Skip to content
Game DesignSchools

Game Design Bachelor's Degrees

BA, BS and BFA degrees in game design, game development, game programming and game art, plus officially named game concentrations inside broader degrees. Each profile shows the exact award, how students enter (first-year, transfer or degree completion) and the published portfolio policy.

Game design and game development degrees first, then related fields (programming, art, interactive media, game studies); alphabetical by school within each group. Not a ranking. What we list

Bradley University logo

Bradley University

Game Art

Bachelor'sBA or BSTransfer entry

Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Science in Game Art

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Peoria, IL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $43,718 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate full-time tuition (12-16 credit hours per semester) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program

Champlain College

Game Art

Bachelor'sBFAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Art

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Burlington, VT
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $49,500 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate tuition (on campus) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: November 15, 2026 · Fall 2027
View program

Champlain College

Game Programming

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Science in Game Programming

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Burlington, VT
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio not required (stated)
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $49,500 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate tuition (on campus) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: November 15, 2026 · Fall 2027
View program
Columbia College Chicago logo

Columbia College Chicago

Game and Interactive Media Design

Bachelor'sBATransfer entry

Bachelor of Arts in Game and Interactive Media Design

Field: Game-focused Interactive Media · Game Design
Administering location: Chicago, IL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Estimated semesters to complete this degree plan: 8 (Four-year student degree plan (15 credits per semester)) · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $37,390 per academic year · All students — Full-time undergraduate tuition and fees, annual (first term fall 2025 or later) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: November 1, 2026 · Spring 2027 and Fall 2027 (all terms, 2027 applicants)
View program

DePaul University

Game Programming

Bachelor'sBS

Bachelor of Science in Game Programming

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Chicago, IL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 192 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $48,180 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate, 12-18 credit hours, Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media and other colleges, 2026 admit year · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
DigiPen Institute of Technology logo

DigiPen Institute of Technology

BS in Computer Science in Real-Time Interactive Simulation

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entry

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science in Real-Time Interactive Simulation

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Redmond, WA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio not required (stated)
Duration: usually eight semesters of 15 weeks each, or a total of four academic years · 134 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $20,410 per semester · All students — Undergraduate (Full-Time), flat rate for 15-22 credits per semester · 2026-2027
Next deadline: November 9, 2026 · Spring 2027
View program
Eastern Michigan University logo

Eastern Michigan University

Simulation, Animation and Gaming

Bachelor'sBS

Bachelor of Science in Simulation, Animation and Gaming

Field: Game-focused Interactive Media · Game Art
Administering location: Ypsilanti, MI
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $717.50 per credit · All students — Undergraduate, 1-11 credit hours · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program

Full Sail University

Game Art

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Game Art Bachelor of Science

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Winter Park, FLInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required.
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: 108 weeks (online) · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $67,000 entire program · All students — Online, Game Art Bachelor of Science, program tuition (October - December 2026 table; $558 average per credit hour)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Marist University logo

Marist University

Games and Emerging Media

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Games and Emerging Media Degree (B.S.)

Field: Game-focused Interactive Media · Game Design
Administering location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $50,760 per academic year · All students — First-year/transfer estimated cost of attendance, tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Miami University logo

Miami University

Games + Simulation

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entry

Bachelor of Science in Games + Simulation

Field: Game-focused Interactive Media · Game Design
Administering location: Oxford, OH
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified · 76 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $18,890 per academic year · In-state — Undergraduate annual cost estimate, Ohio/Reciprocal Resident, tuition and fees · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Michigan State University logo

Michigan State University

Games and Interactive Media

Bachelor'sBAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Arts in Games and Interactive Media

Field: Game-focused Interactive Media · Game Design
Administering location: East Lansing, MI
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $16,916 per academic year · In-state — In-state first-year, estimated undergraduate tuition · 2025-2026
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program

New England Institute of Technology

Game Development and Simulation Programming

Bachelor'sBSDegree completion

Bachelor of Science in Game Development and Simulation Programming

Field: Game Programming · Game Development
Administering location: East Greenwich, RI
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 92 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program
Northeastern University logo

Northeastern University

Computer Science and Game Development

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science and Game Development

Field: Game Programming · Game Development
Administering location: Boston, MA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: Duration not verified · 133 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $35,525 per term · All students — Undergraduate full-time tuition, per term · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Northeastern University logo

Northeastern University

Game Art and Animation

Bachelor'sBFAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Art and Animation

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Boston, MA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio optional
Duration: Duration not verified · 130 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $35,525 per term · All students — Undergraduate full-time tuition, per term · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute logo

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Games and Simulation Arts and Sciences

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entry

B.S. in Games and Simulation Arts and Sciences

Field: Game-focused Interactive Media
Administering location: Troy, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio not required (stated)
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $33,150 per semester · All students — Undergraduate, full time (up to 23 credits), per semester · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Ringling College of Art and Design

Game Art (BFA)

Bachelor'sBFAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Art

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Sarasota, FL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio required
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $2,600 per credit · All students — Part-time enrollment (less than 12 hours), per credit hour · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program

Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design

Game Art

Bachelor'sBFAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Art

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Lakewood, CO
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio optional
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $850 per credit · All students — Undergraduate, on campus + online students, Fall 2026 onward, per credit (includes semester and equipment fees)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design

Game Art Online

Bachelor'sBFAFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Art

Field: Game Art
Administering location: Lakewood, COInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online (on-site requirements not stated)The institution offers the degree online but its pages do not say whether any on-site activity is required. · Asynchronous
Campus attendance: Campus attendance not verified
Portfolio: Portfolio optional
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $850 per credit · All students — Undergraduate, on campus + online students, Fall 2026 onward, per credit (includes semester and equipment fees)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Shawnee State University

Game & Simulation Arts

Bachelor'sBFA

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game & Simulation Arts

Field: Game Art · Game-focused Interactive Media
Administering location: Portsmouth, OH
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: 4 years (typical)
Tuition: Tuition: $5,243.16 per semester · In-state — Ohio resident or in-state, full-time (12-18 credit hours), tuition & fees per semester, first-time freshmen Autumn 2026 · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Shawnee State University

Game Programming

Bachelor'sBS

Bachelor of Science in Game Programming

Field: Game Programming
Administering location: Portsmouth, OH
Delivery: On campusClasses meet on campus.
Campus attendance: Regular campus attendance
Portfolio: Portfolio policy not published
Duration: 4 years
Tuition: Tuition: $5,243.16 per semester · In-state — Ohio resident or in-state, full-time (12-18 credit hours), tuition & fees per semester, first-time freshmen Autumn 2026 · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program