playtesting, usually with team production.

Listed alphabetically by school. This directory is not a ranking. What we list

Grand Canyon University logo

Grand Canyon University

Game Design

Bachelor'sBAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Arts in Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: Phoenix, AZInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $490 per credit · All students — Online
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Harrisburg University of Science and Technology

Game Design

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Science in Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: Harrisburg, PA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,050 per credit · All students — Undergraduate semester hour rate (1-11 semester hours or each hour over 17) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program

High Point University

Game Design

Bachelor'sBAFirst-year entry

Bachelor of Arts in Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: High Point, NC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 128 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $50,628 per academic year · All students — Incoming freshman, tuition and fees · 2026-2027
Next deadline: November 1, 2026 · Fall 2027
View program
Indiana University Bloomington logo

Indiana University Bloomington

Game Design

Bachelor'sBS

Bachelor of Science in Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: Bloomington, IN
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $12,142 per academic year · In-state — Undergraduate tuition and mandatory fees, Indiana residents, full-time domestic (flat rate, 40 credit hours across fall, spring and intersessions) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Kennesaw State University

Computer Game Design and Development

Bachelor'sBS

Bachelor of Science in Computer Game Design and Development

Field: Game Design · Game Development
Administering location: Kennesaw, GA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: four-year program · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $192 per credit · In-state — Undergraduate, resident, in-state tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: November 2, 2026 · Fall 2027
View program
Lawrence Technological University logo

Lawrence Technological University

Game Design

Bachelor'sBFA

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: Southfield, MI
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio not required (stated)
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,500 – $1,635 per credit · All students — College of Architecture & Design courses, per credit hour (freshman $1515, sophomore $1500, junior $1620, senior $1635) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Liberty University logo

Liberty University

Information Technology (B.S.) - Gaming Design - Online

Bachelor'sBSNamed concentrationFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Science in Information Technology

Concentration in Information Technology (B.S.) — Gaming Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: Lynchburg, VAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $410 per credit · All students — Online undergraduate, full time, per credit (2026-2027) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Liberty University logo

Liberty University

Information Technology (B.S.) - Gaming Design - Resident

Bachelor'sBSNamed concentrationTransfer entry

Bachelor of Science in Information Technology

Concentration in Information Technology (B.S.) — Gaming Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: Lynchburg, VA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $870 per credit · All students — Residential undergraduate, part-time (<12 credits), per credit (2026-2027) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Lindenwood University logo

Lindenwood University

Game Design

Bachelor'sBA

Bachelor of Arts in Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: Saint Charles, MO
Delivery: HybridPart of the coursework meets in person.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $22,360 per academic year · All students — Traditional undergraduate full-time tuition (block rate, 12-18 credit hours) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Lindenwood University logo

Lindenwood University

Game Design (Online)

Bachelor'sBATransfer entry

Bachelor of Arts in Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: Saint Charles, MOInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.
Campus attendance: No required physical attendance (verified)
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: 4 yrs program length · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $525 per credit · All students — Online undergraduate tuition
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Lindenwood University logo

Lindenwood University

Game Design

Master'sMA

Master of Arts in Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: Saint Charles, MO
Delivery: HybridPart of the coursework meets in person.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: as little as 15-18 months (Fast-track pace) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $619 per credit · All students — Graduate tuition (online and on-campus), all other graduate programs · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Lindenwood University logo

Lindenwood University

Game Design (Online)

Master'sMA

Master of Arts in Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: Saint Charles, MOInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.
Campus attendance: No required physical attendance (verified)
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: 1-2 yrs program length · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $619 per credit · All students — Online MA in Game Design
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Marist University logo

Marist University

Games and Emerging Media

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Games and Emerging Media Degree (B.S.)

Field: Game-focused Interactive Media · Game Design
Administering location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $50,760 per academic year · All students — First-year/transfer estimated cost of attendance, tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Maryville University logo

Maryville University

Interactive Design, Concentration in Game Design

Bachelor'sBFANamed concentration

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Interactive Design (Concentration in Game Design)

Concentration in Interactive Design — Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: Saint Louis, MO
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $12,883 per semester · All students — Undergraduate full-time rate (13-18 credits), per semester · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Miami University logo

Miami University

Games + Simulation

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entry

Bachelor of Science in Games + Simulation

Field: Game-focused Interactive Media · Game Design
Administering location: Oxford, OH
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified · 76 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $18,890 per academic year · In-state — Undergraduate annual cost estimate, Ohio/Reciprocal Resident, tuition and fees · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Michigan State University logo

Michigan State University

Games and Interactive Media

Bachelor'sBAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Arts in Games and Interactive Media

Field: Game-focused Interactive Media · Game Design
Administering location: East Lansing, MI
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $16,916 per academic year · In-state — In-state first-year, estimated undergraduate tuition · 2025-2026
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program

New England Institute of Technology

Video Game Design

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Science in Video Game Design

Field: Game Design · Game Art
Administering location: East Greenwich, RI
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 188 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program
New York University logo

New York University

Game Design (BFA)

Bachelor'sBFAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: New York, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: four-year · 128 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $75,326 per academic year · All students — Tisch School of the Arts, undergraduate students (two semesters, full-time) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: November 1, 2026 · First-year applicants (term not printed)
View program
New York University logo

New York University

Game Design (MFA)

Master'sMFA

Master of Fine Arts in Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: New York, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus. · Full-time
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: two years, full-time · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $41,451 per term · All students — Tisch graduate, 12 to 18 credits, per term (estimate based on 2025-2026 rate) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
New York University logo

New York University

Games for Learning (MS)

Master'sMS

Master of Science in Games for Learning

Field: Game Design
Administering location: New York, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus. · Full-time and part-time
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio optional
Duration: Duration not verified · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program