Skip to content
Game DesignSchools

Game Design Schools in California

Listings in California show where the institution (or its administering campus) is located.

Game design and game development degrees first, then related fields (programming, art, interactive media, game studies); alphabetical by school within each group. Not a ranking. What we list

Academy of Art University logo

Academy of Art University

Game Design

Bachelor'sBFAFirst-year entry

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: San Francisco, CAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio not required (stated)
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,682 per credit · International — Undergraduate, international students, per unit (Fall 2026-Summer 2027) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: January 25, 2027 · Spring 2027
View program
University of California-Irvine logo

University of California-Irvine

Game Design and Interactive Media

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Science in Game Design and Interactive Media

Field: Game Design · Game-focused Interactive Media
Administering location: Irvine, CA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: minimum three years for transfer students (Applies to transfer applicants, because several lower-division courses must be taken at UCI.)
Tuition: Tuition: $20,105.05 per academic year · In-state — Undergraduate, Total California Resident (Fall 2026, Winter 2027, Spring 2027) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of California-Santa Cruz logo

University of California-Santa Cruz

Computer Science: Computer Game Design

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science: Computer Game Design

Field: Game Design · Game Programming
Administering location: Santa Cruz, CA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $17,439 per academic year · In-state — Undergraduate entering students, tuition and fees (estimate), Fall, Winter and Spring · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Silicon Valley logo

University of Silicon Valley

Game Design

Bachelor'sBAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Arts in Game Design

Field: Game Design
Administering location: San Jose, CAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.
Campus attendance: No required physical attendance (verified)
Portfolio: Portfolio not required (stated)
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $674 per credit · All students — Undergraduate, online, per credit
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Southern California logo

University of Southern California

Game Design and Development

Master'sMS

Master of Science in Game Design and Development

Field: Game Design · Game Development
Administering location: Los Angeles, CA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: two-year intensive program · 38 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $2,700 per credit · All students — School of Cinematic Arts graduate tuition per unit · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Academy of Art University logo

Academy of Art University

Game Development

Master'sMA

Master of Arts in Game Development

Field: Game Development
Administering location: San Francisco, CAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,857 per credit · International — Graduate, international students, per unit (Fall 2026-Summer 2027) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: January 25, 2027 · Spring 2027
View program
Academy of Art University logo

Academy of Art University

Game Development

Master'sMFA

Master of Fine Arts in Game Development

Field: Game Development
Administering location: San Francisco, CAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified · 63 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,857 per credit · International — Graduate, international students, per unit (Fall 2026-Summer 2027) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: January 25, 2027 · Spring 2027
View program
California State University-Chico logo

California State University-Chico

Computer Animation and Game Development

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entry

Bachelor of Science in Computer Animation and Game Development

Field: Game Development · Game Art
Administering location: Chico, CA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $6,838 per academic year · In-state — Undergraduate tuition, California resident, full-time (estimated standard budget) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Laguna College of Art and Design

Game Development

Bachelor'sBFAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Development

Field: Game Development · Game Art
Administering location: Laguna Beach, CA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: four-year curriculum · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,775 per credit · All students — BFA part-time enrollment, per unit · 2027-2028
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program
University of Southern California logo

University of Southern California

Game Development and Interactive Design

Bachelor'sBFAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Development and Interaction Design

Field: Game Development · Game Design
Administering location: Los Angeles, CA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: four-year program
Tuition: Tuition: $75,384 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate tuition, 12-18 units for two semesters · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Academy of Art University logo

Academy of Art University

Game Art

Bachelor'sBFAFirst-year entry

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Art

Field: Game Art
Administering location: San Francisco, CAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio not required (stated)
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,682 per credit · International — Undergraduate, international students, per unit (Fall 2026-Summer 2027) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: January 25, 2027 · Spring 2027
View program
Academy of Art University logo

Academy of Art University

Game Programming

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entry

Bachelor of Science in Game Programming

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: San Francisco, CAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio not required (stated)
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,682 per credit · International — Undergraduate, international students, per unit (Fall 2026-Summer 2027) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: January 25, 2027 · Spring 2027
View program
University of California-Santa Cruz logo

University of California-Santa Cruz

Art & Design: Games + Playable Media

Bachelor'sBAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Arts in Art & Design: Games + Playable Media

Field: Game-focused Interactive Media · Game Design
Administering location: Santa Cruz, CA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $17,439 per academic year · In-state — Undergraduate entering students, tuition and fees (estimate), Fall, Winter and Spring · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Silicon Valley logo

University of Silicon Valley

Game Art

Bachelor'sBAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Arts in Game Art

Field: Game Art
Administering location: San Jose, CAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.
Campus attendance: No required physical attendance (verified)
Portfolio: Portfolio not required (stated)
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $674 per credit · All students — Undergraduate, online, per credit
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Silicon Valley logo

University of Silicon Valley

Game Engineering

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Science in Game Engineering

Field: Game Programming · Game Development
Administering location: San Jose, CAInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully online (verified)All coursework is online and the institution states that no on-site attendance is required.
Campus attendance: No required physical attendance (verified)
Portfolio: Portfolio not required (stated)
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $674 per credit · All students — Undergraduate, online, per credit
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Southern California logo

University of Southern California

Computer Science (Games)

Bachelor'sBS

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science (Games)

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Los Angeles, CA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 128 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $75,384 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate tuition, 12-18 units for two semesters · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Southern California logo

University of Southern California

Game Art

Bachelor'sBFAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Art

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Los Angeles, CA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: four-year program
Tuition: Tuition: $75,384 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate tuition, 12-18 units for two semesters · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Southern California logo

University of Southern California

Interactive Media & Games

Master'sMFA

Master of Fine Arts in Interactive Media

Field: Game-focused Interactive Media
Administering location: Los Angeles, CA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: three year program
Tuition: Tuition: $2,700 per credit · All students — School of Cinematic Arts graduate tuition per unit · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Southern California logo

University of Southern California

Computer Science (Game Development)

Master'sMSNamed concentration

Master of Science in Computer Science (Game Development)

Concentration in Master of Science in Computer Science — Game Development

Field: Game Programming · Game Development
Administering location: Los Angeles, CA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 32 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program